We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beachy!”
Review of Sun Bay

Sun Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Vieques Bioluminescent Bay Night Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If paradise had palm trees...they'd call it Sun Bay.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just beachy!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Clean, beautiful beach. You can't ask for more.

We arrived ion the ferry and since we were hungry we had the taxi bring us to Esperanza to get a bite to eat. It was about a 10-15 minute taxi drive, not long at all. From Esperanza you can walk the beach or back road to Sun Bay. It's about a 15-20 minute walk. There are some picturesque views on the beach if you decide to walk it. As a beach lover you won't be disappointed. It's clean it was not crowded, they have bathrooms on site and you can't forget the horses. There is a store on site but I suggest bringing a cooler with your own drinks and snacks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mygaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    180
    52
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big sandy beach”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very easy access, huge sandy beach with gentle slope, mild waves. Kids played for a long time in the shallow waters. LOTS of horses on way in around the fields!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent beach, facilities could be cleaner”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I guess we arrived after a busy weekend. The restrooms were destroyed. It was pretty gross. HOWEVER, that being said, the beach was still unbelievably beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifull beach”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I spent an afternoon there and it was lovely sunset. very few people camping and enjoying the beach. It's not a must but it's clean and has nice clear blue water..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Icogoodday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expansive beach, good for families”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

No snorkeling off the beach here, but plenty of shade under the coconut palms. Take a hike to the right of the beach to the other side of the Cay and get some great views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Bay also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Sun Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing