We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, Snorkeling nothing to get excited about”
Review of Sun Bay

Sun Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Vieques Bioluminescent Bay Night Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If paradise had palm trees...they'd call it Sun Bay.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great beach, Snorkeling nothing to get excited about”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice beach, quiet and the cost keeps some of the kids away but for snorkeling I would go elsewhere. I found Blue much much better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    178
    51
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The beach is so long, that even with others present, you feel like you are on your own private beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank daryaalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Most convenient (least visited?)”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This beach was huge and we visited it 3 out 6 days during our visit to Vieques. We had to walk quite a ways from Esperanza to get to the middle of the bay. This was a bit more sheltered from the prevailing easterlies which brought in the kelp and higher surf (although it was still not bad). We saw wild horses, star fish, a washed up barracuda, and lots of shells. I think most tourists jump in their jeeps and head off to more remote beaches and skip right over big sun bay. This one had everything we needed - sun, sand, clear water, swimmable, floatable, and palm trees. Plus there are public bathrooms that were well-maintained.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blacklabsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GO!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful beach near Esparanza. Busiest beach but nothing close to a beach in florida. Beautiful water and scenic. Would chose this beach over blue beach as it was close to town and had a lady selling beer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent several hours at Sun Bay today enjoying the great panoramic vista of the sea and surrounding land. The beach is huge so there's lots of room for people to find quiet spots and there are palm trees lining the beach which provide welcome relief from the sun. The sand is soft underfoot so enjoy the walking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Bay also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Sun Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing