We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow slow slow service, reasonable food at good prices.”
Review of Bieke's Bistro

Bieke's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
baltimore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Slow slow slow service, reasonable food at good prices.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've eaten at this simple restaurant a few times now, local food, great value, but this last time the service was so bad that we might not try it again. However, the food is fine, so if you are not in a hurry, go for it, but do expect lots of fried dishes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenkatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    141
    42
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE WORST DINING EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is my first time writing a review on here because I usually cannot be bothered but I am so furious with my dining experience that I want to ward off anyone from making the same mistake I did by coming here. The experience of the meal took a total of 3 hours just for lunch and they were completely unapologetic using the reasoning that they were a small place and they were not used to crowds. You should not have more tables than what you can accommodate with your kitchen. Coming from manhattan and having traveled around the world I have had incredible dining experiences at small restaurants and even seek them out over going to more popular trendy places. After everything going wrong the bill was $120 for food that had clearly come from a freezer pack. Not my idea of a local dining experience and I would strongly 'trip advise' against said establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nfitz104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worst service of all time”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

As a firm believer in trip advisor... i am shocked by all these positive reviews !!!! I had such an incredibly negative experience !! Restaurant has about a quarter of dishes advertised on the menu... salad could have been from mcdonalds.. and i've sat for 2 hours on a dingy patio waiting for my mediocre food !! Waitress incredibly laid back and obnoxious. Not advisable by any means .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yep, it's good--here's how to find it”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

El Patio must have lost its sign in the last hurricane, and the "Bieke's Bistro" sign is hidden by an awning. Here's how to find the place. Coming from the airport toward Isabel II, there is an intersection with PR 997, which goes to Esperanza. El Patio will be about 200 meters further, on the right, in a little "strip mall" with a laundromat. We came without reservations on Christmas eve and were seated right away. Warning--the patio is about 10 feet from PR 200, which is the main road into Isabel II, so it's a bit noisy. We especially enjoyed the four wheeled boom boxes. The food here was pretty much what all the reviews say--good and local. The mofongo (conch and churrasco) was novel and tasty. Skirt steak was, well, skirt steak. Tasty, but chewy. Just keep reminding yourself--it's Vieques, not Bermuda.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Conch Mofongo”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

That is the yummiest thing on the menu. I had the steak mofongo because I don't eat much seafood but my girlfriend had the conch mofongo and it was amazing. Also, they make their own house chimichurri sauce and I recommend that you buy a bottle to take home with you. It was my best souveneir purchase.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bieke's Bistro also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bieke's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing