We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn off the Beaten Track”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Nice inn abut 3/4 of a mile outside of Esperanza which is a quaint fishing village. Beautiful ocean view from the deck and pool area. We were able to hike down the road and climb down the rocks to the little beach on the day of arrival.
Our room we called the "cock room" as it had a rooster theme, which is a symbol of Vieques. It was neat, very clean and comfortable. Included is a made to order breakfast each morning. The food was delicious and plentiful. I liked that there was coffee and tea available for early risers out on the porch where the breakfast is served 8-10.
There is a friendly dog in residence named Zack. His job is to keep the horses from lingering out front of the inn.
The innkeepers were helpful. We were unable to get a car which you really need to see the best beaches on the island. The got us a jeep for 3 of the 4 days there. Also were honest about not wasting money on bio bay which was not illuminating from the colder water we have had recently. That being said, the beach water was very warm!
Nice pool with floats for guests to use, which overlooks the ocean.

Room Tip: We stayed in "cock room" which has rooster theme. This is the symbol of Vieques.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cld63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of Vieques and Hacienda Tamarindo. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time to write. We are most happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 573 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the casa linda... equipped as a beach house, veranda, views, breezes all out of this world. The front desk staff of inn were all lovely, available and helpful whenever needed. The breakfast was reliable and delicious served in elegant outdoor serenity. Everything about this hacienda was breezy, beautifully and earthily decorated...all contributing to the peacefulness we felt while staying on this unique island. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this as The place to stay in Vieques.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with at Casa Linda. It is much appreciated that you took the time to write a review sharing your experience with others. We look forward to hosting friends, and to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a comfortable, spacious room with a lovely view. The pool was a relaxing amenity and anything you needed for the beach was available. Extras were also available on a gracious honor system. Breakfast venue, selections and food are
great! The place is somewhat off the main strip (a good thing!) which means you definitely need a car.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We so appreciate it when guests take time to write reviews. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for re-iterating the need for a rental car on our rural island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hacienda Tamarindo is a rare gem of a hotel. It is the kind of place that you are hoping to find when you are looking on TripAdvisor for a quality local hotel. The views of the ocean are spectacular. The breakfast every morning is hands-down the best you will find on the island. The pool and landscaping make for an idyllic setting.

Highlights: Open air or air-conditioning option in each room. We were there in December and really didn't need to turn on the AC. Excellent staff. Clean rooms. Incredible View. Honor bar in the lobby and a lending library. The decor is great.... a combination of US-antiques and Puerto Rican art and maps.

This is not the place to stay if you want 24-hour room service, multiple swimming pools, a bartender running a blender and poolside activities.

This IS the place to stay if you like to travel like a local.

We love Hacienda Tamarindo and will stay there again when we return to Vieques.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I think you have given other visitors to Trip Advisor a real sense of what we at Hacienda Tamarindo are all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The owners and manager at Hacienda have really thought of everything! Not only are the grounds breathtaking, they have truly thought of everything to make your stay amazing. When we checked into the hotel we were provided with beach towels and a cooler we could use everyday. Breakfast was included every morning, and there was coffee and tea available for free anytime. If you chose to, you could fill out a form of what you would like for lunch the following day and it would be ready to go the next morning when you left for the beach! These small details really wowed me because these are things I always forget I need when traveling! This was a perfect place to stay to avoid the "big hotel" feel where everything extra costs a fortune .Would recommend to anyone visiting vieques!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linzay143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

It was great to hear that you so enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Tamarindo, and on Vieques. We are very pleased to know that we were able to provide for all your wants and needs while you were with us. Thank you so much for the great review. We so appreciate the time and effort for our guests to do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I really enjoyed what this hotel offered. A true Caribbean Island get away. We were looking to enjoying a quite and specialty hotel with a sense of adventure away from our day to day activities and work. No phones or TV just relaxation and wanted to have access to none crowded beaches and find a romantic spot. Vieques and this hotel offered it all. We really felt we were in a Hacienda and part of the property. The staff was really great and very friendly plus knowledgeable. Nothing like speaking with the locals. Our check was great it was personal and the hotel desk person walked us around and mad us feel like comfortable. The pool area was so tranquil and our views from the room offered ocean views and the scenery of the long pasture with the horses grazing was a picture perfect moment. We enjoyed the use of the facility and amenities. They have a great breakfast area and nothing like eating within nature and meeting other professionals that were also looking to get away and enjoy nature and serenity. I highly recommend this hotel and if you want to enjoy a Caribbean get away and enjoy the most beautiful beaches and nature I recommend Vieques and Hotel Hacienda Tamarindo.

Room Tip: We previewed the rooms on their web site. We really liked the South End with the Balconies, most all...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We so appreciate it when our guests take the time to write reviews of their experiences at Hacienda Tamarindo. We make every effort to help our guests get the most of Vieques and their vacation. We are happy to hear that you did. As always, we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 8 wonderful days at Hacienda Tamarindo at the end of February. The location was great, just a short drive to Esperanza with its many restaurants and only a slightly longer one to all of the fabulous and little used beaches along the Caribbean side of the Island (best side!). The Hacienda is decorated in rustic antiques, Mexican tiles, and odd and interesting objects that have captured the owners' attention. Each room is individually decorated and are very pleasant. Ours had a small balcony looking out toward the sea. The spacious lobby area and adjoining terrace is very attractive, and the library with wifi, guest computer, and honor bar conducive to chatting with other guests in the evening. There are lovely plants and flowers everywhere and the pool, with lounge chairs and hammocks, is delightful. The breakfast terrace is one level up and is open air. Breakfast is substantial with a different special every day (the eggs benedict were great!) and you can request a picnic lunch ($10) that's enough for two. It comes in a thermal bag with a freezer block in it so that lunch stays cold even at the beach -- so thoughtful!. There are fresh beach towels every day and you can purchase suntan lotion, etc., rent snorkeling gear and borrow beach chairs for free. Everyone on the staff was lovely and helpful. Ivan, the manager, actually bought us ferry tickets when he was in Isabella II so that we didn't have to make the trip at an inconvenient time. The on-site owners, Linda and Burr, are true professionals and it shows. Clearly this is a labor of love. Go to Vieques and stay at Hacienda Tamarindo -- you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: We liked #22 with its little balcony overlooking the Caribbean and would return there. Very attract...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

What a lovely recommendation. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $206 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing