We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My father and his partner and my wife and I stayed in a small house ("Casita Linda") on the grounds of Hacienda Tamarindo to celebrate milestone birthdays (his 90th, my 60th). The house had two bedrooms, one bath, a living room, a large fully-equipped kitchen, and a wrap-around porch with views of the Caribbean. It was heaven. We took our complimentary and delicious breakfasts in the main house, and mostly ate out otherwise. The hotel was a perfect staging ground for explorations of the island's beaches and other attractions. We returned each afternoon for a swim in the large outdoor pool and drinks on our porch, enjoying the breezes coming off of the sea. The staff was friendly and professional, and the owners, Linda and Burr Vail, could not have been more gracious and informative. We'll be back in ten years to celebrate our 100th and 70th birthdays!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embra125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

How great that you chose Hacienda Tamarindo for your milestone birthdays. I hope it's the start to a wonderful decade before you come back to celebrate 100! and 70. It is much appreciated that you took time to write such a great review. Salud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 573 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have stayed at this charming small hotel three times and each time had its own delights. The staff are super helpful, the rooms each have their own charms, and with no TV or radio it is a respite from the barrages of daily life. The owner provides guests with a compilation of daily news each morning at complimentary breakfast which is more than adequate providing eggs, pancakes,burritos, etc and a variety of fresh fruits. The servers are friendly and attentive. There is an honor bar system for drinks and and honor system for beach needs such as fins and snorkels,sun block, umbrellas. The hotel provides coolers and basic beach chairs and beach towels. The setting of the hotel is lovely and convenient to the town of Esperanza which hosts in my opinion the best restaurant on Vieques, El Quenepo. The hotel will make necessary arrangements for your essential 4 wheel drive vehicle. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on beautiful Vieques. Oh, did I mention the hammocks situated near the pool? I am missing "mine" right about now!

Room Tip: An upgrade is worth it. I was a bit concerned about our room being near the breakfast area but it wa...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linkru43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for that glorious review. We try to offer everything that will make your vacation relaxing and easy. It's wonderful that you enjoyed all of services and amenities. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first time to Vieques and we told the staff that we would be back. Didn't think that it would be so soon. Room number five with a private balcony could not be more romantic. The staff is very attentive and did everything that they could to make our stay perfect. If Linda and Burr recommend something it is sure to be just what you were looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Delighted to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Vieques and Hacienda Tamarindo, and that you enjoyed the staff. It is certainly the staff and the guests who make us what we are. We will look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was our first time in Vieques and it could not be a better place to stay! Fabulous breakfast, was great!!! The rooms very clean, so peaceful, excellent view. The swimming pool is nice but we enjoy the beaches!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Eli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review. So pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Vieques and Hacienda Tamarindo. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I and two friends just returned from our sixth trip to this great hotel. The facility is lovely and the staff among the friendliest we have ever encountered in the Caribbean. The tone is set by your host Linda and Burr and you are made to feel most welcome from the minute you enter to the minute you leave. The policy of adults only is the cherry on top.
J & G M & B

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

I can't say enough about how much repeat guests mean to us. They not only keep our business going, but over the years we often become friends. We really appreciate it when you not only tell us that you have enjoyed your visit, but then to take the time to write to Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's always more interesting writing a negative review, which I recently did of another hotel. The problem with Hacienda Tamarindo is that it's perfect. My wife and I had an exquisitely happy time there. It's beautiful, well-kept, superbly designed in all the little details, friendly, accommodating. Sorry not to have anything interesting to say. The place is just superb in every respect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobbieRannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you, thank you. I am not sorry that you have nothing bad to say about us. Our job is to give you a clean, comfortable place to stay and provide the amenities and services that allow our guests to relax and enjoy the island and their time away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

By the end of the introductory tour we received upon checking in, we realized that this hotel had everything: a lovely and clean pool with a view of the ocean, steady and balmy breezes, outdoor hammocks, public areas furnished with comfortable chairs for reading or chatting with the other guests, a dependably good breakfast, courteous, helpful and friendly staff, thoughtful and interesting decor, a humorous and newsy "morning paper" delivered to the table, gorgeous landscaping, and a comfortable bed. We went to Vieques to relax, and the Hacienda Tamarindo made this possible for us. I was grateful that it was so peaceful, low-key, and quiet. (In response to a previous reviewer, I'm not sure we would have had the same experience if families with young children had been there.) We had a wonderful time during our stay, venturing out of the hotel once a day to eat or explore the island, knowing that we were returning to a soul-nourishing spot. We spent more than one afternoon just playing chess in the lobby, sipping a drink from the honor-system bar. Perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for that great review. I am so glad to hear that you had a good time, and we were able to provide what you needed so you could relax and enjoy your vacation. All of us at Hacienda Tamarindo do our best to serve our guests, and we appreciate it when they take the time to get the word out to other travelers. We hope you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $206 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing