We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Tamarindo to your Saves list
Hacienda Tamarindo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Three's a Charm
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Tamarindo for 3 nights. The pluses - (1) It has an excellent location. (2) It includes breakfast. We thought breakfast was very good, with a daily special and fruit. It easily saves you $10-$15 per person, plus the hassle of having to go somewhere to eat. (3) The hotel has a beautiful view, a nice pool area and a hammock to relax. (4) The hotel personnel was very helpful and accommodating. They made dinner reservations at local restaurants, (another must if you want to eat at the finer restaurants) and were always available to help.They actually let us have breakfast 1/2 hour early to our early flight on Monday morning. That is good customer service! (5) The room was spacious. The Minuses - There are few minuses in my opinion. It is peak season in Vieques, so any hotel will be VERY expensive compared to low season. Our room was in front of the breakfast dining area and you could clearly hear voices when people were at the entrance downstairs or in the breakfast area. The Hacienda Tamarindo seems to cater to the baby boomer generation, so it was not really a problem, because people seem to hole up early and being on vacation they get up late. But it is something to be aware of if you are sensitive to noises. Our room had air-conditioning and this also helps mitigate any noise. The room also had a slight odor when we entered coming from the bathroom. Once you turned on the AC and closed the bathroom door, you did not smell it and I informed the manager, so I am sure they will take corrective action. A final point - If you don't want to risk your life walking to Sun Bay and La Esperanza or depend on unreliable taxi service, you need a car. I would recommend a car to anyone traveling to Vieques, who really wants to get a feel for the island. We had a car, which the hotel personnel graciously reserved for us in advance. You should reserve the car when you book the hotel reservation.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in front of the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate your having visited Vieques and stayed at Hacienda Tamarindo. I am heartened to hear that you did enjoy part of your experience. We do take feedback very much to heart. We have ordered new solid doors for all the rooms off the dining area. One has been installed and makes a huge difference. The remaining ones will be installed as we have openings in those rooms. As to the odor in the bathroom--we have had a great deal of plumbing work done recently, however, the plumber has fixed the issue that you had. Regarding the necessity of a car--we always strongly encourage our guests to rent cars. Those who don't will not have the experience of all that Vieques has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    95
    24
    4
    11
See reviews for
59
298
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 great nights at the Hacienda Tamarindo. What a beautiful property - the room, the patio, the pool - and great staff - concierge/receptionists, manager, owner, housekeepers. We made good use of the beach chair & umbrella rental and cooler that is provided in the room to visit some beautiful beaches (we particularly liked Blue Beach). This is a special place on a special island. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always delighted to hear when someone has enjoyed their stay at Hacienda Tamarindo. We always appreciate your feedback. It's what helps to make us better. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The greeting by the staff and their introduction to the amenities was the beginning of a magical stay. They make it so easy to enjoy your stay and provide only as much help as requested allowing you to enjoy your visit to this beautiful island with as much guidance as you request. The town of Esperanza is 1 mile away (don't walk) and offers numerous good dining options.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Hacienda Tamarindo for your Vieques vacation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you shared your experience with future travelers. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a trip to Puerto Rico last September, my boyfriend and I mainly stayed at a condo in Condado Beach in San Juan. But we decided to take a flight over to Vieques and spend one night at Hacienda Tamarindo. Our trip to Vieques was the highlight of our Puerto Rican vacation -- we had such a great time there, we tried to figure out how to stay an extra few nights. Hacienda Tamarindo was a lovely, romantic inn -- gorgeous Carribean views from our room, the staff was so helpful and accomodating, they have snorkel and beach chairs and everything else you would want for your stay available at the inn, the breakfast was delicious, and the pool looked gorgeous but we didn't have time to enjoy it as we spent time snorkeling in some secluded beach coves instead and did the night kayaking trip on the biolumenescent bay. We had a delicious and very romantic dinner at the inn next door (Inn on Blue Horizon) and a wonderful lunch at Duffy's on the boardwalk the next day. We would definitely go back for another romantic trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyB365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We really appreciate your staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo, and for your glowing review. Feedback is what makes us better, but when it's all good we are happy to know that we are doing our job. Many thanks. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved room #5 and the laid-back vibe of the Hacienda Tamarindo. Staff is superb, and the setting an easy jeep ride from anywhere you want to go. Quiet at night. Beautiful ocean and pool views. Love the honor bar...and views from each direction. Tasty breakfast. Great folks...made us want to move in permanently!

Room Tip: Recommend room #5....do note, open slats on doors means sounds carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo. We always appreciate feedback on your stay, and when we do a good job we are delighted. Hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hacienda Tamarindo is a great place to stay for some travelers. The location is convenient, the service is fantastic, the views of the sea are stunning, the rooms are cute and clean, and the breakfast was very good. We especially enjoyed the quiche!

Now for the drawbacks. While this hotel may be suited to the single traveler, it is not a good choice for couples or groups who enjoy privacy during a vacation. My husband and I recently traveled to Vieques for a romantic anniversary getaway, but the only time we could enjoy a private conversation was on the beach. Our room at Hacienda Tamarindo had windows with screens that opened directly onto a common area near the breakfast room (no windows that could be closed). All of the rooms are very close together with screen windows, which means that we could constantly hear people talking at a normal volume, clearing their throats, and even using the bathrooms while they were in their own rooms. In short, not a single night passed by without hearing our neighbors' every fart! Needless to say, this is not a place where couples can feel comfortable having conversations in the room, let alone fooling around (and a little nooky should be possible on a romantic getaway, right?!)

If I was traveling alone and wanted to socialize and make friends, the close quarters of Hacienda Tamarindo might be cozy--it feels a lot like an upscale hostel. This is probably why it received good reviews from guidebooks like Moon and Lonely Planet. Given the complete lack of privacy, it must be said that the place is absolutely overpriced. As a couple, we will look for other options next time so that we enjoy can some peace and quiet (and each other)!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank saramiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo. We appreciate your feedback. Since we have heard from some guests with issues about noise/privacy in rooms off the dining area we are putting solid doors on those rooms. They have been ordered and should be installed soon. I hope if you return to Vieques you will give us another chance. We do listen to our guests, and do our best to accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I love this place! We had our wedding in Vieques, and the wedding planner recommended staying here. They were extremely friendly and accommodating of our small group, particularly given it was off-season and we made up about 90% of the residents at the inn. And I do mean accommodating...Tropical Storm Isaac was threatening to come through, and we had to move our whole wedding up and leave a day early. They kept us (well, me) calm, promising we could stay if we had to, packing us free lunches to make up for a missed breakfast, and even said we could have the wedding on site need be. Fortunately, the weather on our wedding day was beautiful, but we came back a few months later (in season) to make up the time we'd missed. A much different trip--the place was full, but they were still as friendly. Breakfast was outstanding--we hadn't been able to fully appreciate it the first time around. The honor bar was convenient and well-stocked, and the rooms were perfect--clean, well-appointed, and very nicely decorated. I love this place--it's just VIeques is not easy to get to, so I'm not sure when we'll make it back again. But I do want to!!!

Room Tip: Be mindful of the time of year that you're here--we had a room in the back on our second trip, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcohen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both your experiences with us. We appreciate your feedback, and when it's all good we especially appreciate your taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
48.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
24.5 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Property: Hacienda Tamarindo
Address: Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing