We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Tamarindo
Nearby Hotels
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$195
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$120
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Cancelon
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
427
108
25
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
108
25
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor bartamarind treecasita lindahonor systemcaribbean deluxebeach chairsmade to order breakfastthe breakfast areabreakfast was deliciousblue horizonbio bayevery morningrental carwild horsesthought of everythingbed and breakfastview of the ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 576 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hacienda Tamarindo is a great place to stay for some travelers. The location is convenient, the service is fantastic, the views of the sea are stunning, the rooms are cute and clean, and the breakfast was very good. We especially enjoyed the quiche!

Now for the drawbacks. While this hotel may be suited to the single traveler, it is not a good choice for couples or groups who enjoy privacy during a vacation. My husband and I recently traveled to Vieques for a romantic anniversary getaway, but the only time we could enjoy a private conversation was on the beach. Our room at Hacienda Tamarindo had windows with screens that opened directly onto a common area near the breakfast room (no windows that could be closed). All of the rooms are very close together with screen windows, which means that we could constantly hear people talking at a normal volume, clearing their throats, and even using the bathrooms while they were in their own rooms. In short, not a single night passed by without hearing our neighbors' every fart! Needless to say, this is not a place where couples can feel comfortable having conversations in the room, let alone fooling around (and a little nooky should be possible on a romantic getaway, right?!)

If I was traveling alone and wanted to socialize and make friends, the close quarters of Hacienda Tamarindo might be cozy--it feels a lot like an upscale hostel. This is probably why it received good reviews from guidebooks like Moon and Lonely Planet. Given the complete lack of privacy, it must be said that the place is absolutely overpriced. As a couple, we will look for other options next time so that we enjoy can some peace and quiet (and each other)!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank saramiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo. We appreciate your feedback. Since we have heard from some guests with issues about noise/privacy in rooms off the dining area we are putting solid doors on those rooms. They have been ordered and should be installed soon. I hope if you return to Vieques you will give us another chance. We do listen to our guests, and do our best to accommodate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I love this place! We had our wedding in Vieques, and the wedding planner recommended staying here. They were extremely friendly and accommodating of our small group, particularly given it was off-season and we made up about 90% of the residents at the inn. And I do mean accommodating...Tropical Storm Isaac was threatening to come through, and we had to move our whole wedding up and leave a day early. They kept us (well, me) calm, promising we could stay if we had to, packing us free lunches to make up for a missed breakfast, and even said we could have the wedding on site need be. Fortunately, the weather on our wedding day was beautiful, but we came back a few months later (in season) to make up the time we'd missed. A much different trip--the place was full, but they were still as friendly. Breakfast was outstanding--we hadn't been able to fully appreciate it the first time around. The honor bar was convenient and well-stocked, and the rooms were perfect--clean, well-appointed, and very nicely decorated. I love this place--it's just VIeques is not easy to get to, so I'm not sure when we'll make it back again. But I do want to!!!

Room Tip: Be mindful of the time of year that you're here--we had a room in the back on our second trip, which would have been fine except we could hear a ton of music (perhaps coming from a home nearby.) Not an issue off-season! Honestly, there aren't as many restaurants open, but seriously consider coming when it's off-season--you feel like it is your own inn!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcohen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Hacienda Tamarindo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both your experiences with us. We appreciate your feedback, and when it's all good we especially appreciate your taking the time to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Delightful setting on the outskirts of Esperanza.
Great accomodations and facilities -- access to Internet and bar (honour system)
Generous breakfasts (included).
We chose Bag lunch option for extended beachtime one day.

Room Tip: Too bad they don't serve lunch & dinner. But good restaurants in Esperenza 2 km away (Trade Winds, Bili's)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISM_Edna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always great to hear that we are doing our job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. The management was so lovely and easy going. The hotel was fantastic- not a hilton or something fancy but super clean and comfortable and very cute. Breakfast was delish and the bar system was great.

Thanks so much

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for staying at Hacienda Tamarindo. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to hear all feedback about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, and on a very buggy island, they did a great job keeping them out of the room. They have a cute "library", with a phone and a "bar" where you fix your own drinks or grab some beers, just sign it out in the book, and they charge you on the honor system. Same with scuba gear, beach chairs, OTC meds, whatever you mght need from the "Surf Shop" in their lot, just sign it out, and it's based on the honor system! Bfast is free every morning, choice of fresh juices, eggs any way you want, bacon, sausage, english muffin, etc, OR you can choose their daily special. They will rent a car for you if you 'd like, they have a nice pool, and beach towels are in your room, ready to use. And the best thing? No kids under 14 (or 15? I forgot)...although on my last day there I did see a child around 4 having breakfast there, which I thought was strange since they specifically state in the email when you inquire about vacancies no children are allowed.

The employees there are really nice and helpful, and the owners live there as well. It's down the street from the main drag, view of the ocean is really nice (but I don't think you can walk there really), and a rental car is a must in Vieques.

Room Tip: Get the room with A/C. It's so humid there.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faleshia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We try to provide a laid back environment where our guests can relax and enjoy their vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews