We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was a paradise!!!”
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Tamarindo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I came to Puerto Rico for 6 days and stayed at Caribe Hilton. After coming to Tamarinda Hotel, we realized that Hilton pretty much sucked compared to this place. It's so peaceful and relaxing that you forget everything. The service is amazing and amenities are just excellent. We had a room with French doors overlooking the ocean. It's ideal for couples if you are looking for a total retreat and relaxation. I recommend to everyone who visits Vieques to stay here.

P.S. Zach (the estate's dog is awesome)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota200788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 573 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Vieques for a quick getaway (3 days 2 nights), with another couple we booked last minute two bedrooms at Hacienda Tamarindo. The best choice we could've made. When we arrived the rental car was awaiting in the hotel for us. The staff was excellent specially front desk and the breakfast area. It has spectacular views and great accomodations. Would recommend to everyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvelilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the place to be in vieques island!
My husband and i stayed 3 nights at the hacienda tamarindo and it was just prefect.
Romantic, beautiful view, nice rooms and an amazing stuff.
Ivan and Tanya helped us in everything we needed- they are so nice.

If you are looking for a place to relax in an intimate way this is the perfect place to be :)

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilat-Pines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is one of the rare occasions when I felt let down by a TripAdvisor recommendation. I'd rate this place as average at best, for the following reasons:

1. Our room was located directly off off the kitchen/dining area. Wouldn't of been a problem except for the fact that the door to our room was not solid wood and instead was designed with louvres that didn't shut completely. That lead to zero privacy considering the foot traffic during meals from both staff and guests. Essentially we could see and hear all of the activities in the dining area (as well as our neighbors next door), which was not ideal. It's important to note that because the louvres didn't shut, people could also see into our room, which was very uncomfortable.

2. Our room did not have AC. I'm all for being environmentally conscious but it was nearly impossible to cool down after a long day at the beach and feel truely refreshed. Not to mention, because we had to keep the windows open, we could hear the guest below us arguing on a prolonged telephone call as we were trying to sleep. Not exactly relaxing as there was no shutting the windows in the summer.

3. Maybe it was timing but certainly didn't find the customer service to be extrordinary as indicated by reviews on Trip Advisor. I would describe interactions with the staff as minimally polite.

Things we really enjoyed about the hotel was that small coolers were provided, along with honor system for beverages. That was a nice convenience. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Pool was great, although we did not use it and instead spent most of our time at the beach.

Ultimate assessment is that maybe our experience may have been different if we had an alternate room, with more privacy and AC. Would certainly suggest that you verify room location before you arrive. Although, we enjoyed the the quaint nature of this place, do believe it to be slightly over rated.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the kitchen/dining area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMIBeachGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us feedback. I wish you had told us about the problem with your door and your room while you were with us. We certainly would have moved you if there was another room available. In the time since your stay we discovered that the louvres in your room did, in fact, not close and the problem has been repaired. There are only two rooms that do not have A/C and they are our least expensive rooms in the summer season. We are in business to make our guests' stay enjoyable, and I am sorry that was not your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hi, my wife and I just stayed 3 nights at the hacienda and it was just what we need it, if you are looking to have a great intimate and awesome time with your significant other well this is the place.

Starting with the initial call to make the reservation, Tania treat us like VIP from the first call, they even made the rental car reservation for us!!!
At check in she greet us with a tour of the hacienda and some cool tips on what to do on the island.
Our room was not ready at the time of check in so what the manager does? a total free room upgrade! how cool is that???
The place just feels like if you have it all for you!
The breakfast well its just like the other reviews says, they give you a menu and you order like a little small restaurant JUST FOR YOU!
I recommend the Acuarium restaurant just steps from the hacienda, they also have the biobay tours!
All the details of the hacienda made the place a very very unique hotel, we will be back!!!
Thank to Ivan the hotel manager for the attention!

Room Tip: If you have the money to reserve the suite, DO IT! the view is just breath taking!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at Hacienda Tamarindo. She had been there before and was delighted to learn we had the same room she had stayed in. We had a lovely room with phenomenal views. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Linda, one of the owners, and Ivan, the manager, are thoroughly committed to the comfort of their guests. The pool is lovely and spotless. The library is comfortable, with a well-stocked honor bar. Breakfasts are yummy, and the staff aims to please. But the very best? The gentle horses that come to drink from the pool and the fountains every morning and the real owner of the hotel: Zack, the Olde English Sheepdog. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 23.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Don't book anywhere else in vieques other places are overpriced and crappy! Tamarindo is GREAT!! Ivan is an angel, he saved my birthday from tragedy. The hotel is in a great location the pool is perfect! They provide you with chairs, towels, breakfast and an honesty bar! Rooms are clean, staff is super friendly and knowledgable. Carlos drove us free of charge to retrieve our luggage from our initial spot. This place is so wonderful I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I visit again. All the hotel is clean & nice restaurants are near here and the beach is walking distance. Ivan and Carlos thank you so very much for all your help. Tamarindo if you hire more staff like these guys at you other locations I'm there! Ladies be aware there are tarantulas, big time bugs on this island this hotel exterminates every 2 weeks if not more. I saw nothing here! Clean as a whistle.

Room Tip: Choose room with a view it's breath taking!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Earenas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
46.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
59.5 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765-1569, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $206 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Tamarindo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing