We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Tamarindo
Nearby Hotels
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$235
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hix Island House(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
431
108
25
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
108
25
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor bartamarind treecasita lindahonor systemcaribbean deluxebeach chairsmade to order breakfastthe breakfast areabreakfast was deliciousblue horizonbio bayevery morningrental carwild horsesthought of everythingbed and breakfastview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 580 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hacienda for our two nights in Vieques, part of a week long trip in Puerto Rico and the Miami area. I have also reviewed other sites during this trip including a nice stay at The Gallery in San Juan. PR's Rough Guide provided the information that led to many of our travel choices this visit. Note that the Hacienda has their own website but doesn't appear to be on the big travel sites.

The grounds are clean and attractive with lush but well maintained tropical plantings. A large tamarind tree grows in the lobby and through an opening in the upper floor. The building is open and inviting. The inn has a pool, and though we didn't get time to use it, it was a nice looking amenity. A salon with an 'honor-bar' including top shelf liquors is another good option that we did not get a chance to make use of.

We stayed in the Vermont room, a High Standard type. Because it was one of the least expensive options, we were pleasantly surprised to find the lower level room had views to the Caribbean Sea. The space was very clean and relatively large with a king bed and small balcony.

The price, for the room alone reasonable for many areas at less than $150 per night (w/o taxes which range from 15-20%, high, across PR), also included a full breakfast. This was not a buffet, but cooked to order plates with sides, fresh fruit, and a variety of juices. The open air, mostly covered dining area is on the upper level.

On top of the value and amenities, one of our most positive experiences at Hacienda was with the management and owner . Our check in started with a tour of the facility and room, a great little detail new to us. The day manager we interacted with most was very friendly, arranged for us to take a bioluminescent bay tour, and seemed genuinely interested in us having a good stay. When checking out our rental car battery had died and he jumped it for us right away. For that matter, almost everyone we met there, including the owner who apparently is very involved and lives on site, seemed to put the visitor experience above the bottom line.

Negatives? The closest things to issues from our stay were very few. Before arriving they recommended an island car rental company that turned out to be by far our biggest downer. Because the windows along two walls (and the bathroom door) are louvered wood (with a metal screen to keep mosquitos out) the privacy of the rooms is somewhat limited - sound, not visual. This wasn't much of an issue for us, but when background noises are low, you may be able to hear into the lobby and some other rooms. There is noone manning the lobby desk between 5 pm and 8 am. This was not really a problem for us, though when the room hair dryer malfunctioned we had to just do without. We understand the owners are available from their rooms for emergencies.

For all of these reasons we enjoyed our short stay and highly recommend the Hacienda to others visiting Esperanza. [Side note, we suggest anyone going to Puerto Rico take a two day (or longer) jaunt out to Vieques. Flying via Cape Air from SJU to VQS is a safe 25 minute prop flight. Once there be sure to hit Blue Beach for swimming and snorkleing too.]

Room Tip: We found Vermont to be a great room and a great value.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GradyVT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

We love having guests who enjoy what we have to offer. We were sorry to find that because we have shortened office hours in our summer season, these guests were reluctant to call us to get a working hair dryer. I would definitely consider that an emergency. We live on premise to be available to meet all reasonable needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our first trip to Puerto Rico and we made a beeline for Vieques. First stop was 5 days at Hacienda Tamarindo. It exceeded our expectations - relaxing with its own peaceful style. We enjoyed laying in the hammocks under the trees for a lazy morning, the pool with a fantastic view, and the honor bar. It has lots of fun little details which we both really enjoyed... like the old Tamarind tree growing in the front foyer. We fell in love with it at once!

Close to the main strip in Esperanza and the beaches, it was the perfect location. Beautiful views, clean, super friendly and helpful staff, and yummy breakfasts! Our room was great, we opted not to use the A/C but it was there if you needed it. We had a queen size bed that was comfortable and a view of the pool and across the fields with horses. Owners Linda and Burr, along with their staff, went above and beyond to make this a truly fantastic visit. We can't wait to go back!

You do need a rental car to get around Vieques. Hacienda Tamarindo set that up for us when we booked our room. It worked out beautifully!

Each morning you have breakfast served on a patio with the option of good ol' bacon and eggs, or the cooks special for that day. The coffee over here is like jet fuel.

Rooms come with complimentary beach towels, chairs, and a cooler which was convenient and appreciated. Laundry area right when you walk in for dropping off damp beach towels.

This was exceptional! Thank you, thank you to everyone at Hacienda Tamarindo! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g4finder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Let's get the easy stuff out of the way: Hacienda Tamarindo is very clean, comfortable, and has friendly and helpful staff.

OK, here's what you can't tell easily from their website:

The rooms are all unique and creatively decorated; this is not your average hotel by any means. Each room contains a extra stuff you'll need to enjoy Vieques' many beaches and generally have a good time on the islant.

The included (hot) breakfast is REALLY good; you aren't getting an English Muffin and coffee; they have a full-on breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc.

The pool is quite sizable and provides a great spot for relaxing. The views from the hotel are gorgeous.

While Hacienda Tamarindo is reasonably close to the "main drag" of Eseperanza, it's still fairly secluded, so you won't get a lot of late-night partier noise or other bustle. That said, it's a bit of a hike to walk into the town. But you don't need to do that; just grab your beach chairs and drive to one of Vieques' many secluded beaches.

Finally, their "honor bar" is top notch. Feel like enjoying a Ron Barrilito and coke? Not a problem. Just want a beer? They have you covered. Really great bonus feature.

Also, the place is VERY reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again AND recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davetron5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Gracious staff, responsive to requests, beautiful grounds and views, tasty breakfast all in a well appointed but relaxed atmosphere. Much fancier and the hotel wouldn't "fit" with the rest of the island. The Hacienda is set up so that it's ok to come in with muddy feet from the beach or walk up for coffee in your loungewear. The front desk stayed open a little late waiting on us to arrive when our plane was late. Our few tiny maintenance issues were resolved quickly with a smile and an apology. The bar is well stocked. We found lime and mango for drinks right in the trees around the pool. I'm sure there was more to the experienced eye. Breathtaking views.
Casita Linda is in a separate building with an adjoining suite that has a separate entrance. The casita has its own driveway, an outdoor dining area, covered veranda with chairs and views of Esperanza, living room with pullout sofa bed, dining for 2 in the full kitchen, games, books, tv with satellite and DVD player (which we never used), bath with a large tiled shower (no bath tub) and 2 bedrooms each with A/C, armoire, and king sized beds. Tile and fixtures as well as ceiling fans throughout looked new with the exception of the shower itself, which though a bit worn was in good working order.
Windows throughout are louvered and screened.
We did have mosquitos in the room almost everyday, but you quickly learn to wear mosquito repellant at all times on the island. Once we asked, Raid was provided for the room and the problem was resolved.
One note - children under 8 are not allowed.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brandicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our stay here was wonderful - from the tasty breakfast, to the comfortable and well-appointed room. We got upgraded to huge suite since it was not a busy time. We really loved how the hotel provided beach chairs and coolers so that when we took off exploring each day, we had everything we needed. It was a great trip, and we'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exploradora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews