We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to see”

Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing to see”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

While I'm told this has been a great attraction in the past, the rains in the last few months mean that the bay doesn't illuminate right now. Definitely inquire before you go

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ti727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    316
    128
    61
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great when it works”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Last time I went the bay was brilliant with fluorescing creatures but for now the population is so low it's not worth the time or money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank foodnwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinsburg, ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A- mazing!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The guides said it was glowing at %90- but having never been before I cannot confirm that. It was glowing a bunch and it was like nothing you have ever see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pauliepalmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Not sure if it's back...”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I heard many things like back 90% to as small as 10%. I heard that it used to glow a lot and constantly with water movement. When we went, we were lucky to be the first ones to arrive the bay. We had to kayak all the way to the middle to as far as the mouth of the bay since there are more "dinoflagellates" there. Noticed a lot of sparkling like water fireflies whenever we splashed the water with our kayak oars and even hands. The illumination didn't stay though as it also quickly went away when we stopped splashing. So, since it's my first time to experience this, we still thought it was pretty cool..not sure though if it was supposed to be that way or more constant illumination like what previous people said. We signed up for the tour anyway because we liked to kayak and for $35 bucks it was a great deal to be able to do this at night in the biobay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvlcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not too much bioluminescence ”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile


Pretty good bioluminescence. Picked the right night for it. However, was told that generally the effects have been stronger. But it was good fun anyways.

Helpful?
Thank Reluct_grupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing