We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't leave Vieques without seeing it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay

Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Night BioBay Kayak Tour from Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't leave Vieques without seeing it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Similar to all of the other reviewers, the Bio Bay is something you have to see! The water is gorgeous and unlike anything you've ever seen! You glide through the water with what looks like neon lights on everything touching the water. Definitely reach out and let it run down your arm but don't swim in it! The oils and personal care products on your body kill the Dinoflagellates.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_Traveler_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,695
    306
    122
    60
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Near NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nature at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my second trip to the bioluminescent bay. The bay is truly one of those things you have to put on your bucket list....its just that cool. I've gone out in an electric boat on both occasions. I love that these trips include a good bit of the "story" behind the bay - it makes you appreciate it all that much more. When you flick your hand in the water, its like thousands of fire flies are swimming around. Besides the truly unique bay - the long and winding...and very bumpy road to the bay is great fun. If you go to Vieques...dont' miss this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kgibson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We did a paddle boat tour and it is amazing. We used Island Adventures. The bus ride to the bay is bumpy and long but all so worth it. No swimming allowed anymore. But you can splash around while in the paddle boat. Very cool and fun! Better if timed with the moon cycle and weather.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wonderful! This is a must do! I will never forget this experience! We did the boat tour of the bay! The guide was a very nice young man and was eager to answer all questions and point out lots of interesting stuff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still a glowing memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been twice. The second time no swimming but it was as much fun and facinating. We took kayaks this last time. Ab cox'd me into going even though the moon was sittin pretty. Funny thing is I liked it better because when it went behind the clouds things lite up instantly, when the moon came out you could see the darkened mangroves that encircled. As the moon went in and out the atmosphere became surreal! Thanks Ab!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jochwo1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing