We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Vieques!”
Review of Navio Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The rough surf of Navio Beach attracts surfers and a younger, more hip crowd.
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best beach in Vieques!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've explored most beaches in Vieques and this is my favorite. The white sand is impeccable and the water is spectacular. There are usually very people here which often makes it feel like its your own personal beach!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lappy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    36
    16
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best beach!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Quiet with fun waves. Rough driving to get there but that's part of the fun!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank llbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but hard to reach”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The dirt road to Navio was quite beaten up and filled with deep puddles, but we managed to get there. You'll need to drive slowly and carefully. Once you get there, you will be rewarded for your trek with fun waves, gorgeous trees and outcroppings, and few people.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JustCurious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great but not our favorite”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I like Navio Beach: it's good for body-surfing and very, very uncrowded. However, we prefer Playa Caracas: more navigable (both in getting there and in use) and "gentler", ie, easier to swim (less waves), and paved road all the way
-- unlike Navio. As far as we're concerned, all of the Caribbean beaches in Vieques are wonderful -- but some are more wonderful than others!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank siouxtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Very very hard to reach - you need a 4 by 4. But once you get there - its secluded, surrounded by caves and so beautiful, you never ever want to leave. Its deeper than some of the other beaches in the area - like media luna which is perfect for little kids, and there isnt much by way of snorkeling, but one of my favorites on the island

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank waltermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navio Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Navio Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing