We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, Rustic Experience--Truly Unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing, Rustic Experience--Truly Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you are looking for something truly different and can handle the unavoidable quirks that go with that, you will love Hix Island House.

We stayed here for two nights, in the Triangle House. My wife kept the design of the hotel a secret from me till we arrived. I was floored--in a good way. The room had this huge open wall section that looked out over a large expanse of trees. It felt like a treehouse; I loved it. There were numerous windows with wooden interior shutters, but the one wall was permanently open from about waist up and about 30 feet wide. It was like a Frank Lloyd Wright cabin in the woods.

This means that you get a fantastic view of trees, flowers, and hummingbirds. Incredible nighttime sounds of frogs and crickets. And, yes, you also get a few bugs. But the geckos eat most of them. And there's a large, suspended mosquito net for the bed, along with citronella candles--so the bugs aren't a real problem.

The kitchen was well stocked: Puerto Rican coffee--if you can't use a French press, here's your chance to learn--great homemade bread, real butter, some jams, a few eggs, single-serve milk boxes. I actually made some very good French toast.

The shower was halfway exposed from the waist up--but there's a lot of foliage, and no one can really see you. (The toilet is fully enclosed.)

There is no air conditioning--but the ceiling fan works pretty well.

The pool is decent-sized and really quite nice.

If you want sleek, chic, conventionally luxe, or trendy, this place is not for you; continue to the W Hotel (which we also enjoyed, staying there one night). Likewise if the idea of finding a few bugs on the cement floor or geckos on the walls disturbs you. But if you're wanting a true adventure or if you're a serious architecture buff, you should definitely consider Hix Island.

TIP: You will probably want to rent a car--and a couple of the nice ladies who work there will rent you theirs for a good price. (One, Christen, also gives beach tours and is a treasure trove of local info.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashDCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianeymike, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thanks for the kind words and guidance for future guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 'surprise.' Your wife obviously knows you well and is aware of all that you enjoy in life! It's a great honor to know that the Hix Island House has been added to that list. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    32
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
213
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Spent a week on Vieques and went to every beach and almost every lodging. Went for the beaches. Hix is about as far as you can get from any beach. Not even decent views. The concrete rooms were dark and damp. Do not understand giving a five, unless one's expectations are really low. W has opened, the premier place. Blue Horizon far better than Hix. And the Hix concrete is starting to crack.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank haciendado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianeymike, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. However this review is a bit confusing? We are located 7 minutes from Sun Bay and the fishing village of Esperanza, nestled in the quiet hills of Barrio Pilon. We are just as near to the best beaches in the Wildlife Refuge as any other hotel on the island. And as any guest who has stayed here, one learns and appreciates the Wabi Sabi concept that John Hix used to create our 15 acre Refuge. To say that the concrete is simply cracked and damp, makes me wonder if this reviewer even stayed here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

This is the most wonderful place to stay. It is quiet, you're surrounded by nature, it's beautiful, clean, minimal, there's a nice pool, FRESH BANANAS THAT ARE GROWN ON THE PROPERTY and are the most delicious bananas I've ever tasted, homemade bread in your room every morning. I could go on and on!

Hix House was (only) slightly pricier than some of the other places to stay in the area BUT we ended up saving money at the end of the day because they provide you with all of the fixings for breakfast which you can make in your kitchen so we saved at least $25/day on breakfast AND they provide snorkel gear and told us where to go - you can snorkel right off some of the beaches in Vieques - so we saved probably $100 on snorkeling 'tours' that we were going to take.

We did yoga one morning and it was glorious. You're outside with a cool breeze. Ahh.

What else can I say? It was wonderful and I think it's the only place I would want to stay in Vieques if I go back. A lot of the other places to stay seemed noisy - especially on the main strip where all the restaurants are. But this was serene and quiet.

I have absolutely no complaints - mosquitos weren't an issue at all when you sleep with the mosquito net (which is kind of romantic in it's own way).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn32Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianeymike, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of all the ammenities we offer. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My partner and I have been spending our spring vacation in Vieques since 1999. We stayed at Hix during our first visit and though we had a wonderful time we decided to try another place the next year and another for a few years following. Each year we we visited we always talking about what a great time we had at Hix and why we didn't stay there. We decided to try it again several years back and have returned each year since.

I found the recent review complaining about mosuitos interesting because Hix is a green resort cooled by the Carribean Tradewinds. There are no paned windows in the rooms, just large expanses of openess, which will mean you'll see bugs - hence the mosiquto netting. Having AC or property foggeds with insecticide just doesn't work with the ethos of this place.

It's clean, modern, rustic vibe along with beautiful beaches is all you need on Vieques. Anyone who wants is looking for air conditioning, daily maid service and valet parking should visit another island.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonpog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianeymike, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We love our guests who keep coming back time and time again. It's encouraging to know that the concept John Hix designed and executed is still working and pleasing guests year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Our 3 night stay ( March 12-15 2010) at the HIX House was wonderful. The staff is gracious and helpful, grounds are lush and beautiful, and the pool is simply heavenly! Oh and I should mention our Loft was amazing. There is something soothing and magical about falling asleep and awakening to the chirps of coqui-frogs and birds. Although the Hix house is centrally located, you will want to hire for rent a 4X4 vehicle in order to explore the amazing beaches of Vieques for snorkeling, small cliff jumping and floating in the sea ; all of this within 15-30 minutes drive from HIX HOUSE. The town of Esperanza is only a 15 minute drive away; there you can find bbq vendors or sit down to a nice dinner. Since we had a full kitchen in the loft, if we had chosen to we could have easily purchased groceries to make dinners on our own. The eggs, breads, milk and juices made for great breakfasts in the morning and the french press coffee was aromatic and tasty. One evening we opted to use "Jimmy's" catering for a take out roasted chicken, cole-slaw, rice and beans dinner. It was very plentiful, tasty and only ~$20.00! If you love nature, sweeping views, lush grounds, an amazing pool and gentle trade-winds, the HIX house is for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialadvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton. CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We came to Vieques in February on a random recommendation by our cousin. Found Hix Island House because the website intrigued us. The experience far exceeded our expectations---we know better than to have high expectations based on a web-site! Staying at the Hix is truly an experience. This is for those who enjoy the simpler, finer things in life while appreciating being in harmony with nature. They provide you with breakfast fixin's, beach chairs, a cooler, the most comfy nightshirts (I HAD to buy one to take home!) and the room was so spacious and well-equipped I could have stayed for a month! Call me a kitchen snob, but having sharp knives, good pots and attractive dishes made cooking in a pleasure! All of that more than compensates for a few mosquito bites. :) What better validation than to say we came back again 5 weeks later!!!! And next winter we'll bring the whole family.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianeymike, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
I'm so excited you enjoyed your stay(s) with us, and look forward to your return. We've made lots of improvements during the "off-season" and hope to exceed your expectations yet again during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed in a loft and it was perfect. This place is a hidden gem, we basically never saw another guest even thought we knew it was pretty full while we were there. Its well kept, simple and very peaceful. If you want full service and no associations with nature, don't come here, you will be disappointed. This place is all about connections with your environment, which is exactly what John Hix had in mind, so just know what you want from a vacation and if you like an eco-friendly place that will drop your pulse and make you forget about your job back home, then come here. We were upgraded which was a very nice gesture, probably was a bit of a pain for them to get the room ready and have us move, but the pay off for Hix House is that I will be back for sure! Beautiful pool and wonderful breakfast treats, and the outdoor shower was the best! This is on my top list of places to stay and I travel a lot!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Property: Hix Island House
Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing