We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem Found in Paradise”
Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After 9 days on Isla Grande, my husband and I decided to extend our trip for three days and head over to Vieques. Now we wish we'd spent our entire vacation on this beautiful island. The beaches were serene and the people were laid back, inviting, and accommodating. Hix Island House was peaceful and so quiet - really a place to relax and get away from it all. The infinity pool was just what we needed after our 10 minute puddle-jumper from Ceiba to Vieques. Skip the ferry by the way - the flight is only $30 per person and totally worth the time saved and the views from 1200 feet. The rooms at Hix were entirely constructed of concrete which gave a minimalist, serene feel amongst the gentle sways of the palm trees. Our room was open to the elements with a view of the ocean and plenty of trees and flowers that attracted hummingbirds and even a few parrots (we stayed in Loft #8). There was home-made bread, butter, jams, eggs, cereal and milk, teas, and brita filtered water in our fridge every day, and fresh fruit. You really felt like you were the only couple at the hotel with the stunning views from the comfort of your lounge chairs on the terrace or from your bed. The outdoor shower was amazing also! We were so excited that they had a last minute cancellation that allowed us to stay. We will definitely be back to Puerto Rico - but will stay in Vieques at Hix!

Room Tip: Loft 8 was great, but shared sidewalls and a ceiling with other guestrooms. If you want total priva...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reagan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Hix Island House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

From the moment we stepped foot on the property, we loved it. My boyfriend and I had booked two nights at Hix Island House, but immediately upon arrival, we decided to extend that two three nights are are super happy we did so. (His review is below.) Everything about our stay was fantastic, from the hospitality of Joanne at the front desk to the fridge filled will coffee, juices and jams plus fresh bread delivered daily (all included in the room cost) to the crickets and frogs that chirped us to sleep. Oh! And the showers -- we were in room three, and ours was tucked away through the bathroom, but outside so you could see the stars while you showered. Great robes to snuggle up in after.

Everything was an easy car ride away (there's no way you'd want to be without a car on Vieques). The pool was small but totally refreshing, and there was all sorts of equipment and games you can borrow at the front desk.

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room three has a nice view and is the perfect size for two.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks for the kind words Jen! We're glad you enjoyed the coziness of Loft 3, and the chorus of coquis that comes with it. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were swept off our feet by this place. No TV, no restaurants, and no fitness center. Vacation. Yay! All concrete, no windows, outdoor shower, full kitchen with eggs, homemade bread, and fresh fruit every morning. Yeah buddy! I'm not usually one to stare at the sky, but the stars and sunrise were amazing from the room. JoAnne was also amazing, and Radar for that matter. She knew everything about the island, knew how to get to all of the little hidden treasures on the island, and was available when we needed her. Thanks for the bananas and advise JoAnne. We made breakfast every monring, explored all day, and came back at night for wine, stars, and the sounds of the jungle. Only thing that was strange for me was the misquito net. I turn a lot in my sleep and couldn't stay under that thing for the life of me. Loved the place, though, would definitely go back in a heartbeat, and makes me want to start looking at some of the other places that Mr. Hix designed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of Solaris. I think it was 4, the new one. Awesome! Killer view, beautiful room, etc...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks for the great review Brent! Casa Solaris has been receiving rave reviews since we opened last January, and it sounds like you made the most of your stay. Joanne and Radar both send their well wishes and want you to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My third visit to Vieques and, as before, couldn't imagine staying anyplace other than Hix Island House. While definitely not for everyone, I can't imagine any other hotel that better reflects the serenity and unique flavor of Vieques,

On this visit, we stayed in one of the upper lofts at Casa Solaris, the newest building at Hix. The room was spacious and well-accommodated in minimalist fashion. The trade winds blowing through the loft kept everything cool, comfortable and mosquito-free. Looking out over Esperanza and the Caribbean, the views from the room and loft deck were simply amazing. Hix is built for privacy and intimacy...something we were able to take full advantage of.

The staff is unobtrusive, but very service-oriented...both housekeeping and the front office were extremely responsive and helpful with their suggestions about what to see, where to eat, etc. while on the island.

Only suggestion I have is that they add compost pails in the guest rooms to extend the useful life of coffee grounds, eggshells, etc. All in all, however, Hix Island House is a truly unique experience and one of my favorite hotels in the world. Look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Look for a loft on the top floor of one of the buildings. The views are incredible and the trade win...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks for the great reviews and suggestions Michael! The views and breezes in Casa Solaris certainly are amazing. We noticed that right away during construction; as we built each floor they kept getting better and better. We are in the process of increasing our composting capabilities. We currently have composting set up for our landscaping, as we compost grass clippings, etc. In the coming year we'll have something specific to guests that wish to compost. Stay tuned...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We didn't know at all what to expect with our visit to Hix Island House. Immediately after checking-in, we started talking about staying an extra night. After a few hours we altered our plans and arranged to stay three nights instead of two.

The vision of John Hix took a remote part of Isle de Vieques and turned it into a fantasy destination. There are several buildings located on the property, each split into lofts. In the center of the property is a pool area. Around the property are fruit trees that guests can pick from. We picked papaya, lime and passion fruit. The rooms are stocked with juice, cereal, milk, coffee, tea and daily fresh-baked bread!

If you aren't open to the experience I can see where some people will have a tough time. You are in nature here. That is the point. You hear the coquis at night. You feel the breeze. You hear the rain. In the morning the sweet air is surrounding you. This also includes bugs, but we actually loved sleeping under the net. The Frette sheets and towels were extra-nice.

At night, when it's clear, the starts fill the sky. It's incredibly romantic. During the day you can easily explore the island, getting to Esperanza and Isabel II in under 10 min.

If you want to experience island living in a setting that evokes emotion and wonder, this is your place. If you want to be pampered and sealed off from the elements, don't stay here.

A couple of minor things that didn't tarnish our overall experience but we would like to see better for our return trip in the future:

1. A smoking area away from the lofts. The couple below us smoked. It was so disappointing to have smoke occasionally wafting into our room. It only happened rarely, but when it did it really ruined the moment. Why people come to a place like this to spoil it with disgusting smoke is beyond me. I would love to see management prevent this by maintaining a smoke-free area around the lofts and pool.

2. Better maintenance. We had a light out and a leaky sink. Not a big deal, but better upkeep to prevent guests from having to report things in the middle of the stay would make it even better. I'm giving Hix Island House a four of five for cleanliness only because of the leaky sink. House-keeping was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in loft 3, which we call "ours." Perfect size for a couple. Good view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Hix Island house in late September and we had an unforgettable time. I might even say it was the best vacation experience I've had. The staff is super friendly and super helpful. We were able to check in on time and since we visited Vieques at an "off" time, there were not many other people there. The architecture of the grounds is very impressive. It's like modern meets nature. The room had everything we needed and more. I have to agree with the other reviewers- wonderful view- wake up to the sunrise and sounds of nature... just amazing. We had fresh ingredients, so we cooked everyday - the bread was definitely my favorite. Even the shampoo and conditioner was great!

The pool is gorgeous - good size and plenty of chairs. Walk around, see horses, pick some fruit. I wish I could live there.

Don't be afraid that the room is open to nature, it adds to the experience. Everyone is quite and the bugs really were not that bad. There is an option to close yourself off from nature, but... don't be silly.

I would definitely return. Love love loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your review Kathryn. The photos are fantastic! We're glad you enjoyed the serenity and comfort of the Hix Island House, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here, awesome, awesome...did i mention how awesome it was (/is).... beautiful grounds, architecture is a nearly once in a lifetime experience to spend an entire 24 hour or more period living in. our room had EVERYTHING one would essentially and comfortably need. a fridge full of unopened essentials, a basket full of awesome fruits, a loaf of freshly baked bread, a fully equipped (basic) kitchen including pots, pans, knives, flatware and all sorts of drinkware. we did not use the pool facilities, but toured them. was like a tour of an abandoned 5 star hotel. beautiful but no guests. place had everything we could have wanted or asked for albeit a bar, lol. i guess we were here in the off season, we were the only ones on the grounds, and they upgraded us for nothing extra. free use of snorkell and beach gear too, year round i am guessing.

Room Tip: go in 2nd or 3rd weeks of september if solitude is what you desire
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thanks for the amazing review Robert! We're glad that you enjoyed our unique amenities, including your in-suite kitchen. We understand that not everyone eats breakfast at the same time, so we offer our guests their own kitchen, fully stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, milk, jam, fruit and homemade bread. We'll see you next September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
45.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $121 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing