We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O M G !! so worth everything and then some!”
Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hix Island House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“O M G !! so worth everything and then some!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here, awesome, awesome...did i mention how awesome it was (/is).... beautiful grounds, architecture is a nearly once in a lifetime experience to spend an entire 24 hour or more period living in. our room had EVERYTHING one would essentially and comfortably need. a fridge full of unopened essentials, a basket full of awesome fruits, a loaf of freshly baked bread, a fully equipped (basic) kitchen including pots, pans, knives, flatware and all sorts of drinkware. we did not use the pool facilities, but toured them. was like a tour of an abandoned 5 star hotel. beautiful but no guests. place had everything we could have wanted or asked for albeit a bar, lol. i guess we were here in the off season, we were the only ones on the grounds, and they upgraded us for nothing extra. free use of snorkell and beach gear too, year round i am guessing.

Room Tip: go in 2nd or 3rd weeks of september if solitude is what you desire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the amazing review Robert! We're glad that you enjoyed our unique amenities, including your in-suite kitchen. We understand that not everyone eats breakfast at the same time, so we offer our guests their own kitchen, fully stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, milk, jam, fruit and homemade bread. We'll see you next September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    33
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
12
217
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is just a gorgeous place!
We got to stay in the newest building they have and the view from the window (or shall I say "wall"? since it was one big open space) was just breath taking. Going to bed watching stars and being awaken by sun rise... Just amazing.

As other reviewer mentioned, it was like a camping for adult. It is a mix of camping and high-end resort.

They fill up your refridge with Juices, Milk, and fresh fruits and bring fresh baked bread everyday! We are amid chefs and having an access to the beautiful kitchen was a big plus too.

They lend you beach chairs, snorkeling gears, umbrella, and thermos bag all for FREE! I stopped by W resort and they were charging $30 a day for beach chairs and snorkeling gears...

Bugs at night freaked me out first night but I quickly got used to it. There is no A/C but you don't need it really since the building is designed so well and there are cool mountain breeze going thru the room almost all day/night long.

I can't imagine anyone who wouldn't love this place but I am sure there are a few peopel who are too chichi for this kind of place (and those people go to W, so there are places for everyone).

I can't wait to come back to Hix!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a higher room on the latest building or Rotunda building. The view is amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the review Hiro! Casa Solaris has been getting rave reviews ever since we opened it last year. We're glad you enjoyed your stay there, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at Hix and absolutely LOVED it. Everything you've read about the place, and more. Beautiful property, architecturally unique, friendly staff, great breakfast foods delivered to the loft each day, etc…That said, a few points of note;

- We spent two nights in Matisse (Casa Triangular), and two nights in Casa Solaris 4. They're VERY different. Triangular was built 20 years ago, Solaris was built last year. It's not necessarily that Triangular seemed old, it's just that John Hix's vision for the place seems to have evolved a lot in two decades. Matisse was intimate and private, with a lot of outdoor space and a roof deck, but no real bathroom (there's a WC and small shower), and not a lot of interior space. The Solaris loft on the other hand, was super dramatic, and almost urban industrial feeling, with Ikea furniture, an awesome bathroom, large outdoor shower, and a huge, airy main space. Oh yea, and Matisse has a queen bed, an electric cooktop, and a dorm sized fridge, while the Solaris loft has a king bed, a propane cooktop, and a full sized fridge…small details, but worth mentioning.

- The place is absolutely wonderful, but it's private. If you want to walk to town or the beach, if you want an onsite restaurant/bar, and/or if you want to socialize with other guests or locals, it might not be what you're looking for. Don't get me wrong, the other guests we ran into were perfectly friendly, but it's definitely a do your own thing kind of place. As for getting around, rent a vehicle. The island is large, it's hilly, the beaches are at least a few miles from Hix, and the two small towns on the island are a 15 minute drive away.

- Joanne, Sarah, and Liz at reception are awesome ladies, and they know their way around. Don't be afraid to ask them for restaurant suggestions, how to get to the beaches, or even just random stuff about Vieques. They were all extremely friendly and informative.

- Don't miss the pool. It's beautiful, clean, refreshing after a day at the beach, and at least while we were there, seemed pretty underutilized.

- The restaurants on the island are surprisingly good and diverse, but they're also expensive. The kitchens in the lofts are super functional and useful, and the supermarkets on the island are well provisioned. We made our breakfasts and lunches at Hix, and then went out for dinner.

- There are mosquito nets in the units, but we found them unnecessary. Despite the fact that the windows and doors are wide open to the outside, there were almost no bugs.

Guess that's about it. Go, you'll love the place…and you'll love Vieques!

Room Tip: - We spent two nights in Matisse (Casa Triangular), and two nights in Casa Solaris 4. They're VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, General Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend at Hix Island House for my birthday. The place is perfect for a couple getaway. Beauty of the place líes on the simple, yet elegant design. All accessories were from recognized brands and with great quality. Great service. Two recommendations: add a machine with healthy snacks and beverages and improve security at night time (a gate at the entrance should do good!)

Room Tip: Casa Solaris is the best! Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks for the advice and positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion here at HIH. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We took our first trip to Vieques in 2002 and fell in love with the island's beauty. It took us 10 years and 3 more trips to finally stay at Hix Island House, but it was absolutely worth the wait. I hadn't heard about the new building, Casa Solaris, until I made an inquiry about availability; once I read up on the building I knew that it was non-negotiable: we HAD to stay there.

We stayed in CS1, the top loft on the right side of the building. We had a healthy climb up the stairs every day but were rewarded with the most outstanding views of the Caribbean, Puertos Mosquito and Ferro, and the reserve on the east end of the island. We watched the sun rise from our bed every morning, and gazed at the millions of stars over our head every night from the back patio. The breeze at this level is essentially constant and we never had trouble with bugs near the sleeping area. A few flies liked to bother us in the kitchen area, where the air didn't circulate as briskly, but what are a few flies in paradise? We ran the ceiling fan a few times and I can't tell you how refreshing it felt to not feel guilty about wasting electricity!

We made delicious French toast from the local bread that was provided for breakfast, along with a tortilla española that we got from Buen Provecho. We ate in for a few lunches and dinners as well. The loft is stocked with beach chairs, a soft-sided cooler, and big beach towels that are replaced every few days. We used flippers and an enormous beach umbrella that we obtained from the office/front desk. The outdoor shower is luxuriously simple, and the solar-heated water gets nice and hot!

A few other guests rotated through the other lofts during our stay. Most of the time, we didn't notice them or hear them. One guest was particularly impressive. I sleep pretty deeply but his snoring reverberated off their concrete walls and floated up to our loft, managing to wake me up before my light-sleeping husband and keeping me up because I was giggling too much. Most of the time, we just heard the breeze and the cacophony of island birds. We were in absolute bliss.

We make every attempt to limit our consumption of nonrenewable goods and recycle as much as possible; the philosophy on which Casa Solaris was created suits our sensibilities perfectly. From the website, Casa Solaris is the "first all-solar Caribbean guesthouse that is entirely removed from the commercial electrical grid...Casa Solaris demands no burning of coal or oil, or atomic energy that in one way or another pollute our environment and our planet." We hope to build our own home some day and employ some of the environmentally sensitive technologies that were used in the Casa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We are a special place for special people, and so glad that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer. Thanks for the kind words and we look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We loved out how of the way the Hix was. Our visit to Vieques was a magical time and part of the reason is because the Hix is so unique. We loved waking up with the sun and looking out over the cement at the jungle beyond, taking showers in the open, spending all of our time in bathing suits, the fantastic warm bread every morning, the lovely colorful decor, and the friendly staff in the office. We hope to go back to Vieques some day and are keeping our fingers crossed that it stays as unspoiled as it is now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roguetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
It looks like you enjoyed HIH just as John Hix intended...enjoying the outdoor showers and contact with all the beauty that Vieques offers. Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our trip to both the "Big Island" of Puerto Rico and its beautiful neighboring island Vieques. We stayed for two nights in the Redonda loft at Hix House. This property is truly amazing and boasts spectacular views of the ocean from the hillside that it is located in central Vieques. The architecture is really unique, concrete modern style lofts that are all open air. I will say you should use the bug spray that they provide though the mosquitos are something fierce in those parts. You can hear the rainforest come alive around 5:00 am, which was a unique experience for me. All of the staff was very friendly and gracious. Every day our loft was stocked with fresh eggs, fruit, bread, coffee and juices. All you need to start your day, of lounging by their poolside or hitting the local beaches. I really did not want to leave this beautiful hideaway. Kudos to the Hix Island House.

Room Tip: We stayed in Loft 1 of the Redonda building. It was really big and their was a breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thanks for the review of Loft 1 in Redonda. It is one of our guests' favorites, often requested for Honeymoons and special vacations. We're glad you enjoyed it, and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,798 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Property: Hix Island House
Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hix Island House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing