We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful escape”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has no beach but it's in a quiet part of Vieques, about 3/4 mi. from Esperanza, and it has many offsetting advantages. It has beautiful views of the blue horizon, and from our room, #104, "Aurora," we could hear the surf pound the rocks 40 or 50 yards in front of us. The room was tastefully furnished, good size, nice ceiling fans in both the bedroom and the bathroom, with a wall unit air conditioner that we hardly used. The bathroom was large, with an especially large tiled shower (no tub). Also a small, shaded verandah with two comfortable wood chairs. The pool is new, infinity style, spotlessly clean, very pleasant although with little shade, so bring plenty of sunscreen.
We had breakfast, lunch and dinner outside on the verandah of the main building, again with lovely views out over the Caribbean. Service was good, food much better than average. We especially liked the sailor omelet, the penne with scallops, the whole fried red snapper, and we even tried the mofongo, which was large enough to feed half the Russian army, but quite tasty. We never had a bad meal and we felt the prices were fair. The bar is open air and very inviting. Excellent rum punches! I suppose it was the time of the year, but we were amazed that we never had mosquitos or other critters, besides the occasional harmless gekko.
We never had to wait for a table or settle for an inside table and never made a reservation; just showed up, sat down, gazed out over the sea, and ate well.
We waited too long to rent a car but that was a blessing in disguise, as it really isn't necessary unless you're committed to visiting all the beaches all the time. The office would call us a taxi whenever we needed one, they came quickly, and were surprisingly inexpensive.
We had one lunch in Esperanza, at Duffy's, which was good, but I doubt you'd eat better away from the Inn. We stayed 5 nights which was long enough to sample most items on the menu without repetition.
During the day, if we didn't go out somewhere, we'd read or check e-mail in the open-air living room, take naps, swim, drink rum punches. Most relaxing in every way.
We took Abe's kayak tour of the bioluminescent bay. Our kayak swamped and we went in the drink but one of the two very friendly guides pulled us back to the launch spot. It's well worth doing.
The Inn is no Ritz Carlton, it has its quirks, some of the furniture has seen better days, one of our towels had a hole in it, some of the cushions on the lounges at the pool had some mildew, but these are minor things in an otherwise very pleasant small hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degustibusnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    91
    35
    33
    40
See reviews for
31
242
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I recently had a big celebration to renew our vows at the Inn and were very happy with our experience. We rented all 11 rooms for our family members and stayed for 5 days. The service was excellent. The food at the restaurant is top notch, one of the best hotel restaurants we have come across in our many travels. For the party, they catered to our every need. Mayra, the manager, did all our table settings and flowers which turned out so beautiful. The site of the hotel is just gorgeous. The bar is excellent and bartenders Adam and Allie took total care of us, staying open late for us and taking care of our every need. I would recommend this venue for any vacation or special event on Vieques. I feel like they are family now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here March 2013 for one night. Another customer mentioned they stayed in the Josephina casita and that to consider it an ocean-front room was a stretch. I couldnt agree more. We were EXTREMELY disappointed to find out that we paid $400 (after taxes) for a room from which you could BARELY see the ocean, but had a nice view of the rear end of two other casitas. The management refused to budge on the price because we made reservations through a third party, and basically told us all the casitas were in the same category regardless of the quality of the view or proximity to the water. We had the option to change to a King standard room, but decided to stay in the casita because of the slotted windows/lanai. The irony is, we couldnt enjoy the breeze because the screens on all the windows were all pulled loose from the frames allowing mosquitos free access to our room. The toilet kept running every time it was flushed. We could hear the neighbors talking and showering. A burger and two drinks for lunch at the bar was $40. We couldnt even get a blended drink because the bar's only blender was broken. The grounds were not manicured well at all. In summary, this place is poorly maintained and the only thing it has going for it is the beautiful location. Certainly not worth $400 a night. The only reason they get away with that is because of the limited accomodations on the island, and when everything is booked except this hotel and the W, which is about $800/night, the options are pretty limited. I HIGHLY recommend that everyone see the biobay at least once in their life, but I can't say the same for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rees2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Inn on the Blue Horizon is like being in heaven, if heaven needed a deep cleaning and attention to a few details. I have wanted to stay at the Inn ever since they opened back in the 90’s. I’m always attracted to smaller hotels that offer a more unique experience and privacy. My partner and I stayed there from January 7th – 10th 2013. Originally we were going to stay a year earlier but my partner had to have emergency gallbladder surgery 2 weeks prior to our vacation. Needless to say we had to cancel our Puerto Rico vacation. The manager was very professional and agreed to rebook our reservation for this year. Upon arriving to the hotel you get a sense of being somewhere tropical, remote and private. A long dirt path from the main road brings you to the parking lot and the main buildings. There is no sign to direct you to the front office but it is fairly apparent where to go. We proceeded to check –in at the office. Ivana was working and assisted us in our check-in. Ivana was very pleasant and professional. She accompanied us to our room and gave us a tour of the facilities and the grounds. Unfortunately our room was not what I was expecting, a large bedroom with a king size bed, but it lacked the charm of the rooms featured in the website. It didn’t have any appeal, no antiques, no interesting art or décor. The bathroom was minuscule, like it was an afterthought. It had ocean views but regrettably unless you stood in front of the windows you wouldn’t see anything. To make things worse this room is next to the office and the public bathrooms for the bar & restaurant. There is the feeling of being exposed to everyone at the bar and at the office. The following morning Ginnette was working at the office so I asked her what other rooms were available so we could switch. Ginnette was very attentive, responsive and friendly. She allowed us to switch to one of the duplex villas, as long as we paid the difference in price, which we were more than happy to do so. We were given the Isabella room, the farthest room and closest to the water. Unlike our previous room, this room was very private and well appointed. The bed was comfortable enough, the air conditioner work well and the bathroom was adequate. The large bathroom window did not have a curtain so if someone was walking by, they would be able to see into the bathroom. I had to take a towel and hang it over the window so we could have privacy. The front porch was private and had a good view of the ocean. The room was clean overall but a few details weren’t so. The window screens were dirty and the window sill between the screen and the glass were covered with dead insects. Some of the windows had weeds growing inside and all the glass windows were soiled.
The grounds have the potential of being stunning. The views of the ocean and the surroundings are dramatic, but the landscape is neglected. The grass was overgrown upon our arrival but it was mowed the following day, but they never took care of the edges. The lack of attention to detail was evident all throughout the hotel. The infinity pool is impressive but the lounge chairs’ cushions are all stain with mildew. Table lamps at the bar were dusty and full of dead bugs.
The bar and Restaurant are open air and very attractive. The atmosphere is tropical and relaxed. Adam the bartender/ waiter was very polite and helpful. All of our meals at the restaurant were outstanding. Should you want a different option for dinner, I highly recommend El Quenepo in Esperanza on the malecon (esplanade). It’s expensive but worth it. By the way all the employees we encounter at the Inn were very helpful and professional, great costumer service.
We will come back and stay at the Inn on the Blue Horizon next time we are in Vieques. I just hope they will be more attentive to the small details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafeacevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Vieques over and over, but it had been some time since we'd had dinner. It was an intimate dinner with friends with great food, good wine, and a good wine list. The food was so good it was hard to understand why this place is so quiet.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The inn on the Blue Horizon was a wonderful first stop on our honeymoon. I adored the total seclusion and the roaming wild horses that grazed on the property. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was good but not delectable. The location was great- although they should really offer transportation to and from the place as you are pretty much stuck there unless you rent a vehicle, a bike, or call for a taxi- which doesn't always come.

For the rates the Inn charges per night, we should have definitely got more value for our money. More perks, more personalized housekeeping, more luxury. The rooms were simple but nice- but not $345/night nice.

I agree with the posters that it seems there is no management- there is certainly a lackadaisical vibe that affects the resort negatively considering most of their clients are well-bred, well-traveled, well-paid Americans. We had a great time, but were ready to leave after 3 nights at the Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwestartistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Travel warning. A substantial amount of cash was stolen from our locked in room safe. The key pad no longer worked and there was a key lock installed to the safe. There was no one around at check out, so we called from the airport. The gentleman who answered the phone acted very casual, as if this happens all the time. He said "I will talk to Adam and see if there's anything we can do". We never heard back.
Regarding the hotel itself, the grounds sit on a magnificent property overlooking the sea. The infinity pool was beautiful, until the last day, when a loud filter was put on the side of the pool for the entire day.
The restaurant had decent breakfast, and the bar was good, but the whole place had a feeling of faded glory. The grounds were overgrown and ill-kept. The room was broken down. The drawers in the dressers were falling apart. The bathroom was horrible. The mildew and grime in the shower was disgusting. Because this island is primitive and known for its beach life, we didn't expect "fancy", but this was bad.
We met up with friends in San Juan who were also staying at Blue Horizon. They told us that one day after housekeeping had been there, they went back to their room and two guys were in there. They assumed they were performing some kind of maintenance, but couldn't communicate with them.
The lack of security should be strongly considered befor booking a room here.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JerseyEdTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
5.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
46.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
20.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Property: Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Address: Carretera 996 Km. 4.3, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly Inn on the Blue Horizon)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our Restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Boutique Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing