We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private, Secluded and Serene Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Private, Secluded and Serene Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had a great experience staying at Inn on the Blue Horizon just outside of Esperanza in April 2011. The hotel was located just outside of the hustle and bustle of the town and was very peaceful and accomodating. You will definitely need a rental vehicle as the taxi service in Vieques is not very reliable (we had to wait for almost an hour at the airport, and no one showed up - NOTE: If you stay at the W., they offer a shuttle to their hotel)

The hotel was relatively easy to find, and the room we had was very nice (Josephina) - most rooms offered ocean views. The pool was beautiful, and chairs along the coast were very picturesque and nice to stargaze at night - Note: the beach at the hotel is down a steep slope and rocky, but the front office will provide beach chairs/umbrella/towels, and you will have a cooler in your room to take with you to some of the better beaches in the area (I would recommend Blue Beach or Red Beach for beautiful sand - approx 20-30 min from hotel in the Nature Reserve.

While the restaurant prices were a little spendy, the portions were large enough to share with your traveling partner if you were looking for a lighter meal. One downside: no coffee maker in the room, and the restaurant doesn't open until 8am if you like your coffee early before you get your day started.

Overall, Inn on the Blue Horizon has a lot to offer if you are looking for a more cozy, local feel. I would definitely stay here again. Note: they do have a hotel vehicle if you call ahead to reserve. You will need an SUV as the roads are not very well maintained, and most of the beaches are located down dirt roads with MANY potholes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OutsideTheBoxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear OutsideTheBoxTravel,

Thank you for your review and sharing your vacationing experience here at Inn on the Blue Horizon & Vieques Island. We really appreciate your comments and feedbacks.

A couple things have changed since your stay with us, we’ve equipped every room with their own coffee maker and gourmet Puerto Rican coffee by Yaucono; a set of beach chairs and beach umbrella, so no more first-come-first-served with these beach must have. We’ve chosen not to charge for these items thanks to feedbacks from guests like you. We continue to provide our guests with beach coolers and towels.

Once again thank you for your review and cheers!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    91
    35
    33
    40
See reviews for
31
241
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I were apprehensive having read some of the reviews, but had a wonderful time at the Inn on the Blue Horizon. The staff was welcoming and very nice throughout our stay. This is the most idyllic and serene place to escape to on Vieques. We stayed in a wonderful casita by the Ocean (Isabella) and relaxed from the moment we arrived until we left. The pool offers spectacular views and is very pleasant. While I agree the place could use a few upgrades, it did not take away from the overall experience. If you are looking for peace, quiet, privacy, and informal elegance, this is the place for you. If you are looking for glitz and excitement, head to the W. The Inn on the Blue Horizon has more the feel of being a guest in a wonderful private home than in a hotel. We did not opt to eat at the hotel because there are some great restaurants in Esperanza - notably El Quenepo and Orchideas. I do agree with another guest that it seems a bit mean to charge $3 for coffee. Having coffee and breakfast included in the rate of the room would make it an even better place to stay. Thank to the Inn for a lovely stay and we do hope to make it back!

Room Tip: Casita Isabella or Neptune in Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear ZenaRd,

Thank for you for sharing your experience at Inn on the Blue Horizon. Your review, recommendations and feedbacks are really appreciated.

Sorry to hear you opted not to dine at our restaurant, Carambola, An Island Restaurant; while there is no doubt that El Quenepo and the brand new Orchideas Restaurants are great choices, Carambola Restaurant is considered one of the best on the island and we sincerely hope you try us next time you visit.

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

This place charged us nearly $400 a night for a room with a bed that gave us both back aches. There was no coffee in the room and they charged over $3 for a cup of coffee up at the restaurant. There is really no beach to speak of and the whole place had an abandoned and neglected feel. We asked to speak with a manager only to be told that no one was around. When we checked out, we complained about our stay and they offered to take the charge for coffee off our bill.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShireenSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Ms. ShireenSanFrancisco,
Thank you for taking the time to review are hotel, we appreciate your feedbacks. Now I’ll like to take a moment to address the five (5) points of your feedbacks on this review.

Bed; had we been informed that the bed was giving you and your partner “back ache”, we would have gladly offer a pillow top or offer to move you to another room should one had been available. This was never brought to our attention. Our antique beds get their mattress replaced on a regular bases, some guests prefer softer pillow tops other harder mattress; we try to accommodate as many requests as possible which is why I’m surprise my Front Desk staff has no record of this complaint. High Season Rates at our Hotel range from $160 - $449 per night; there may have been more economical rooms that would have been a better match to your budget, but last minute reservations don’t get as many options.

It is our intention to supply complimentary gourmet coffee to all our guests in their rooms, which is not the norm on the island of Vieques. Unfortunately, we have not been able to provide this type of free amenity due to supplier distribution issues. This has taken about six month to resolve, but we continue to work on this and are confident that soon enough we’ll have that free amenity back. Our restaurant Carambola charges $3 for unlimited coffee. This compares to local restaurants where the charge of $1.75 for self-served and one cup refill. Our guest may enjoy their coffee at the restaurant, lounge area, sun deck or even on your private balcony for the same cost.

Yes, although we are ocean front, the cost is a rocky shore and we currently don’t have a swimming beach. We never advertised the contrary, but Vieques best beaches are located within the Fish & Wildlife Refuge which is why we encourage having a rental car or means of transportation.

About the abandoned and neglected comment; we are saddened to hear this kind of feedback. We all at Inn on the Blue Horizon are always working on and taking care of all of the looks and designs of our lovely property and its grounds; we know that times change and peoples taste vary…

In regards to your “there was no manager around” comment; it’s kind of puzzling because we are currently fully staffed and there is always a Supervisor or Manager on property that could have taken action on your complaint; if you were told otherwise then we apologize.
It puzzles us why if you complaint about the total cost of your stay and us “nickel & diming” you for everything, then why did you not accept the offer to take those charges off at time of check-out? Our Front Desk Supervisor offered that in good faith, even though we are one of the few hotels on the island that do offer that free amenity. Instead, you were ill-mannered and wouldn’t care to hear what he had to say when he was honestly trying to assist you and perhaps offer some kind of compensation. Instead, you chose to be rude and storm out of the office.

We are nevertheless saddened that you had such experience from our hotel; we sincerely hope that you left at least with good memories of Vieques and the people of our beautiful island.

Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

You'll be well rewarded if you manage to reach this hotel. If you choose to take the ferry from Fajardo, the publicos (taxis) that greet you will attempt to herd you into their vans like cattle to make sure they get the most fares they can out of the ferry travelers.

Once you reach the hotel, your stressful travel experience will immediately melt away. The hotel is right on the water, and the only thing you hear from the hotel grounds is the breeze and the occasional roaming horse on the premises.

The rooms themselves are something out of a James Bond movie, with sheer white sheets blowing slowly with the breeze from your villa's windows. The beds are extremely clean and the staff will make your stay as comfortable as they can. The restaurant on site is very good, but not so great if you're looking for local cuisine or just a quick cheap bite.

If you choose not to get a rental car, make sure you leave ample time while using the publicos for travel to and from the airport/ferries. The publicos operate to make money, and will gladly lose your fare if camping out at the ferry dock will guarantee them more money. Also, the hotel is not located in any town, so getting to Esperanza will require you to walk about 20 minutes, or a publico.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmankad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear dmankad,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review an share your experiences at our beautiful hotel and island. We really appreciate your feedbacks.

Although we encourage our guests to fly from San Juan Area for how convenient and hassle free it is (20-30 minute flight), the ferry is an alternative especially to those spending some time at the rainforest - El Yunque, Luquillo beach & kiosk areas, Las Croabas or even Palmas del Mar (East Coast of Puerto Rico). Once aboard, you’ll be in Vieques within the hour for just $2 each way on a beautiful and relax ferry ride.

We encourage renting a car for the duration of your stay in Vieques, but also using Publicos (taxis) whenever possible; this is a little that can do a whole lot for the local economy. They come in extremely handy when you’ll like to spend a night in town without having to worry about driving back home.

Publico fares start at $5pp from the Ferry or Airport to the hotels and most car rental agencies, and $15 per couple by appointment from hotels. During peak travel times, patience is a virtue and you’ll be rewarded if you decide to wait for the next round of publicos at Al’s Mar Azul, El Cayo Blanco or Mamasonga’s…

Even though we are located a 20-minute walk from Esperanza (Malecon Area), many of our guests choose not to have a rental car. If that’s the case, we would work with you booking publicos in advance or even a driver for the entire duration of your stay.

Once again thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I'll keep this review short. We booked our trip to Vieques at the very last minute and I feel so lucky that we found the Inn on the Blue Horizon. Our room/bungalow, the setting, pool, views, lounge areas, adirondack chairs on the bluff, and wild horses --- all of it made for an absolutely perfect getaway. I fell in love with Vieques and hope to stay here again on my next trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear thehob,
Thank you for your review, your feedbacks are greatly appreciated.

We probably spoke of the wild horses while you stayed with us, as you may know; it’s hard to keep them off the property. They’re getting smarter and always manage to find their way in… They are a Vieques trademark and we’re glad you liked them!

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Grate view but if you are up for activities and beach experience then you need to rent transportation as the inn is 20 mins. away from nearby restaurants and bars were you can mingle. Don't get me wrong, the service is good but besides a bar there are no everyday activities sponsored besides taking a swim in the pool. There is no bathing beach. If you wish to go to the beach you need a drive and the inn has no shuttle (which I recomm. specially at night). But if you intend to relax and rest without TV, radio, etc., although the facilities need maintenance and refurnishing, this is the place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaisA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear BaisA6,
Thank you for your review, feedbacks and recommendations are always welcome and appreciated.

We have one of the best locations on Vieques Island, what makes up part of the charm is the fact that we are not in the center of El Malecon Area. This makes a difference especially when retrieving for the night or day at our retreat resort. We definitely recommend renting a car, especially to the active traveler for which a publico schedule may not be a good match. There are also driver for hires available on the island which worked out really well with past guests.

We’re glad to hear you liked the service you experience while staying with us; that’s what we like to thrive on.

Many Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

It would be hard to find a more beautiful situation for a vacation hotel. The property is lovely and the staff is very friendly. But this is not enough for a hotel, especially one that is priced at this level. We heard from locals that new management has not been maintaining the property in the same way its original owners once cared for it.

The furniture and decorative pillows in the room were so filthy, I could not bear to touch them, or even sit on the chairs. The room smelled of a damp funk and was not very clean. The bathroom sink drain was mostly plugged. Burnt out bulbs and broken iron, along with other evidence of sloppy maintenance. Perhaps worst of all, we did not sleep at all. The mattress was so old and creaky and I woke with my legs covered in small red bites that still have not gone away. I wanted to believe they were mosquito bites but that is not the case.

It's a terrible shame. This place is so beautiful. It deserves the investment of careful maintenance and new furnishings in the rooms (at least the one I stayed in).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackenzie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear mackenzie17,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences. We’re sorry to hear we didn’t quite meet your expectations. However, thanks to feedbacks like your there’s been changes made and corrective action taken. Although we are not under new management, we do take pride in taking care of our hotel according to the owner’s original vision.

To address your valid points, dirty pillows and/or furniture are unacceptable and we apologize if this was the case during your stay. We can assure you that we’ve since taken measures to tighten our Housekeeping staff and maintenance team.

About the room smell, we’re extremely sorry you experience this. Here in the tropics we like to refresh every room prior to any guest arrival, due to the humidity and heat; rooms that spend the day completely seal-locked do acquire funky smells.

About the bed, we replaced mattresses on a regular basis and are sorry that you didn’t find your bed comfortable enough. Often our guests inform us of how they would prefer the firmness of the bed and we’ll make every attempt possible to comply with mattress tops, covers or by removing such. As far as the bites on your leg, we can assure you that if they occurred here, they must have been mosquitoes.

Once again we’re sorry if your experience at our hotel wasn’t up to your expectations and really thank you for your feedbacks and comments.

Best,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
5.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
46.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
20.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Property: Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Address: Carretera 996 Km. 4.3, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly Inn on the Blue Horizon)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our Restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Boutique Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing