We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the Tradewinds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trade Winds Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 32 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I loved the Tradewinds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2005

We arrived on 12/2/05 to the Tradewinds and were welcomed with open arms. We were brought to an adorable little "Casita" in the back of the restaurant. It had 2 queen beds, a small refrigerator and bathroom. There was an air conditioner and ceiling fans. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. After settling in we went to check out the restaurant and asked if we needed reservations and they told us that they would be sure to accommodate us when we were ready to eat. The waitstaff was amazingly friendly. I felt like I was part of the family. By day 2 we were helping ourselves to coffee in the morning and looking over the Malecon at the beautiful views. The lady(Terry) in the gift shop called Bio-Bay and set up a tour for us. When we went swimming they provided us with the nicest fluffy beach towels. We fell in love with the staff at the restaurant, David (the chef) is a genius, we had pasta, seafood, filet mignon everything was good. Cathy, Dominique, Dottie, Cindy, Nuggett all were excellent. There were all so hospitable that we rarely ate anywhere else. We did try Becky's " La Dulce Esperanza" Pizza, breakfast sandwiches and homemade pastry that is out of this world. We had such a great time there that we were planning our next trip before we even left this. This was THE place to stay if you go to Vieques.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bellie_Bejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    57
    36
    20
    15
See reviews for
36
73
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2005

As a few others writing these reviews me and my family did not stay there but did attempt to eat there as it was recomended by some other folks. We spent thanksgiving weekend in Vieques and were trying to find a place to eat for thanksgiving dinner. At about noon we went there and asked if they would be serving thanksgiving dinner and the waitress said, "I dont know what were serving at this point." And abruptly walked off in the other direction. Other people we met on the island told us they had the same treatment when they called to see if they could make a reservation for dinner. I understand how sometimes a busy weekend can make things difficult but to take it out on the people who you are there to help is off. I hope they notice the reviews us travelers have made and attempt to correct their horrible attitudes in an effort to make everyones trip that much better.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla de Vieques hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2005

Well, we didn't stay at this hotel because of the negative reviews that I read on this website. We did however eat dinner there the first night. The restaraunt has a great view of the water from most of the tables. The food is way overpriced. We had great service durring our meal until we were finished eating. We had just finished our meal and the waitress cleared our plates. We were sitting there enjoying our view finishing our glasses of wine when the waitress came back to our table and told us we would need to move to the bar to finish our drinks because she had to seat someone who was waiting for our table. I was sooooo shocked. I have never ever been asked to move from my table. We had just spent $75 on a meal for 2 people and were told to move from our table into the bar! Well, I am extreemely glad that we did not stay at this hotel. Go down to the Casa Alta Vista to stay the night. They are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2005

On an island with only 10,000 people you are bound to run into lodging problems. This guest house was clean, but had no TV and no bathing supplies were given to you. Good thing I brought my own soap and shampoo.

It was very close to the beach, but very far away from Media Luna and the ferry, and the taxis don't run early in the morning. If you stay in this area, make sure you make arrangemnts with a private taxi to get you in the morning for the earliest ferry. We had to be up at 5:45 am to catch the ferry.

Vieques is beautiful but you need to plan accordingly. Rent a jeep while you are there to avoid traveling issues. If you want a nice place to crash, be prepared to shell out more money at the wyndam resort...every other place in Vieques is a guest house.

Helpful?
5 Thank N_Y_Mom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

I have just returned from a few days at the Tradewinds Guesthouse in Vieques and have to concur with many of the users' comments concerning the owners of this establishment.

My room was fine (albeit dark) and was kept clean by the housekeeping staff. In fact, most of the staff (the housekeeping, the restaurant staff) were nothing but pleasant. It is the owners whose attitudes and treatment of guests are galling. The user who commented that the owners behave as if guests are interupting THEIR vacation hit it right on the head. The owners, a couple from Massachusetts, make no attempt to be friendly (despite the fact there are only about 10 rooms), treat questions and requests for suggestions as annoyances. In fact, once they hand you the keys, no further efforts are made.

I spoke to fellow travellers staying at other guesthouses in Esperanza and heard no stories to rival the indifference of the Tradewinds.

Let's hope these folks move back to New England and sell the place to someone who cares about service.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2005

We just spent one night at Trade Winds. It was ok but I wouldn't recommend it. As others have said, our room was kind of dirty- not awful, but not terribly clean. The shower was cold and weak- I guess they are having a water problem on the island, but a different hotel had strong, hot water. It really wasn't a HORRIBLE room, but the price was a bit high for what it was. And the staff wasn't very friendly, either. We arrived five minutes before check-in time, and asked very nicely if the room was ready, saying that if it wasn't we'd be more than happy to either stow our bags somewhere, or come back later. Well, you would have thought we asked them to give us a kidney! We are pretty easygoing and used to staying in hostels, but I thought the attitude was a bit much for the room we got. It's not SO awful- if you can't find a room elsewhere, it's workable- but look elsewhere first. And yeah- the roosters are not a good bonus.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

Let's get the basics out of the way - this place is tiny. It's the bare basics. But then we aren't the kind who spend time IN the room all day anyway. I was actually glad they don't have a TV in there.
It's probably a bit pricey for the amenities it provides.
But being the planner that I am, this is the only place that accepted reservations for a single day - most other places required either that we walk in and try our luck or reserve for 2-3 days!

The lady during check in told us that we were glad not to have arrived a few days earlier... that's when they were lugging gallons of water to the rooms since they had water pressure problems. Our shower was barely enough to wash the salt and sand off after a long day with Golden Heron eco tours - the mangrove kayaking, snorkeling biobay tour.

It was conveniently located across the road from our rendezvous point with
Elena (from Golden Heron). That's a plus!

The restaurant upstairs is really good. Two of the ladies who were running the show were ex-MA residents so when she asked me how were doing in the drinks 'depahtment', we shared some stories about the Boston winter this year. The bartender working the late shift was really helpful when we returned from our trip to be told that most publicos don't run really early in the morning - 7 AM - for our flight back to Fajardo. He gave us contact numbers, talked to a couple of ladies who knew people and told us that our best bet was calling the publico drivers early in the morning. We did, and anticlimactically had two publicos drive by the guest house before the one that we called arrived.

The drive to the airport or the ferry (which is on the other side of the terminal) is about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamboyan
Flamboyan
#6 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Guesthouse

Property: Trade Winds Guesthouse
Address: 107 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the south side of Vieques, Esperanza fishing village is the place to be. Since 1984, Trade Winds - within walking distance of beaches and restaurants - has offered affordable rooms, a congenial atmosphere, popular bar and fine restaurant specializing in Caribbean lobster. All rooms are air-conditioned, non-smoking and most have shared terraces. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served al fresco overlooking the tranquil harbor. Easy access to biobay tours makes Trade Winds the savvy choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trade Winds Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing