We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your Nickels and Dimes” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring Your Nickels and Dimes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Vieques is a beautiful island and you should definitely come see it. With that is mind here is what you need to know about the W: This hotel was a Wyndham in a previous life and it shows depite the recent overhaul. This is not even close to a 5 star hotel. The primary issue is the lack of service and unwillingness to assist with anything! In addition, expect bouts of no hot water in rooms, broken ac's, and unheated pools. In addition I have never been so nickel and dimed in my life. 5 dollars for filtered tap water in the hotel lobby, 32 dollars per person (before tax/tip) for breakfast buffet, and then of course the 65 dollar a day resort fee. I can go go on and on but I won't. This is not your typical W and keep in mind that I am the last person to ever waste time writing a review of ANYTIHING! Nuff said.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waldo372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    439
    202
    98
    55
See reviews for
276
958
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I realize sites like this suffer from negative bias. However, if I can save one person from going to the W Vieques it's worth violating my aversion to complaining.
If you want to get away and go somewhere that isn't spoiled: Vieques has gorgeous beaches, and fresh spiny lobsters, cool people and no crime. However, hanging at the W you'll feel more like you're in their Lexington Avenue, NY flagship - WITHOUT the quality of service. You'll be on the rough Northern facing part of the island amongst the very people you went on vacation to leave behind amid a system that CANNOT DELIVER the level of service that 7 or 8 grand a week can buy.
I would never waste a week there and I hope you don't!
Best,
J

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budgaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

The W is a beautiful, friendly guest-centered hotel. Even with tennis, pools, & a decent workout room there's not a lot to do. We were there for 3 days and the two beaches were closed all 3 days. The beaches on the Atlantic side of the island were too rough. I you can't go and do "ocean things" - kayaking, snorkeling, etc. - hanging at the pool is about the best you can do there. For what it costs to stay there - and eat and drink there - it's not a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jswan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

This hotel is a disaster. The food is not edible and the service is nice but completely incompetent. One day when it was raining, they were unable to find us an umbrella and all of the carts were out of charge. The rooms were beautiful, but lacked any sort of lighting. The television did not work the entire trip and the Internet, while advertised as high speed, was painfully slow. Restaurants are not accommodating to food wants and the concierge and front desk answer questions incorrectly that they do not know the answers to. Overall, I would never ever come back here and would not recommend that you do either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zkempner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Let me start by saying im a well traveled New Yorker...I'm tough on service and amenities, and can be quite hard to please at times. That said, I give this place Must Go Status if you are looking to chill in the caribbean in a chic but not pretentious atmosphere. Regarding some of the negative posts...I think they are likely just negative people in general....

From the moment you arrive at the W Airport Lounge you know that you're in good hands...warm greeting, cold adult beverages, chill music, snacks and plenty of comy furniture to sink into.
Moving on...Once I arrived at the property the atmosphere was inviting, yet hip. The Front desk/Ambassadors quickly arranged for a brief tour and then off to the room, which was designed in W Fashion; all the bells and whistles...most comfortable bed ever. To our delight they hooked us up with a Great view of the pools and Ocean (Gracias Edison!).

Food was quite good, probably best on the Island and inline with the prices of the other top tier restaurants in Vieques. Service was always great, even when busy they did things right. I must to give a shout out to our breakfast server Angie B, she was awesome..service with a HUGE SMILE.

The property was stunning, two infinity pools (3rd secret one), two beaches, two tennis courts, fire pit, and many great places chill and watch sunsets.

There was a slight hicup as can be expected anywhere in the caribben, and MGMT took care of it with class and professionalism.

Jonathan Heath (GM) runs a smooth operation, is an asset to the Hotel and Island as a whole.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillaFromManilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

The property is beautiful, as are the views. But the hotel has only 1 restaurant . . and the rest of the island offers few other choices. The beach at the hotel is below average, which requires you to drive to the nice beaches (assuming rental cars are available). The nice beaches have no services available. Hot water in my building often required a repair call . . . and was never permanently fixed during my 5 day stay. Excellent for those seeking a RETREAT. If you want excitement, dining options or a beautiful beach at the property . . . this place is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David46772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the W in Vieques. The management was so kind and personable. We stayed there 10 nights and wanted to stay forever. The manager Joe knew we were on our honeymoon and gave us a dinner at the restaurant and champagne in our room with chocolate covered strawberries on the house! Saying that the W is gorgeous in Vieques is an understatement. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

Also, we were at the W during the Taste of the Carribean and it was a $100 a ticket to try top-chef's cuisines from all over the islands. It was amazing. If you can go to Vieques during this time, you will have a blast!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanleytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing