We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“W spa hotel Vieques, PR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a beautiful island and The W has a perfect spot to enjoy it. This hotel is on a bluff, with easy access to the water. The hotel offers fins and masks to all. There is a perfect spot for sunset and they provide a "sunset sip" rum drink to help celebrate the evening. Coffee/tea urns are in the lobby each morning. A perfect place to sip your wake up drink and view the calm waters. The lobby is open and inviting. The whole hotel is a bit on the dark side. This lighting is intentional.
The staff is outgoing and friendly. There are hard packed sand/pebble paths between buildings and around the resort. There are small steps on many of them. It is tough to navigate in a wheelchair, but not impossible. The room we stayed in was handicap accessible, the shower open and inviting. A double shower with chair, bars, and would fit a wheelchair. It was very clean. The view over the pool and of the ocean was spectacular.
The food at the outdoor cafe by the pool was fantastic. We had hamburgers, quesadillas and ceviche. The drinks were strong, tasty and a good variety were offered. A poolside waitress was always available and friendly. They also offered a large pitcher of ice water at any time. A very nice and appreciated touch in a tropical climate.
There was a cross section of people from families with little kids to couples of all ages.
Wild horses graze freely. Lizards and Coqui frogs are everywhere. The sound of the coqui lulls you to sleep each night.
We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. It was pricey.

Room Tip: Our room was over the pool. There was music playing, but not loud. The view of the ocean beyond th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed experience with us!
It is great to learn you had such a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the W Vieques for four nights in March and we had an absolutely incredible time. As a gay couple, we found the resort and the entire island to be LGBT friendly. The resort was very chic, yet totally casual (shorts at dinner are fine). The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff was very attentive and great - especially the concierge and front desk. The beaches were great with lots of water rentals included in the resort fee. The only suggestion I would give to the hotel is to install dressers so there's a place to unpack your clothes (we had to live out of our suitcases on the floor). But this is a minor shortcoming that was more than made up for by the wild horses roaming the property and the complimentary cocktail of the day at happy hour! The hotel was cosmopolitan while also being extremely casual - which is a hard balance that they successfully pull off. It's great for a long weekend, a week long stay or even a honeymoon.

And, as amazing as the hotel is, you would do yourself a disservice if you didn't get out and explore the island. Rent a car to go to the spectacular and secluded beaches in the wildlife refuge which used to be a testing site for the US Navy. And, despite being very secluded and undeveloped, there's a surprising number of high end restaurants which are very accessible by taxi.

Getting there is a bit tricky, but we read posts on Trip Advisor recommending taking a taxi from the international airport to the tiny Isla Grande airport near downtown that is primarily used by locals. We did just that and found that the flights there were about half the price and the taxi only cost $20 each way. We heard other guests say the ferries where chaotic but we may give them a try next time if we are feeling adventurous.

Overall, it was an amazing retreat from a cold and harsh northeast winter and we are so glad we went. We plan on making this an annual trek since it was truly a perfect vacation. I definitely recommend the W Vieuqes and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Welcome,

We are so excited to read you describe your experience as one of your best vacations ever!
Thank you for sharing your amazing stay, I am happy to read you enjoyed the grounds as well as the added perks that come with the retreat experience.


We look forward to having you and our partner back,

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The W Retreat and Spa Vieques is the perfect blend of luxury and relaxation---the property is stunning, the ocean-facing rooms are beautiful and the staff is wonderfully accommodating. The pool area is incredible--but the real beauty of Vieques are the various beaches. Get yourself into a jeep and explore the diversity of offerings. After a day of sun and fun, returning to W for sunset and cocktails around the fire pit is the exclamation point to a perfect day!

Only a 20-minute flight from San Juan, Vieques is an undiscovered treasure--and to have a chic but oh-so laid- back property to stay is a dream come true....STELLAR GETAWAY!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience!
I am thrilled to learn you found the retreat to be the perfect blend of luxury and relaxation, as that is exactly the message we are looking to convey.
We couldn't agree more, Vieques Island is a magical place, definitely worth exploring! I am glad you had the opportunity to discover the many pristine beaches that surround the retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Best Wishes,
Greg White -- GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I absolutely loved this resort. It exceeded my expectations. The grounds are so beautiful and the entire resort is just very nicely done. We upgraded to the ocean front room which I recommend. Waking up to a view of the ocean is amazing. The room was nice and the bed was SO comfy! The service was impeccable, as soon as we walked out of the airport they were there to pick us up! Very friendly. Actually, everyone on the island seemed to be friendly. We only stayed at the resort for a pool/beach day once because we wanted to explore, but the pool bar is great and their food was good! We came back to the pool bar for a cocktail and app after every day out. There is music underwater in the pool which is super cool!The hotel is very romantic. Black beard being there is very convenient, you can rent chairs and coolers for your beach days and snorkel masks which are free. My only complaint is the tub in our room had rust marks on it which kind of grossed us out so we didn't use it and it takes up a large portion of the room so I think it would be better if they just didn't have a tub. Also, the toilet door is very minimal so make sure you are close with whoever your staying with! Well, my only other complaint is the food at Sorce is horrible and the service is even worse. I hope they get that together. We had breakfast there and it was horrible, even the fresh fruit was bad and they take FOREVER. So avoid that, but the cafe is great! We loved Vieques and this resort and want to take our friends back with us next time!

Room Tip: If your looking for quiet I would avoid the pool view rooms. Our ocean front was a corner room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience with us. I am thrilled to read you are ready to come back! I appreciate your compliments to the talent and I will make sure to pass along how valuable their contribution was to making your stay a memorable one.

I am grateful for your feedback regarding food and service in Sorce, rest assured we strive to provide the highest quality in service in all aspects of the experience and I will make sure to look into the matters you address to ensure this doesn't occur again in the future.

We look forward to having you back,

Best Wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife, son and I spent 1 week of our spring vacation here on Viques Island at the W hotel and could not be more pleased.
The Room: Upon checkin we were upgraded to one of the spacious garden view suites. While the room came with only a partial ocean view (Villa 15) it suited our needs just perfectly. The living room served as the perfect bedroom for our infant and afforded us some quiet time to sleep in our spacious bedroom. We cleared the fridge to make room for food for our son's food without a single complaint from the hotel staff (we will restock the fridge before we leave and hop[e note to incur a penalty)
The Service: AMAZING!!! From the staff at the airport lounge to the bartenders by the pool to the receptionists at the front desk there was nothing more that we could have wanted.
The Property: GORGEOUS! The pools were perfect. The horses wandering the premise added a touch to this Caribbean retreat that I've never experienced. The exterior of the rooms need some updating but it wasn't a big deal.
The Restaurants: I'd have to agree with the previous posts - the restaurants on campus left a lot to be desired.
The Cost: Reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience with us!
We are excited to read you and your family enjoyed your time at the retreat. I will make sure to pass your kudos along to the talent who ensured your stay was so memorable, I am sure they will be thrilled.

We hope to have you back with us very soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

No words to explain how wonderful this hotel is and the great service offered by every employee! My favorite is Leo that always treats us like family! The food is awesome too and the passion fruit mojitos are OUT OF THIS WORLD! Third time in this beatiful place and will definitely be back! Thanks W....don't want lo leave!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jossie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
We feel honored to read you have chosen the retreat as your holiday destination in three occasions.

I will make sure to extend your positive comments to Leo, who will be thrilled to learn his contribution was so valuable in making your experience unique.

We hope to have you back soon!

Best Wishes
Greg White- General Manager
W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had an incredible 5 days of much needed relaxation. The resort design is set up to provide maximum views of the ocean and amazing sunsets. The pool was beautiful also overlooking the ocean. Attentive staff, attractive rooms, pleasant spa, great gym. Vieques is not the place to go for high activity but if you are looking to chill out this is the place. We stayed in villa 8 with views of the pool and ocean and easy access to the main house where one could dine, sip morning coffee, read books, play games, shoot pool or just relax with an after dinner drink by the firepit. The food was just average but I loved this place and highly recommend it. The only detraction was the concierge preparedness. We were sent on a tour of the bio bay and not advised that there wasn't anything to see because of all of the recent rain. We were also advised to arrive earlier than necessary so it was a waste of an evening I would have better spent at the resort and money I could have spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: villas 7 and 8 on the top floor have great views of pool and ocean. the villas on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ti727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you very for your sharing your experience with us.
I am thrilled to learn your stay was so enjoyable and that you had the opportunity to truly relax.

I will certainly look into the matters you mention regarding the services provided by concierge, as we strive to ensure every portion of the experience at the Retreat goes above and beyond guest expectations.

We hope to have you back soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White- GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,261 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Address: State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC-1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico (Formerly W Retreat & Spa Vieques)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $266 - $946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island is a resort in Puerto Rico that provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing