We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway for a lovely vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This turned out to be a lovely short mini-vacation as a treat from my husband for my "biggie" birthday. I have been taking him to a different island for HIS birthday for over 25 years and he travels to Puerto Rico on business quite a lot, but we had never been to Vieques.

Everything was quite good at the hotel -- as you've read previously, the grounds are picturesque, horses roam on property, everything is well manicured. You have your choice of two beaches -- one touted as family, one as "european" (adults only). We went to the family beach as it was closer. (As a matter of note, there weren't many children at the hotel overall; and none on the beach the days we went). The pools are shallow -- only 4 feet deep -- but perfect for a quick rinse. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas, etc etc.wherever you choose to sit. And servers come around frequently if you are looking to eat or drink something from your lounge chair.

The hotel room was spacious. Large king bed. I particular loved the huge tin bath tub. Separate stall shower. The only negative, at all, might have been that the amenities weren't replaced right away, but other than that very minor quibble, everything worked fine. In fact, the air conditioning and ceiling paddle fan were too cool at times.

The food was quite good; surprisingly so based on reviews -- ate at Sorce for one dinner and had 3 lunches -- 2 at the pool bar and one in the lobby when we arrived. Service at all meals was friendly and aiming to please. (I've done a review under restaurants).

Concierges were all very helpful. They can arrange dinner reservations, taxis, answer questions, etc etc.We had a couples massage one day -- delightful -- loved the relaxing sound of the ocean waves while having the massage.

The best asset of the resort? The people! We spoke with the servers, quite a bit of the staff -- everyone from front desk to people at the shops. Many ex-pats now on island were from places we'd lived or been to or knew. Kudos to Edison Fernandez in reservations who was so helpful pre-planning our trip. And to Yamil at the pool bar,who just beamed with personality plus while serving lunch. Front desk staff very good as well -- sorry didn't get names.

Also should mention the W lounge at the airport -- smooth coming and going. Loved the cool washcloths and fruit juices. Stock up on quick drink(sodas and one with rum, too!) prior to going to the hotel or hang out while waiting for your plane...

Some tips to make your stay the best:
--Before you go, sign up for Starwood Preferred guest status. It's free and may help with an upgrade. Plus you'll get points for a future trip.
-- Take a package trip that at least includes breakfast. (Our "romance" package also included a 3-course dinner, and a discounted couples massage.)
--Make sure you stop by the lobby bar between 6 and 6:30 pm every night. They have a special drink featured each evening (it changes each day) and it's free during those hours.
--Make reservations to the top restaurants in advance. Either call from home or have the concierge assist you. Restaurants change their opening/closing days at whim on island so make sure you verify (and confirm) your reservations.
--At the concierge desk, you can find sample menus of various restaurants. Different concierges have their favorite places so get a composite view if you're not sure.
--Lunch at the hotel can be at the beach, the pool bar, or by the side of your lounge. Some entrees are large enough to share. Perfect if you don't feel like going off property.
--Watching pennies? The local brew is Medalla. It's only $5. Look for happy hour drinks and 2 for one beer specials.
-- Expect taxes/service charges on everything -- even "free/package included" items and you won't be disappointed. (Suggested service charge is 18-20% btw).
--Remember, all food, etc., on island has to be imported/shipped in and there is a cost to that. Anyone who has stayed an ANY W hotel or upscale property in a MAJOR metropolitan area has paid similar prices. Please take that into account before you come and plan accordingly.
--Taxis are only $5 per person. Please tip (I was embarassed that some travellers didn't). So if you're planning on drinking at dinner or only on island for a short time, a car isn't absolutely necessary (or safe) the whole time or even at all.

Happy to answer anyone's questions.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for a better view and a little more privacy as long as you don't mind clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdvicePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Welcome,

We are thrilled to learn the talent had such a valuable contribution in the creation of an amazing experience! Thank you for your wonderful comments in such detail, I will make sure to extend your kudos to the team.

It is great to learn you and your husband enjoyed the island as well as the retreat.

We hope to have you back in paradise soon!

Best Wishes
Greg white- GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for a few days in the middle of January. And what a lovely place it is, truly paradise. The staff were very friendly, nothing appeared too much trouble. The food was excellent. Sadly I was here on a work related retreat, I say sadly as I would have loved to have shared the experience with my wife. I will be back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricVonBarnstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Welcome,

We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay in paradise!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

Hopefully we will be welcoming soon.

Best wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a great hotel for a quick escape from the cold. We stayed here with our two children for 3 nights in January. Perfect temperatures. The hotel has a great set up with two large pools and all the rooms have ocean views. The beach is just a short stroll from the pools. What really lets this place down is the poor quality of food, lots of fried and cheap ingredients but charging exorbitant prices for them. The service is really slack too and taints the entire stay. Vieques is a great island with some good restaurants, (The Next course our fav), so either get a taxi or rent a car (another exorbitant price at $85 PD)

Room Tip: Ask for the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardspalding1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
It is great to read you enjoyed the grounds at the Retreat.

I am sorry to hear the food did not exceed your expectations. As part of the continuous efforts to improve, we have implementing new offerings, showcasing local flavors, organic ingredients and in-house grown produce.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is very relax (villas), perfect for a few days away with someone you love! very romantic. Visited on September 2013 for 3 days, also have a private topless beach...cool, very nice view to the ocean, few pools, and many attraction. The service team was amazing and the people were kind and lovely. definitely I will go back in near future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mildred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.
I am happy to read you had the time to relax and enjoy a romantic escape at the Retreat.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We visited twice, once in September for 2 days to scope it out - Amazing stay

the second time for our wedding:

WOW WOW WOW, what an AMAZING experience we had at the W Retreat & Spa Vieques

It's not an all inclusive (which is what we wanted) and definitely worth the money.

WE LOVED and savoured every moment of our wedding and our stay at the W! from the Welcome until the end.
The food was incredible, we sent a huge thank you to the chef, Fernando Coppola. The service team was amazing and the people were kind and lovely, thank you Danny! and a special thanks to Christian Oleas our wine presenter.

A BIG HUGE INCREDIBLE THANK YOU, YOU SAVED MY DAY to Paige Farley and the team. She dealt with all the little & big issues that came up at our wedding, from our last minute band cancellation to the allergies and crazy requests by us and our guests. She was poised, lovely, incredibly helpful and most of all extremely professional during every single interaction we had. She literally made our wedding the most wonderful and memorable experience!

The best part of it is that she anticipated most if not all of our needs, and thought of things we had not even planned for. Paige always had a solution or a plan B. It was always a "no-sweat" type of situation. Which really kept both the groom and I calm and allowed us to savour our precious moments with each other and our guests. I never felt I had to run around or deal with anything. Every detail as small as a name tag was taken care of.

Thanks paige for all the snacks too, they kept me from passing out. You truly represented the W's awesome image and stayed true to their mantra of whatever/whenever. W spa & retreat Vieques Rocks!

Though this is subjective there were issues I was not happy with:
The spa needs to have better trained make-up and hair stylists. I appreciate the effort and enthusiasm they put in, but some of my wedding party and I had to redo our make-up and hair and still were not happy with the results. Unfortunately it was my fault, I followed the Spa manager's recommendation, and did NOT go for the trial make-up and hair. It would have saved me a lot of time and money to do it myself. So for those brides to be, I recommend that you do the trial make-up and hair first before booking. As for the massages at the spa they were good.


Pluses:
they let us party on the beach with a bond fire to the wee hours of the night
bond fire ( extra$)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us!
We feel honored you selected the W Vieques as the venue for that once-in-a-lifetime special event! Congratulations again on your recent wedding.

I will make sure to extend your kudos to Paige Farley and the team who I am sure will be thrilled to learn that their contribution in elevating your overall experience was so valuable.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Best Wishes,

Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've stayed here twice, but held off reviewing as the first trip was in the first few months after they opened. This hotel is perfect for a few days away with firends or as a romantic trip with that special someone. The food is wonderful and the service is spot on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for your amazing feedback.
We are thrilled to hear you have selected the W Vieques as your holiday retreat on two occasions!

Hopefully we will have you back soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White- GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped here to have a cocktail and appetizers, upon the recommendation of some friends who live on the island who had suggested we try the Happy Hour. Although we evidently arrived too late for the official Happy Hour, we went ahead and parked and walked over to the entrance at main reception center. The decor is intriguing, strikingly modern and unique. We walked through the lobby to the outside seating area for the bar where it is extremely dark. Although we were seated in the middle of the exterior bar area and there were only three other patron groups (who had already been served), we had to wait 25 minutes until a server approached us. When she did come to our table, we then had to ask for the drink and food menus which required an additional 15 minutes to arrive. Given the amount of time it took for us to be waited upon, we could only stay for one drink and a small appetizer, all of which took an additional 15 minutes to be delivered. Needless to say, the service was slow but we never received any acknowledgement of the time that had passed. Instead, the service was incredibly terse, bordering upon rude. When we asked if there was WiFi passwords for bar customers (there was a WiFi network that showed up identified for bar customers), we were told, "No, unless you are hotel guests....You can go speak to the front desk and see if they can do anything for you." When we approached the Front Desk and asked for the password, incredibly the staff took our device in order to put in the password instead of simply giving it to us. Additionally, he had the temerity to ask us, "Why aren't you staying here?" All things considered, that answer seems obvious! I don't expect to see this place in operation very long into the future, given the extremely poor service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank petrus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We appreciate your comments and will make sure to look into the matters you address. I can assure you that all talent at the property is always looking to provide our guests with memorable experiences by fulfilling the whatever/whenever service promise of the W brand.

The wireless service certainly is one of the perks that guests enjoy as part of the inclusions of their room rates, and every log-in is confidential and entered individually. The Welcome Desk team enters confidential information in order to extend passwords to outisde visitors, which is why they are required to input the data themselves. We are sorry this was perceived as the team being unwilling to fulfill a special request.

We hope we will have the opportunity to have you back,

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Address: State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC-1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico (Formerly W Retreat & Spa Vieques)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $90 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island is a resort in Puerto Rico that provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing