We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place on an amazing island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic place on an amazing island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've stayed here twice, but held off reviewing as the first trip was in the first few months after they opened. This hotel is perfect for a few days away with firends or as a romantic trip with that special someone. The food is wonderful and the service is spot on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Welcome,

Thank you for your amazing feedback.
We are thrilled to hear you have selected the W Vieques as your holiday retreat on two occasions!

Hopefully we will have you back soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White- GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    439
    201
    98
    55
See reviews for
276
957
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped here to have a cocktail and appetizers, upon the recommendation of some friends who live on the island who had suggested we try the Happy Hour. Although we evidently arrived too late for the official Happy Hour, we went ahead and parked and walked over to the entrance at main reception center. The decor is intriguing, strikingly modern and unique. We walked through the lobby to the outside seating area for the bar where it is extremely dark. Although we were seated in the middle of the exterior bar area and there were only three other patron groups (who had already been served), we had to wait 25 minutes until a server approached us. When she did come to our table, we then had to ask for the drink and food menus which required an additional 15 minutes to arrive. Given the amount of time it took for us to be waited upon, we could only stay for one drink and a small appetizer, all of which took an additional 15 minutes to be delivered. Needless to say, the service was slow but we never received any acknowledgement of the time that had passed. Instead, the service was incredibly terse, bordering upon rude. When we asked if there was WiFi passwords for bar customers (there was a WiFi network that showed up identified for bar customers), we were told, "No, unless you are hotel guests....You can go speak to the front desk and see if they can do anything for you." When we approached the Front Desk and asked for the password, incredibly the staff took our device in order to put in the password instead of simply giving it to us. Additionally, he had the temerity to ask us, "Why aren't you staying here?" All things considered, that answer seems obvious! I don't expect to see this place in operation very long into the future, given the extremely poor service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petrus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We appreciate your comments and will make sure to look into the matters you address. I can assure you that all talent at the property is always looking to provide our guests with memorable experiences by fulfilling the whatever/whenever service promise of the W brand.

The wireless service certainly is one of the perks that guests enjoy as part of the inclusions of their room rates, and every log-in is confidential and entered individually. The Welcome Desk team enters confidential information in order to extend passwords to outisde visitors, which is why they are required to input the data themselves. We are sorry this was perceived as the team being unwilling to fulfill a special request.

We hope we will have the opportunity to have you back,

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We went here for our honeymoon at the beginning of January. We loved our room and it's fantastic view! The wild horses and iguanas greeted us most mornings outside our room - which was great for me because I love both kinds of animals. The hotel was at maximum capacity most of the time we were there but neither the pool nor the beaches ever felt crowded or even busy for that matter. It felt peaceful and relaxing - and very romantic. I think it would not be the best place for singles - it's mostly couples and a few families. Also things close early there (like most of Vieques) - even on the weekend the latest thing open was the lobby bar and it closed at midnight. Most of us bought bottles and made our own party by the outside fire if we still wanted to do something past then.
Our only issues we encountered was with the housekeeping - our wine glasses and robes were often not returned to our room when taken to be cleaned. We had to call several different days to get them returned - which they did quickly but still asking multiple times for the same items is bothersome. Being our honeymoon - both items were of importance to us ;)
Overall though I loved the retreat and we definitely want to come back and bring friends with us!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Welcome,

Congratulations on your recent wedding!
We are honored you chose the W Vieques as the retreat for your honeymoon.

Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback, it is great to learn you enjoyed every moment of it.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our first impression of the W was stellar. The grounds are absolutely impeccable, and there were wild horses roaming the grounds. It was pretty breathtaking.

But, honestly, it didn't take long for our great first impression to begin withering away.

The first sign of problems was when I decided to take a bath. When I looked inside the bathtub, there was a large clump of hair at the bottom, as well as strands of hair caked to the side. We immediately called Whatever/Whenever, and they told us they would immediately send someone to fix the issue. Nobody came, and when it was time for us to go to dinner out, we called again to let them know we were leaving and would like to come back to the tub cleaned. When we came back 3 hours later, there had still been no action taken. We called again, and this time they sent someone to clean the tub. He was nice, took photos of the "evidence" and was apologetic. Okay, we thought, problem solved... Move on... until I found the same person's hair in the shower.

The next night we were awoken by a loud vibrating sound from the walls. The room was pretty much shaking. It turns out the AC system had a fault, and after 3 calls, they sent someone to fix the problem at around 3am.

From there, we dealt with various odd issues that were indicative of a overall service issue at the resort. It just wasn't good. I won't go into all of the details, but let's just say it took an effort on our part to find relaxation as we were always dealing with some issue here and there. And we swear to you we aren't overly picky travelers!

It seems like the W Vieques has a culture of SAY YES, but with very little follow-through. We would order something at the restaurant and it would never arrive (this happened multiple times), or we would request something as simple as more shampoo and it would take 3 requests to actual receive the item.

We began to joke that WHATEVER/WHENEVER really meant WHATEVER/WHENEVER WE GET AROUND TO IT.

A few things to note:

1. Get a room near the main house. It seemed like service was better the closer you were to the action you were.
2. Take advantage of the island offerings by renting a 4x4 and venturing out. The food we had on property was really not great, and we had some awesome meals out.
3. Perhaps these problems were due to high season, BUT... I don't give them a pass for this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Welcome,
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your experience with us. It is great to read you enjoyed the grounds at the Retreat and the beautiful island.

I am truly saddened to read however that in other aspects we did not meet your expectations.
I can assure you this is not representative of the W Vieques as we place exceptional effort to create the most memorable experiences for our guests. Our quality standards strive to provide impeccable service on all levels.
Your feedback is important for us and I will certainly look into the issues you bring to our attention.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and make your stay one that conveys all the true values the W Vieques stands for.

Best Wishes,
Greg White- GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I stayed at the W hotel in Vieques over the Christmas Break 2013
The hotel is beautiful and picturesque
We loved walking around the property and seeing the well mannered wild horses
My kids enjoyed feeding them
The property has two lovely beaches
We enjoyed the beach activity center where we got snorkels,paddle boards and kayaks
My son worked out everyday in there well equipped gym
The food and beverage service at the restaurants and poolside were excellent
Its a very laid back and relaxing place to hang out in there open areas
They have a very nice fire pit at night We met some nice people sitting around it
The staff at this hotel go out of there way to be helpful and very friendly
Its a very chill atmosphere and I think both young people and families would enjoy this hotel
Our room was huge and I loved the tub!
Very romantic and modern
The island has many beautiful beaches and the local people are very friendly
I liked that it is an American US Territory so felt very safe
I cant wait to go back and hope to make this our family destination for the holiday
The W is very special as is Vieques
WE had a really wonderful vacation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfandturfNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Welcome,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are thrilled to read you and your family had such a magical vacation over the holiday period!
I am glad you were able to discover all the pristine beaches that surround the Retreat and the extraordinary natural grounds that are so characteristic of the island. The wild horses are definitely one of the many highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall positive experience despite the food which was inexplicably bad. Once we figured this out it wasn't too much of a drag on the experience as you can get by on the breakfast buffet for the day and there are plenty of excellent options on the island for dinner. The service was attentive and very friendly even if at times a leisurely island pace. Amenities were high quality although showing some signs of wear. We went over MLK weekend and I would wager the occupancy rate was relatively high but fortunately most people chose the pool whereas we were on the beach which was not crowded at all. Easy to reach from NYC if you fly into Vieques.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KingOfDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from this wonderful island resort. The best trip ever! The resort is lush and beautiful. Our room overlooked the ocean, and the restaurant, cafe and lobby were all within steps away. The pool area is over the top also. One of the best parts of this spectacular getaway was the friendly staff. Everyone was super friendly. Special shout outs to Therese at the front desk, waiters Javay, Angel, and Pedro Jose. The two ladies who work in the W cafe were a delight! I am already planing on going back next year. This time we spent 4 nights at the W, then 3 nights in San Juan. The next time will be spent entirely at the W! It was absolutely wonderful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Welcome,

Thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience with us!
We ware thrilled to read the talent had such a valuable contribution in making your stay truly memorable. I will extend your kudos to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Best Wishes,
Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing