We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautiful oasis on Vieques. Nicely maintained grounds and tiny beach. As a resort, it is set off from remainder of island without a lot of interaction with the locals. Would recommend an evening or two getting out of the resort and visiting other parts of the island.

Hotel can arrange transport to other parts of the island, such as the bio bay, but note that there is a premium to be paid to have the hotel do the arranging for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Welcome,

It is great to read you enjoyed this oasis in Vieques!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White, General Manager
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    439
    201
    98
    55
See reviews for
276
957
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a stunning space - built on the ocean with epic pools, lush grounds and all the W amenities. Unfortunately also all the W prices but that why its so amazing! Also Vieques is a spectacular place to spend time. Great food, great adventures, definitely rent a jeep at the hotel and take a full day to roam the many beaches!

Room Tip: The villas are amazing but a bit off the water front where as the standard rooms have great views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for your great comments!
We are very happy to learn that your stay was memorable and that you had the opportunity to explore all the wonderful beaches the island has to offer.

We look forward to having you with us soon!

Best Wishes
Greg White
General Manager, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It was low season. Not enough staff present at the moment. Everything in the hotel is more expensive than any other hotel. Room service wich is already expensive took more than 45min to arrive. It rained one day and all over was muddy so don't bring your expensive shoes. They don't know how to keep areas clean. The bartenders both males from the island are rude and are called mixologist which is a lie, they barely know how to mix anything except a rum punch.
Restaurant ok not a big deal for a foodie like me(who ever read my blogs before know that i love to cook), but if you are hungry and don't have a car is THE ONLY OPTION. The rooms are nice i was upgraded to the pool side area, very comfy and romantic. They dont clean the rooms well, I guess short staffing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_yus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
It is very unfortunate however that your expectations were not met.
We are committed to making our guests' experiences memorable and personalized and I will ensure to look into the matters you bring to our attention in your review.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the level of service that truly represents the values of the team at the W Vieques.

Best Wishes
Greg White, General Manager
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just took a couple of days to be relax and W was the perfect place to stay. Very warmth welcome in front of door by Félix and he was really cooperative with us. All staff were very attentive. Room in front of the beach was the perfect spot (Rooms 621 and 622) Sorcé Restaurant was great and mango cazuela was delicious. Adult beach and family beach is separated and that's great!
You must verify prices for your breakfast, because $28 per person is really expensive.

Room Tip: 621, 622 in front of pool and family beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwanda_2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for sharing your experience!
It is wonderful to read you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy the grounds at the Retreat.
I will make sure to extend your positive feedback to Felix who I am sure will be happy to learn he contributed to making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best Wishes
Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in May of 2013 for three nights as a bit of a tag on to our 7 day cruise that had terminated in San Juan. Getting here was an adventure on a teeny tiny plane, although it was wonderful being picked up at the airport (W has a lounge at the airport) in a private hotel jeep! We were upgraded to a kick butt suite with a full ocean view. The living/dining/kitchen area were more than we needed, and the bedroom/bathroom area were incredibly romantic and fun. We loved the privacy of our room location and the fact that we walked out our sliding glass door onto some grass & right onto the adult beach. The adult beach was a serious way to be secluded and relaxed. The lobby in the main building was very fitting of the island locale, it was hip and fashionable. The gym was a great size and had quality equipment, free weights and machines. We did not do a yoga class although the space for it looked very inviting. All of the staff we encountered (except for one) were friendly and accommodating. Our only very small inconvenience was when we ate one lovely evening out by the fire pit and our food was just so-so and one item we ordered was entirely absent. Our inquiries about this went to mute ears. The next morning upon checkout we told the front house manager about our not-so-good experience and he adjusted the bill. We were mollified and satisfied.

I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyAnne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the details of your amazing experience.
It is great to learn you found the grounds, room, and overall facilities to be fun and romantic!
Rest assured the talent is always looking to grant the guests' wishes, and despite this was not the way it was perceived at the time you were having dinner at the Living Room, I am happy to read we were able to recover and change that perception, living up to the values that truly distinguish the team at the W Vieques.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best Wishes
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful location, good food but was expecting more for the prices. Be prepared to pay (yes its an island, but also the W). Nothing in walking distance. Every cab ride is $5/person in the car. Rooms are nice, always use the safe.

Room Tip: Beach view. Ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us.
We are saddened to read your expectations regarding pricing were not met.

Please rest assured we are constantly implementing value-adding elements to enhance our guests' experience

Included in the room rate, are toll-free and local phone calls, wireless High Speed Internet Access, self-parking, a welcome experience and refreshments at the W Lounge at the Airport in Vieques, and roundtrip transfers between the airport and the resort, daily yoga class, access to SWING (tennis courts) and SWEAT (Fitness Center), beach umbrellas, and non-motorized sports equipment (fins, masks, kayaks, floaters, and tennis equipment).

Additionally, we have implemented daily complimentary amenities, such as the daily Sunset Sip (cocktail) served at the Living Room Bar, freshly made morning coffee and tea, lemon water dispensers and are now working on additional value adding experiences including a happy hour by WET pool and daily special menus.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

If it wasn't for the Insider, Hiram, the service would have been given a 2 or 3. He made the experience. It's a great getaway with few or no kids in sight. The beaches aren't as nice as I thought they might be, but the resort is well done.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Welcome,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us.
I am happy to learn the W Insider, Hiram, had such a special role in making your stay memorable and I will make sure I extend your comments.

Best Wishes
Greg White
General Manager, W Retreat & Spa- Vieques Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing