We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on a island still learning the tourist trade (March 2013)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place on a island still learning the tourist trade (March 2013)”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would have given 3.5 stars but couldn't.
We're staying here right now for 5 nights. (March 6-11, 2013). The place is beautiful but quite expensive for what you get.
Pros:
Beautiful pool area
Nice enough adult beach
Very courteous staff.
Great views
Not too noisy (we're in Room 223, second floor, directly in front of the adult beach
Comfortable bed
Nice bathrobes
Good service at Blackbeards activities shop.
Plenty of beach towels for day trips.
Looking forward to our Bo Bay tour in two days.

Cons:
Food is iffy and expensive
Breakfast buffet is $28. Service is not exceptional. No sausage. Poor fruit selection.
(But coffee juice and an entree is $29)
Poor room lighting for reading
Flat screen tv does not face bed directly and cannot be turned.
Very uncomfortable chairs on our balcony.
Ate dinner here our first night and it was a mistake:
My spouse's shrimp and pasta entree arrived lukewarm. My snapper and Rice was disgustingly swishy tasting. They brought my wife a new entree quickly but took forever to grill some shrimp for me to go with my rice.
You need a car here. The best beaches on on the south side of the island (Caribbean) as ere the best restaurants (mainly in Esperanza).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buldurdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative feedback a like, as it helps us improve our overall service standards. I'm sorry to read you encountered a breakdown in our service and felt disappointed. We are addressing the issues you mention, but thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    455
    207
    102
    56
See reviews for
297
1,001
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Travelled there in November 2012. I had a wonderful time. Management and staff were very helpful. Food was excellent at the restaurant and at breakfast. Our room was nice facing the ocean on the second floor. However the lighting sucked. Not at all enough light for reading. Also designer lighting is cool to look at but not practical. We had problems with light bulbs and television but all got repaired.
What you have to keep in mind is that you are on a tiny island and everything is imported.
We did have a relaxing time by the pool. We enjoyed our daily swimming at the "adult" beach which allows swimming "Au Naturel" - not that secluded but who cares !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the W Hotel. The service was excellent, the room was a mix of fun and beautiful and the grounds were a mix of activities (tennis courts, easy access to a Jeep) and relaxation (poolside drinks, ocean views, lots of neat chairs to read books in). The complimentary morning coffee in the AM was a great perk. The spa was excellent as well (we got the couples massage). Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a fantastic stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been in the hotel/hospitality business for more than 25 years and log about 40 nights per year in hotels, some for play but most for work. Having stayed in about half a dozen other W properties, it was easy choice for wife and I to choose W as the place to stay on Vieques, but WOW!!! Far exceeded expectations, from the very hip room that was larger than my first place, to the very welcoming front services staff, we were not left wanting for anything. Thank you W Vieques, we loved it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMango22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
April 9, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you like traveling in style, you will love the W resort in Vieques. Lovely grounds, perfect pools, and quiet private beaches all around. It's not a budget vacation, but if you feel like splurging on a top of the line get away, you'll be happy with this resort and spa. The service was perfection, the grounds were well designed and perfectly maintained, and the fool was always satisfying. If you go, be prepared to spend most of your time on the resorts grounds. There is nowhere to walk to, but you won't want to, the grounds are so lovely you wont want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
April 10, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Almost there, just need a little tweak here and there. There are some little things that keep this place from getting an Excellent rating and kept it from exceeding my expectations.

I like to go Pro/Con so here we go:

Pros
Amazing facilities. Pools are great.
Rooms are designed well and bed was very comfortable.
Beaches are small but nice. (Beaches around the island are amazing)
Service was more up than down. (Concierge David was an amazing help and takes job serious)

Cons
Resort gives no help to 2nd class from Ferry to Resort (Focus on those who fly in). Ferry comes in limited times a day. Not hard to send someone in a van down there.
Nothing easy to walk to so plan on rental car or $5 a person for cab each way
Pool music is loud and stayed on very late
Ferry ride over was delayed for 30, then 45, then an hour. Finally made it but not a good time.
Phone service was spotty (Verizon) unless you held up one leg and said a prayer.

We waited 45 minutes for the Avis car to pick us up. Why? To first give the concierge her props she found me one but the Avis people said she was supposed to follow up with the time to come pick us up and didn't so we waited needlessly. I was told it would be no problem to get a car once I got to the island.... No carsor very few available and to truly enjoy the place you need an SUV.

There is no exception to being an SPG Gold or Platnium member, either you are at the level or you are not. What you are supposed to get for spending so much money with them is simple and straightforward regardless of what property you are at. When you ask for a late check-out here you cant get it because they are busy.

Overall I would probably go back, especially if able to use points. Dollars you can probably find more for less. Overall nice place. Enjoy.

Pointers. Get a jeep! Get to Bio Bay - amazing! Fun Brothers was super. Biekes/Patio Bistro, Sol Food, Duffys all were great. Go snorkel at Blue Beach.

Room Tip: If you can get a pool oasis rooms to be close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
April 10, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative feedback a like, as it helps us improve our overall service standards. I'm sorry to read you encountered a breakdown in our service. We are addressing the issues you mention, but thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Prior to our trip, I read several Trip Advisor posts that almost caused us not go to this property.
However, we had committed-so we went and the W made our vacation an excellent stay. We were in an ocean front room that provided the greatest degree of privacy. Overall, I rate the property a four star and the service a five star. The guest rooms and public spaces were decorated in the typical W style but using a lot of exposed, rustic wood and bright tropical colors. The restaurant menu was diverse and fairly priced. The wine list was lean but fairly priced. The food was nicely prepared and presented. On a few occasions, some listed menu items were unavailable (it's an island). The gym was thoroughly equipped and very clean. My wife was extremely satisfied with the spa treatments. The entire staff was courteous, energetic, and always responsive to every request. In fact, when a request was made, it was followed up with a call from management to assess satisfaction. The only shortcoming was that it was a mystery when housekeeping would deliver clean bath towels. The pool and beaches were well supplied with towels. I would certainly visit this hotel again and I have recommended it friends.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are quiet and only steps from the stairs down to a small, "adults only&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
April 10, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,227 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
45.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing