We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Elegant and eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Elegant and eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this place during the week of 23 Dec 2012. We were in Vieques to show our 4yr old pristine beaches and an authentic island lifestyle.

First I should add that Vieques and this Retreat (yes, it is not called a Resort) is not for everyone. The minimalist design of this place appealed to us as did the lighting. The lighting is intentionally subdued to protect turtle nesting sites around the resort (from Greg White, the hotel's GM). A lot of people find the design a bit austere.

From the welcome at the W Lounge at the quaint Vieques airport to your check-in the experience is great.

We were upgraded from a oceanfront room to a "marvellous suite" and it was marvellous! Stay at villas 11-17, which don't suffer from the elevator music piped all over the oceanfront rooms. Wonder why they do that? At night the Coqui frogs and crickets can create quite the ambience. We had some issues with the in-room safe when we checked in, and after we called the reception they had a repair person in our room within 10 mins (even though it was 7pm).

The restaurants (there are three, the Living Room, Sorce and the W Cafe) are good. While the service is good and attentive, it can be trying at peak times. There is free tea/coffee available all day in the main lounge. Even though we are vegetarian, we had enough choice of food.

For excursions there is an Island Car rental on the property, and also Blackbeard Sports has a shop where one can rent kayaks, snorkelling equipment, book bio tours and fishing trips.

While this property is designed around an adult audience, our little guy had enough to do. There is even a kid's area where one can sign in your kids for a few hours of respite! It may not appeal to kids in the 5-10 age group.

While we were there at peak season (Xmas), the pool deck chairs were always occupied - people would wake up and put towels on them to "book" them. Hardly what you expect in a 5 star property. By end of the week, hotel mgmt. had signs put up that if chairs were unoccupied for 30 mins, they would open it.

The property has three pools - two are in the main property,while the third is a beautiful circular pool near villa 12/13.

The two beaches around the hotel are nice, one is an adults only (which I took to mean "no kids", rather than nudity accepted). There was enough equipment available for kayaking or snorkelling. We did not experience some of the "towel" shortage experienced by other reviewers.

We rented a Jeep from Avis (who are no longer on the W property but about 5 mins away). They will pick you up. The hotel is not around one of the two towns on the island, and also if you want to visit some of the more pristine beaches, you need a 4x4.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank eye_banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Retreat, and experienced all that Vieques has to offer. The beaches truly are amazing, so I'm happy you got out to explore. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest,

Greg White
W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    417
    189
    96
    51
See reviews for
257
887
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful property. I find it a bit ridiculous that anyone would complain, after all, this place is on a nearly desolate island.... They are self sufficient with almost no local resources. That being said... WOW, what an amazing resort. The beaches are absolutely breathtaking, the food is above par for island cuisine, when you factor in that everything has to be shipped in, I would bump it up to 4 star plus. Layout cleanliness, serine beauty all 5 stars. The number 1 best quality... the staff, you could see that they all put their heart and soul into making us happy, it was sincere, and that went the distance with me. I have to give a special mention to Erika in the children's play gym, she won me and my wife over, we wanted to bring her back to NYC with us. We never leave our daughter with anyone, so this was a very big deal for us. By the end of the trip, our 2 year old girl was asking to see Miss Erika. It was great, my wife and I were able to go into Esperanza the local town and have lunch on the water and, we went to the most beautiful beaches, which were nearly secluded. I have traveled the world, stayed in all the name brand hotels, I give this property 2 thumbs up, our 8 day stay was a true family vacation that we will never forget. A+++ to the entire staff. Oh, and the free happy hour drink every night by the fire pit was much appreciated!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your very kind feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and that your Erika made such an impression on your daughter. We would love to welcome your family back to the W and Vieques.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm giving the W Vieques 4 stars only because it's a spectacularly beautiful property. It has everything you would want in a beautiful beach get away except for one thing…quality service.

The resort is set atop a cliff overlooking a gorgeous private beach. The rooms are typical of W's stylish aesthetic and are of good size. There's a beautiful (unheated) pool and plenty of space to lounge around, get sun and sip cocktails. I was in a one bedroom suite that was huge. It had a big kitchen/bar area, living room, dinning table and a large bedroom with a king sized bed. The large bathroom was open to the bedroom, so if you're on the bed you can see the tub and sink in plain view. The water closet and shower both have sliding doors. It looks great, but it's not private at all. The resort grounds are beautiful. There are wild horses roaming around and spectacular oceans views.

Okay, now for some tough love.

The service is terrible. I will say the staff is friendly which is very much appreciated. However, they are either poorly trained or don't care about good service. For example, my room did not have internet for my entire 5 night stay and every time I called the front desk about it, they seemed surprised. Each time the staff member would say, "I will find out about this and personally call you back." And, each time I never received a return call. That's disappointing for a hotel that was charging $800/night for the holiday season. Another example, we waited for 20 minutes to be checked into the hotel. The people in front of us were very fussy about their rooms which caused a huge backup. That part is out of the hotel's control. Fine. But, they never said, I'm sorry for the wait. Or, thank you for your patience. Or, we'll be with you as soon as we can. In fact, when we finally got to the desk, they didn't say anything. For a luxury property, that's just not good enough. Whether you're paying $800/night or using hard earned starwood points, there is a level of service expected and the W Vieques falls short. I found the waitresses at the bar to be a bit short and rude. I found the waiters at the restaurant to be really slow. No one seemed to put in much effort which was disappointing.

Important Note: There is a $65/night resort fee that includes transportation to and from the airport, internet, beach towels, snorkel gear, gym access, tennis courts etc. I've been lucky enough to stay at luxury properties around the world and these things are typically included with the room. Honestly, I'd rather them build this fee into the nightly rate. It feels excessive to have to pay an additional fee for what should be standard amenities. Should we really be charged extra for beach towels when we're at a beach resort? I don't think so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear you thought the hotel was beautiful, but very concerned with the clear service breakdowns you encountered. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of every guest, and clearly that was not your experience. We've addressed the issues you mention, and are continually training our talent to deliver the best possible service. I personally hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the island so we can provide stellar service to match the beautiful location.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Easily the nicest hotel on Vieques. Very modern and soothing deco. The service can be spotty. For example, the bar manager, Jillian was borderline rude to us during the New Year's Eve party as was one of the servers, but the bartender, Erin, was great.. It wasn't just us, the couple next to us were laughing about it with us. The bottom line is, the place is beautiful, worthy of five stars, but they really need to educate their staff on what five star service is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a good stay, but concerned with the service challenges you encountered. We appreciate the good and bad feedback equally, as it all helps us improve our service.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is definitely the place to go for a true 'get away', and where you will find yourself wondering what day it is; the mark of a true vacation. The W Retreat & Spa Vieques offers lush grounds and a relaxed atmosphere. If you want some R&R and to be treated with 5 star service, you must go. The staff and service was impeccable! We felt personally taken care of by the supervisor Wade, who made us feel more than just welcome. The retreat was at 100% capacity, and he made us feel as if we were the only guests on property our entire stay. We commented on this several times a day as a matter of fact, and couldn't think of another time we received such service. Christian, the B&F Manager took great care of us as well, and made sure we enjoyed each moment of our stay. He personally brought us wine, opened it and made sure we were enjoying our stay. Nicholas, an Ambassador iterally could not have been more hospitable. They really lived up to their Whatever, Whenever tagline. I couldn't think of a better one myself to sum up the service we experienced in one of the only three W Retreats in the world! Go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy you had such a wonderful vacation, and losing track of the day is a sure sign it was relaxing. I'll be sure to share the feedback with Christian and Nicholas. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vieques in the future.

Warmest

Greg White
GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having never been to Vieques before, we went the safe route and booked a nice stay at the W. It is a nice hotel, with all the ammenities that you would expect from such a hotel. My biggest complaints are:
1) Overpriced food and drinks - we rarely ate at the hotel because of this
2) The check in agent we enaged was not helpful or friendly - we had just travelled for nearly 24 hours to get to the hotel only to find out the two bed room we booked over the phone was not the room we had - we had only a king size bed. Getting a roll-away was like passing a bill in congress - luckily my daughter was flexible enough to sleep on the round sofa love seat.

Had one great experience with the concierge (Oscar) - was extremely helpful planning a final da in San Juan on our way out.

Esperanza is definitely the town to be in in terms of easy beach access and restaraunts, etc... We rented a jeep and spent almost every day outside of the "compound". The beach at the W is nice but the other beaches in Vieques are beyond nice - they are top of the line. I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

The food was tasty - just wiches it didn't cost so much - would have eaten there more.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms face the ocean and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haleh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry you encountered a room issue, but happy that didn't damper your entire vacation and you had a chance to get out and explore all Vieques has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vieques in the future.

Warmest

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful quiet getaway. Very romantic. Great service. Beautiful place. Hip. Great beach and swimming at the beach. Pricey. If going to Vieques, the only place on the island to stay. Must have a jeep rental to get around. If looking for a quiet retreat, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Villas are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riokc1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for sharing the kind feedback here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the island soon.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
59.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
45.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing