We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The W at Vieques is an off-the-beaten-track gem worth spending the time to get to. The resort is one of the nicest luxury hotels in the Caribbean - from the rooms to the beaches and pools. The staff and especially the front desk were phenomenal and went out of their way to help. The only complaint our party had was that the W Cafe's sandwiches seemed to be old/dry.

The beach was in particular a stand-out, with excellent snorkeling available directly from the resort (the reefs around Vieques are shallow, vibrant and healthy - a rare treat).

Room Tip: As the hotel will advise you: take a plane from Fajardo (Ceiba) or San Juan (we took VAL). The ferri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your kind words here with the TripAdvisor community. We're thrilled to hear you had a fantastic experience, and look forward to welcoming you back to Vieques in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay. Happy hour everyday; fun to mingle and meet new people. Best breakfast anywhere. Villas with a view the most serene and romantic. The "wow "suite is just that.

Room Tip: Villas 1-4 closest to lobby and most activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for the great feedback and for sharing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled you had a great time and enjoyed the W Vieques. We'd love to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The resort is beautiful and easy to get to from the ferry. Staff members were very nice and helpful, the decor modern and well designed, as was the property. The beaches were clean, loved that they had a family beach and an adult beach. I was very disappointed in the restaurant, while our waiter was great, the food was very overpriced for what it was and not what I would consider a "Ducasse" restaurant. Having been to his restaurant in Monte Carlo, my expectations were high and I was very much looking forward to it. Starting with the stale bread, and while I can appreciate that it may have been more Puerto Rican than French ... I think I could have found better bread at the local grocery. And the W Cafe, where you could go to grab a coffee and breakfast was not good. They had a beautiful expresso machine and it was the worse $8 latte I have ever had.
The rooms were really lovely, beds comfy, and had Bliss body products (my fave). With the exception of the restaurant, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauriceR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. We're happy to hear you had a great stay and our amenities and staff exceeded your expectations. I am sorry to hear the Restaurant did not meet your expectations. We have since changed our restaurant from miX on the beach, to Sorcé... a new Puerto Rican/Caribbean concept designed around locally-sourced and in-season dished. We would love to welcome you back to Vieques again in the future, and hope to see you soon.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This property is spectacular - beautiful, well maintained and appointed, and the personality and attention of the staff made us feel like we were a King and Queen! From being greeted by Juan at the W Welcoming lounge at the airport, to all of the front desk staff and restaurant and bar servers - we were made to feel comfortable and pampered! The beaches and pools are wonderful, and the food was great too! Pricey, but so worth it to enjoy luxury, if even for a few days! Thanks to all at the W for a fantastic experience! We'll be back!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your lovely experience her on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed all the W and Vieques have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 8 days at this lovely resort in January 2012, the island is wild, pristine Robinson Crusoe beaches (no facilities of any sort, just crystal clear watter, white sand and not another soul in sight) Food in the W was nice but not spectacular, pool meals excellent in quality and value. Bar prices a rip off 10 dollars for a glass filled with ice then topped up with coca cola from a pipe, that's 10 dollars plus taxes and tip. The rooms were fabulous, the public area very nice, felt casual and chic. Best place to eat lunch on the island has to be a van parked on a crossroad called soul food. Young couple working so hard and producing the most amazing (but fattening) delicious sandwiches ever. There are many stunning restaurants scattered around the island for gourmet evening meals, you will need a car and if you want to get to the best beaches be prepared for rough style off road driving, there is only one spot on the island for petrol/gas so don't run the tank on low. Wild horses and deep potholes in main road make for being really careful on the road particularly at night. Don't miss a trip to bioluminescent bay, best to go by Kayak. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The most expensive rooms were on top floors, we had a ground floor room overlooking very cool (in st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, Public Relations Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you had a great vacation, and enjoyed the hotel and most of all the wonderful island beaches. Sol Food is definitely a must-do for guests going to the beaches in the Fish & Wildlife reserve. We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in Vieques again soon!

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Except for the poor illumination of the room and some minor problems with the room cleanliness, we had a great time in this hotel. Perfect for couples or for families. Don't expect too many night activities. The night is for couples or for rest. Great restaurant, nice pool with underwater music. The hotel has two beautiful private beaches. Service is A-1. And the island of Vieques has some of the best beaches in the Caribbean; you may need to rent a jeep in order to get to these beaches. It is easy to get around the island with a jeep. Vieques has the best bioluminescent bay in the world, a tour that you can't miss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arecibo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for the very kind words about our hotel. We agree, Vieques is a great destination and worth exploring all the hidden gems the island has to offer. We're happy you had a great stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My friends and I had a great time at the "W". One of the staff there Dan was soo helpful in advising us of things to do around the island and what the hotel had to offer. Also David was more than helpful with organizing trips for us and dinning off the resort.

The staff at the "W" were great to us. They were accomodating, friendly and informative.

The music under the water in the pool was a great experience, the beach was private and beautiful, the rooms were large and the restaurant was excellent.

My girlfriends and I enjoyed sitting by the fire all night with many selections of wine.

I have to say, I really did enjoy myself and are planning to visit again.

Thank you W

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you and your friends had such a great stay, and that our talent went above and beyond to ensure you had a great time. We'd love to welcome you back to the island, and look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

Address: State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC-1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico (Formerly W Retreat & Spa Vieques)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $109 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island is a resort in Puerto Rico that provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing