We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We weathered (literally) hurricane Isaac @ The W”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“We weathered (literally) hurricane Isaac @ The W”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel did an amazing job of keeping the guests informed, getting people off the island if they needed to catch flights and overall hurricane preparedness was excellent. Once th immediate threat passed they resort was re-decorated, everything out back in place as if nothing had happened. It was amazing.
Susan is a great new addition to the team at the W!!! Don't let her get away!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for the very kind words on our hotel and the response to the weather. While we always hope these storms stay far away, we are prepared and able to easily deal with what Mother Nature sends our way. Happy to hear you were still able to enjoy your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vieques.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    447
    206
    99
    56
See reviews for
289
986
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great job made by Patricia Urqiola! This Spanish interior designer put color everywhere, over a base of classy grey! Two private beaches, one long swimming pool, full of nice people, and good food. I suggest to visit Esperanza and the beautiful Sun Bay. Peaceful place, just sunbath and relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your kind words about our property. We agree, Patricia did a wonderful job of bringing the vibrant colors of Puerto Rico to life with the design. We hope to see you back in Vieques again in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This has got to be the most poorly managed hotel we have ever stayed in.

After having a wonderful time in January (and overlooking some short-comings because we enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and can-do attitude), we decided to spend eight nights here in July. It was eight nights too many. We reserved he best room in the house, on the "quiet side" with a view of the Atlantic.

On our way to our room after checking in, I noticed a 6-foot-by-4-foot door to utility cabinet housing unsightly irrigation valves open on the side of the building. i said to may partner: "If that door is not shut by morning, it will stay open all week and it means no one cares, no one is paying attention and the manager is not walking his property daily." The door stayed open for eight nights and nine days. Enough said.

First room: safe did not work and AC sounded like a freight train. When we inquired about the safe we were told it could not be fixed until Thursday (this was Monday) and we should leave our valuables and cash at the front desk. (Not an option; it would be like asking your parents for money every time you want to go out. Plus, I like to lock up the iPad and phones, etc.)

Second room: very-low-watt lightbulbs in the bedside lamps (40s or 60s, i forget). The rooms are on the dark side as it is, but on a 9-day vacation, I have a stack of books I want to read and part of that reading happens in bed. Let's face it, we're not all on our honeymoon, OK? I asked for a brighter bulb. Nothing. To make a very long story shortZ: the hotel came up first with very blue compact fluorescent bulbs and then when we questioned these, dim incandescents came back. The only way we could read for the trip at night was to take the lamp shades off the lamps and place one lamp atop our cooler and the other atop a turned-over waste basket. And the hotel staff telephones the room incessantly to ask, "is everything Wonderful?"

Toward the end of our stay (last day) we stopped at the front desk to chat about check-out. The nice woman there said, "Oh! I am glad you stopped by. We have your welcome drink cards for you!" Well, uhm, thanks, but this is the END of my vacation, and I have already over-indulged, and much of this over-indulgence has occurred at your bar where Old Fashioneds are about $16 apiece, before tip. So on check out I asks the Welcome Desk gent to just credit my account the cost of 4 cocktails (we had 4 drink coupons). "OK, so drinks are about $10 each, right?" he smiles, offering to take a $35 charge off my bill. "Uh, no, drinks are $16..." Between this situation and a pool charge that was not ours, it took me several emails over a week after returning home to make sure the credits were issued. As a courtesy the hotel credited my some extra "Starpoints." But check Starwood's website: you need far more than 10,000 Starpoints to stay anywhere decent for a night.

Some other random issues:
The pool was very busy during our stay as a result of a promotion the hotel ran for main islanders. So you would think thy would be extra vigilant about making towels available to guests. Towels were often not available and water stations empty or with no glasses. One day after a heavy overnight rain, many of the chaises by the pool were soaked and holding substantial puddles. And by now it was noon. I asked a server why no one from the hotel was making an effort to flip the cushions and make the chaises usable and inviting for guests. She did not know and did not bother to do it. (and by the way, many pool chaises have no mattresses.) The pool, suffice it to say, is very self service. Think Holiday Inn and you can only be happy when it gets better than that. Again, I have to ask myself, does the manager ever walk this property and take a look around?

And the answer to that question is no. The hotel Living Room has large oversized beds on the verandah, and two are very pleasant places to sip a cocktail and watch the sun set. In January these beds had nice, outdoor quality heavy upholstery. In July they had white sheets. I peeked under a sheet and saw only foam rubber. The sheets were not changed for days. One had a really unsightly brown-ish stain where someone had ben sitting. They were also covered with sand and damp. One evening I finally asked a server why they were never changed as I would like to use one. She called housekeeping and about 75 minutes later new sheets appeared -- too late for my use but someone benefited. I am guessing here but maybe the upholstery was out being cleaned or re-made. But if a hotel has one thing and only one thing, it is lots of white sheets. Why not a standing order from the manager that the sheets on this public seating get changed every couple of hours. Where is the manager?? Certainly not taking an interest in the property.

And a quick note about food. Dine here at your own risk. Stick to bagels and cereal and fruit salad and yogurt and granola. I ordered a bagel with smoked salmon one morning before going sailing and the salmon was so salty it was practically inedible. We ate it only because our sail boat was anchoring and we knew we needed to eat.

One bright spot was the housekeeping staff. They were pleasant and kept our room in great shape. It is a shame the hotel just cannot measure up.

I am disappointed, to say the least. This was a week of our life and several thousand dollars we will never get back. Vieques is a lovely island and it was nice to think there was a full service hotel with amenities to keep us coming back. It will not be here. The search continues.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe (spectacular category?) room on the west side of the compound if you must stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an amazing time here for our anniversary, even though we got into our rooms late the staff Normita and Wade was extremely accommodating and making sure we were comfortable while waiting. The view from the rooms and the pool and even the restaurant was breathtaking.

In addition, David the concierge was also very helpful in recommending things to do and getting our transportation ready. They also have a restaurant there named Sorce where the food was pretty good and the staff was exceptional.

*tip - bring bug spray when you go to the beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsteveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear you had an amazing time, and that our Welcome Office team made sure the wait for your room did not damper your mood. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you back in Vieques again soon!

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We didn't stay here but came for sunset drinks and dinner at their newly renamed restaurant. Drinks were very good and the sunset view from their lounge area is not to be missed. Their restaurant on the other hand left a lot to be desired for the prices they charge. I had probably the worst red snapper I've ever had at this restaurant. Grounds seemed well kept and everyone was very nice at the hotel. Go for the Drinks but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gijenn1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, but concerned that your experience at Sorcé did not meet your expectations. We are constantly evolving our menus, so we do hope you'll come back again in the future.

Regards,

Greg White,
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed there twice and really loved it. We will hopefully be back this year. The location is great, the architecture is great, the rooms are large and ok. Most of the staff is really friendly, service at the restaurant though is not quite up to expectations.
Overall great times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunogeniesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your continued support of our hotel, we love to welcome repeat guests back to the island and W Vieques. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay, but do apologize for service issues you encountered in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you back in Vieques again soon.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As soon you walk in, you can feel that the hotel is short in personnel. They only had one ambassador taking care of all the people checking in. He definitely needed help.We bought a local offer called Gustazos, two nights plus 75 dollar voucher for the ONLY restaurant Source, and a 50 dollars voucher for the spa. This is the situation; we are business owners here at the big island,PR,and we travel and stay in hotels enough times a year to know what a good, poor and excellent service is.We were thinking of inviting some of our clients to the W Vieques a while ago, but before taking that step, we ask various of our close friends for their overall experience. ALL of them said exactly what we experienced on our visit. The food in the hotel is extremely bad, and the service, non existent. We can try to understand that this is slow season for hotels, but that definitely doesn't excuse for the W Hotel,one of the most expensive hotels in the area, to think this is in some way acceptable. Thank God we found that offer and had the opportunity to visit the place before bringing our demanding clients and actually spending the regular rate. Its absurd that the ONLY restaurant available is so bad and overpriced, that we decided to take a cab to town to have a decent lunch, dinner, etc. For our surprise, we weren't alone. We met a couple of guests that where staying at the hotel time that us at the place we went to eat. This people where paying the regular rate. Real tourists, the heart of your operation. So disappointing to hear them talk so bad about this place located in our island. Don't take me wrong, the structure,decoration, and location are out of this world, but in order for the regular rate make sense, you cant offer your guests half the pie. We know about this business, and by the way this place its being managed,its days our counted. Same sad story of the luxury St Reggis hotel in Rio Grande, PR. We always take time to give our feedback,good or bad, this time definitely bad. We would love to go back just for the peace full location, but if the service and quality of food doesn't get better, we will only go when special offers are available until it closes. Best, Agustin Rodriguez. agustinrodriguez8@gmail.com. 787-244-2145

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Obi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello There,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative comments alike, as it helps us improve our service levels. We are very disappointed to hear the experience did not exceed your expectations, and in particular Sorce. We are proud of the new concept we have launched, and feel our prices and menu offerings are in line with both the experience and the destination. We do hope you will come back to Vieques again in the future, as we would love to welcome you back as guests.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing