We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Vieques”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Perfection in Vieques”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

From the minute I arrived onto this property, I wanted to quit my job, pack up the husband and the dog and move into my suite and never look back. I was totally transfixed by the beauty, service, food and awesome cocktails at this resort. I was here on business, checking out the property for my clients (I am an event planner). The hospitality was outstanding here. I seriously felt like a celebrity the whole 3 days I was there. Do not miss the spa which is the most amazing experience! From the housekeeping, to servers, to bartenders to just about anyone you meet on this resort you are treated so well. Everyone just seems happy to be working there and that shines in their customer service. If fact, even the wild horses seem happy here!
I was able to meet the chefs and all the people involved in planning events there. They too were fantastic. This location is just perfect for a romantic wedding on the beach or on the cliff overlooking the main island of Puerto Rico. Or for a corporate incentive event or any event really. I want to have my next big birthday party here for sure.
Make sure to rent a car and go explore Vieques. The hidden beaches are just some of the most beautiful beaches I have seen.
This resort is just perfection!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your feedback here with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled that you had such a great stay and the W exceeded your expectations. We are an excellent choice for destination events and we look forward to partnering with you on these opportunities.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    452
    207
    101
    56
See reviews for
292
995
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I loved, loved, loved this hotel.... It is ideal for couples who are looking for a mix of quiet, peaceful, luxurious relaxation with the option of being able to easily travel just outside of the resort to do really fun, outdoors activities as well (horseback riding, snorkeling, kayaking the biobay were all amazing, not far from the resort, and easily accessed by a short taxi ride- I think our cab driver's name was Eddie and he runs the jeep taxis on the Island- I highly recommend him!). The resort pool area, private beaches (albeit small beaches), and restaurant (sorce) were all beautiful and had wonderful service. The spa was lackluster to me both in range of services provided as well as quality of service (esp. for the price). That is probably my only valid, minor complaint about the resort. If you're more concerned with spa-ing it, then go somewhere else. There is much more to do on this island and at the resort than getting spa treatments anyway. I also wish the Resort had a hot tub that was accessible to hotel guests other than within the realm of getting a couples massage/package thing at the spa (which we did not do), but this is just something I would have liked and the lack of a hot tub did not detract in any way, shape, or form from the quality of our stay. The food is a little pricey, but I read the same prior to booking our trip so when I saw the prices on the menus, I wasn't shocked. The prices are actually very consistent with the food at most "luxury" resorts I have ever been to if perhaps not even very slightly cheaper even. The food was good at the restaurant as well as when we ordered room service..... or even got food served to us on the beach or poolside. It wasn't the most impressive food I've ever had in my life, but it was good, I enjoyed it, and I cannot say anything negative about it. If you want to do a fine dining trip, you should go to another location other than Vieques anyway. The island's charms are wonderful and far outweigh maybe not eating the most amazing meals of your life. The restaurant (sorce) was nice and the food was good, but as much as I love good food, I was more preoccupied with just relaxing at the pool or at the beach and enjoying all of the nature-related activities on the island than worrying about having the fine-dining experience of a lifetime anyway. I thought they had a really fun drink menu with every type of fun rum drink you could probably think of! Every time we ordered food or drinks from anywhere in the resort, we received excellent, very prompt service. The pool gets a little busy at times so you might have to wait a little bit during those times for the server to bring your drink, but I did not feel that there were inordinately long waits based on the amount of people being served. I didn't ever think the pool was ever overcrowded either. It is not the sort of resort I would bring younger kids to. I rarely saw any children while we were there, but when I did, they were making a lot of noise and it just wasn't the crowd to do that with because everyone else was quietly relaxing at the pool or the beach. In fairness to the kids, they were probably bored because this resort isn't geared towards entertaining them. Take kids to the Waldorf back on the main island or I would rent a house on Vieques instead of staying at the W if traveling with them. Teenagers would probably enjoy the W and they do have kayaks and snorkel gear at the hotel if they got tired of lying around by the pool or on the beach. We had an oceanview room with a king bed and it truly lived up to the description. I am glad we were on that side of the resort and I don't know what the difference in price would have been if we stayed in the rooms by the pool that are cheaper, but whatever it was extra for where we were was well worth it. Our views were amazing and the room was quiet, well-kept, spacious, and very romantic. We LOVED it. When we first arrived and checked in, our first room had a weird kind of dampish smell to me (admittedly, I have a really sensitive sense of smell) and although I think we could have dealt with it, the hotel staff immediately without any wait or hassle moved us to another room that was just as (if not more) beautiful. I really appreciated the hotel staff's concern for my comfort and quick response to make sure that I was satisfied with the room. It meant a lot to me and they did not ever disappoint me with the service we received throughout our entire stay. The private W hotel lounge at the airport and the shuttle service to and from the airport were a really nice touch! The sunsets and sunrises were my favorite part of our time at the resort as the views were unbelievably beautiful. The style of the hotel and W's attention to detail in the decorating it were something I didn't really think all the pictures I saw prior to booking our stay really did justice. It was more beautiful than any of the pictures I saw on this website, the W website, or Expedia's website. The Hotel exceeded my expectations. Overall, I would and have already highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room... Quieter. Also, an upstairs room will give you the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snow_loves_the_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your experience exceeded your expectations, and we'd love to welcome you back to Vieques again in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Extraordinary, tropical paradise. From the initial planning of this vacation to the last moments on this charming island, the warmth and ease of dealing with the W Retreat & Spa's staff made this journey exceed all expectations. Beginning with connecting with concierge David Maldonado, a native of the island and extremely knowlegeable resident. Every excursion, including kayaking, snorkeling, horseback riding, and one awesome ride in a glider, was managed in detail within our time frame. David is an extraordinary professional, his passion for all the island has to offer, spilling over into his passion for educating us about Vieques.
One of the management team, Wade, was equally priceless. During our weeklong stay, he attended to every crazy detail this girl could come up with including mailing my postcards! His thoughtful attention to assuring this vacation fulfilled and exceeded my expectations is something I will always remember.
I wish I was better at remembering names, because there were so many awesome staff! This vacation was the absolute best! I would recommend Vieques to anyone wanting or needing a complete chillax and rejuvenation! And noone does it like the W!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello,

We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us, and that our staff went above and beyond to make it that much more memorable. We will be sure to share this lovely feedback with David and Wade. We'd love to see you back in paradise, so until then...

Warmest,

Greg White,
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I honeymooned at this resort and we had a lovely time. The reason we enjoyed it so much was the staff. Yaritza, the concierge, was incredibly helpful and professional. Georgie fixed us a drink upon our arrival at the airport (what a guy!). Arelise, the bartender at the hotel, was fun to talk to and gave us lots of tips on what to see, etc.! Jesus served us by the pool and was also very friendly and professional. Overall we were impressed by the quality of service and kindness. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your great feedback here with the Trip Advisor community. We are all thrilled to hear you had a great honeymoon in Vieques, and that our team were a part of what made it so great. We have a wonderful staff here in Vieques, and we're happy they were able to help share the secrets of what makes Vieques so special.

We'd love to welcome you back to the island again in the future, and congratulations to you and your new wife!!

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Service exceptional.
David our concierge was outstanding
friendly, helpful and kind. So organized !
Wade the afternoon manager helped with any detail. I was walking by myself and he got a lighted lantern for me to carry ;)
I was so happy with the both of this employees and their professionalism.
Blaine the pool waiter was super too!
Thanks Everyone
We stayed at the W in Vieques.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMansoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for sharing such nice comments about our service and staff... we're happy to hear they went above and beyond to make your stay great. I'll be sure to share this feedback with Wade, David, and Blaine. We look forward to seeing you back in Vieques!

Warmest,

Greg White,
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in the W this past weekend. It took me like 5 hours to understand the real atmosphere in there. Everything in there has a nice touch of art-deco, so if you are looking for inspirational and relaxing environment this is the place to be.

Also, you will find very romantic rooms, with a everything in it. I stayed in the 635, with a bathtub and separated shower. Water was hot, and fridge was full of beers, snacks, juices and everything you will imagine.

When around the pool visit Wet, the pool bar. Ask for Robert, that in just a couple of hours make us staying more comfortable. He is a rockstar on the bar, and fix us a couple of tropical cocktails very very nice.

In the lobby you will get lucky with Pablo, another guy that make us staying really really great.

Overall the service is excelent, they also remember my name and birthday, thats not a plus, thats a detail.

The restaurant was not really superawesome. It was good, but wasnt at the level of the rest the W show us.

I will comeback for sure here, maybe for new years eve.

Room Tip: 635 pool and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your kind feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the true retreat experience and enjoyed all that the W has to offer. We will be sure to share your feedback with Robert and Pablo, and we look forward to seeing you back in Vieques in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are Starwood Members and this hotel CANNOT be compared to St Regis in Rio Grande, sadly. The service is poor. We stayed three days and only ONE member of the staff said Hello in the morning. We wanted to have a massage and booked one day earlier and when we arrived to the appointement they said it was canceled because they did not have enought staff!!!! We were really sad by this. They did not offered us other options. Our phones were dead and the bathroom door was broken. The front of our rooms where dirty and even the mantainance closet was opened as a safety hazard for our 5 year old nephew. In the restaurant the service was terrible. We went to have breakfast, which was in fact delicious, and after 15 minutes seated someone came to offer us coffe. The pool is nice, especially with the underwater music. We used the kayaks and played volleyball. Good thing is the Jeep rental right inside the hotel. Vieques is beautiful and the beaches are amazing. But this W is not what a W should be.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turquoise_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that the service you encountered did not exceed your expectations, and I'll be working with our teams to address these issues. We want every guest interaction to be a memorable one, so I do apologize if this was not what you experienced. We do hope you'll visit us again in Vieques.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
59.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
45.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
29.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
48.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Property: W Retreat & Spa Vieques
Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing