We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food cafeteria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shawnaa's

Shawnaa's
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food cafeteria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

For what it is, a mid day weekday cafeteria, it can't be beat for money and reasonably tasty food. They pull it out of the kitchen so fast the food does not have time to get old. Very popupar with locals. The best of the budget places to eat in Isabel II.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Instant Gratification”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The spelling on the sign is Shaunaa's and in the phone book is Shauna's but Shawnaa's seems to show up more. This is a spotlessly clean, air conditioned, hard to find parking little island cafeteria that typically has veal, pork chops, fish, and baked chicken, beans and rice, fried plantains, and a small selection of ice cream all freshly prepared (except the ice cream which is in bulk) and ready to go. The staff are in clean, fresh uniforms and greet you with a warm Hola or Buen Dia. You can get the food to go or eat in. Every time I have been there the owner (?) Manuel has been in the dining area and takes a hands on approach to making sure everything runs smoothly and is clean and tidy. One of my favorite places on the island to go for quick, fresh food. One person with drink in the neighborhood of $10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good little lunch spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited Shawnaa's based on the recommendation of the people from our car rental company. It's located in Isabell II. We parked along the street and went in for lunch. I wasn't 100% sure what we were ordering (it's cafeteria style), but what we ended up getting some sort of rice and beans, chicken, and pork, The food was pretty good, not the best we had on the island, but good for what it was. Check it out if you're looking for a quick bite to eat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegretchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Simply very good puertorrican food. Very popular with locals for lunch. Go early since food tends to go fast. A different menu every day, except rice and beans that they serve every day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank navyonsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Grabbed lunch there shortly after arriving on island and getting our rental car (agency employee recommended the place). Food was really tasty and very substantial (think pork, rice, beans and plantains). Very tasty, basic comfort food for a reasonable price. Go hungry!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBarbK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawnaa's also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
 
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Shawnaa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing