We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of the name”
Review of Duffy's

Duffy's
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Puerto Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the name”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Don't confuse this restaurant with Chez Shack, the jungle eatery owned by the REAL Duffy. This recently-opened place on the Esperanza strip run by his son defines inconsistency. My wife had a tremendous blackened Mahi-Mahi sandwich, a huge slab of perfectly cooked fish with yummy waffle fries. I had fish tacos in which the fish was virtually non-existent, accompanied by very stale tortilla chips. Fortunately she got so much fish that I used some of her overflow to stuff my tacos. So I guess wonderful and terrible combine to average. Duffy's son could learn a thing or two about consistent quality from his ol' man.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Cheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    345
    157
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good drinks, decent food”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We had dinner at Duffy's our first night on the island. We both ordered a fried fish/shrimp basket with fries & coleslaw. The food was fine, but nothing special. I LOVED the coleslaw however, yum! I also really liked the Parcharitas! The service was fine and the view of the malecon was great.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfrazer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to relax after a hard day at the Beach”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Salad? Hamburger? Grilled Fish? Beer? Wild island drinks? Duffy's had it all ... and more! Service was great. Atmosphere was just right for a meal overlooking the Malecon. We ate outside and watched the "action" of cars and horses going up and down the road. After dinner, we took a stroll along the water and checked out the local crafts and scene.
What a perfect Vieques restaurant!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancysnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location - Food is Hit and Miss”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We originally ate at this location because we saw some good reviews, it has a great location right across from the beach and water, it was our first night in Vieques, and we were starving. We had heard the best items were the burgers and fish tacos so we ordered both and guess what....they were out of both. To be expected on a small island, so we ordered the wings and quesadilla and both were pretty good! Based on this experience we went back two days later to try the house specialties (burgers and fish tacos) and guess what...not so good. Burger was overly salty and run smothered in globs of cheese and the fish was pretty bland. Overall I'd recommend Duffys for the location, it's a good bar...like a good bar, has bar food...expect that and you'll have a great time....like our first night!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miamitravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner specials on the weekend”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Since Esperanza doesn't have that many restaurants, we ended up at Duffy's several times. Our first visit was the best, on a Saturday evening. I had a lovely grilled fish with a super fresh and tasty organic salad. The service is very friendly.
Laid back atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklyntoMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy's also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Duffy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing