We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience, quality and reasonable prices”

The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Puerto Rican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, quality and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We tried the Tradewinds restaurant for dinner on our last night in Vieques, and were very pleasantly surprised. Great seafood specials (they offered several different fresh fish options on the chalkboard). My wife had grilled swordfish, and I had an excellent paella. Service was friendly and attentive. The decor and vibe of the place is informal, yet elegant. Gorgeous view out over the water. AND I felt the bill was quite reasonable given the over quality and dining experience, especially in comparison to a few of the other "high end" restaurants in Vieques which felt really over priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    166
    76
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest, but excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant has been around a long time. Great beach-side view, good, friendly service. Wonderful broiled lobster, fabulous vegetable quinoa dish, to which you can add seafood. Drinks served in Mason jars. Not trendy, just delicious food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oc-tom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We made reservations, and were able to sit on the patio over looking the sea at sunset. The staff were great, and the food was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oc-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal-great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Deliciously fresh fish served anyway you like it. Outdoor dining overlooking the Malecon and the beautiful ocean. It gets crowed, reservations help but are not necessary.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Messed Up Gringos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had reservations for this spot that were booked many months in advanced. And just before leaving for our trip with friends, we reconfirmed the reservation for two rooms. When we arrived, reservations for only one room were found in the otherwise full house. Certainly, we all can make a mistake, but own up to it. The old foggies that run the joint couldn't decide who to blame for their blunder rather than immediately rectify the situation. Some two hours later, they finally found us accommodations at another spot after we stood our ground. I know they surely wanted us to walk away. Island accommodations are difficult to find for only a night, so take care where you book. I would avoid this place -- too much island relaxation for these owners rather than caring for thier guests.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing