We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest, but excellent food and service”

The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Milford, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest, but excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant has been around a long time. Great beach-side view, good, friendly service. Wonderful broiled lobster, fabulous vegetable quinoa dish, to which you can add seafood. Drinks served in Mason jars. Not trendy, just delicious food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    166
    76
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oc-tom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We made reservations, and were able to sit on the patio over looking the sea at sunset. The staff were great, and the food was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank oc-tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great meal-great view”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Deliciously fresh fish served anyway you like it. Outdoor dining overlooking the Malecon and the beautiful ocean. It gets crowed, reservations help but are not necessary.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Messed Up Gringos”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had reservations for this spot that were booked many months in advanced. And just before leaving for our trip with friends, we reconfirmed the reservation for two rooms. When we arrived, reservations for only one room were found in the otherwise full house. Certainly, we all can make a mistake, but own up to it. The old foggies that run the joint couldn't decide who to blame for their blunder rather than immediately rectify the situation. Some two hours later, they finally found us accommodations at another spot after we stood our ground. I know they surely wanted us to walk away. Island accommodations are difficult to find for only a night, so take care where you book. I would avoid this place -- too much island relaxation for these owners rather than caring for thier guests.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Lobster In the Caribbean”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

David is a wonderful chef - the entire menu is consistently excellent from his own brand of mofongo to his moist pork dishes. But go for his broiled lobster with spiced rum and butter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stonescaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing