We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on Flavor, a Little Short on Ambience”
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Bananas is known as the "Island Meeting Place". We are on island time, which means no worry, no hassle. People from all over come here to drink, eat and people watch. So come on in and have a beer...how about a frozen pina colada? Whatever your poison, let our friendly servers be your host. Want a burger? We have the best burgers in the Caribbean. We also have great wings, huge salads, new vegetarian and vegan entrees and more. We are happy to announce that we have expanded the outside seating area for your enjoyment. New menu items, new drinks and new seating make Bananas your new “old favorite hangout”. Come join us for happy hour Thursday nights UPSTAIRS from 5-7pm: free snacks and a chance to win your bar tab…what could be better?
New England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Long on Flavor, a Little Short on Ambience”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food we had here was really good but the ambience was a little lacking. It's got kind of a picnic vibe but not quite picnic prices, though it was across the street from the water so one could get nice views. I loved the shrimp appetizer (see photo) and the gorgonzola, pesto, roasted garlic bread. I highly recommend both of them. The mojito was meh as was the key lime pie. One kid got the hamburger with the ham, ground beef, and pulled pork and it was so large, she couldn't finish it. She ate it for breakfast the next day so that tells you how much she liked it. Another kid got the steak which she enjoyed despite that it was cooked more "medium well" when she ordered "medium".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlintoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    240
    84
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but extremely expensive”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited during the Holy weekend with the family and ordered some "empanadillas". They were good, but extremely expensive for what they were! Make sure you ask for pricing before you order!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt and Kelly S, Owner at Bananas, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Good Day
Thank you for your review!! Bananas menu price range is from $6 to $19 for ocean front dining. The specials for Easter weekend were priced from $7 to $14 Conch chowder for $7 Two Empanadillas with rice & beans for $12 & Fried Pork Chop with rice & beans for $14 All specials were clearly posted at the front entrance on the extremely large chalk board. I do agree that you can get a empanadilla from a food truck, one for $3. You received 2 empanadillas with rice & beans a server to take your order a ocean view, drinking water, silverware, plate & napkin all in a fully insured business with a licensed to serve food. I feel $12 is NOT EXTREEMLY EXPENSIVE I do agree that our FOOD IS GOOD.
Thanks Again For Your Review & Happy Easter
Kurt & Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I had the Jerk Chicken which was very good. The beans and rice that came with it were very average however. Could have come from a can. My wife had the blackened fish sandwich which she loved and another in our group had the Paella which he also said was excellent. Other than the rice and beans we had good meals.

Helpful?
Thank Ricfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ceviche - delicious”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We went there for lunch. My ceviche was fresh and marinaded well and came with a few plantains. Accompanied by a piña colada made a perfect Vieques lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Marcyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bananas was okay, not bad, but better choices are close by”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ate a couple times at Bananas, but the service and food were only so-so..... Not really bad, but there are better choices

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BenDareDunDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananas also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing