We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Waves
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights after The Waves and loved it. We stayed in the one bedroom unit with a pati overlooking the pool. The rooms were clean, the AC was cold and the grounds were immaculate. We loved having the pool to come home to after spending all day on the beach. Their were umbrellas, coolers, chairs, and floats to take to the beach every day provided by Ian. This was very helpful. The BBQ on site was great and we used it 3 nights on our trip.

Having a child with us, it was nice to be able to relax right outside the room at night and enjoy many cocktails while listening to the ocean and enjoying the breeze.

I have stayed in Esperanza and would definitely stay in Isabel 2 and at The Waves from now on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rookdog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
86
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

While planning our trip I checked out the photos of At the Waves and fell in love with the place. Once we arrived I was amazed to find that it was more beautiful than I imagined. The lovely green lawn, towering palms and gorgeous ocean view was enhanced by bird calls, the sea breeze and rhythmic sighs of the waves. As we settled in, Sandra gave us a map of the island, showing us all the best places to go, and made sure we had everything we needed. She was a wonderful host. Thanks to her excellent advice, we enjoyed a fantastic week of swimming, shopping and sightseeing, not to mention some delicious meals. I loved having my coffee on the patio in the early morning and walking over just a few feet to watch the sun rise over the ocean or strolling along the beach to see what treasures the tide brought in. One morning there was a rainbow from the top of the palm trees out over the water. There were many magical moments here like that... a pair of snowy egrets flying by, a grey heron stopping for a drink at the pool...Maya the dog greeting us at the gate with the gift of a leaf... When it was time to say goodbye we were already planning our next trip back to Vieques and At the Waves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After a few days in Esperanza, we moved to At The Waves for several nights. We were pleasantly surprised at the lovely grounds and accommodations that we found there compared to some of the places and neighborhoods we had seen up to that point . Our 2 bedroom unit was really spacious and having access to the beach (although extremely rocky) was great. We were in Vieques in June/July, which I wouldn't exactly recommend unless you love super high temps, because air conditioners in general just can't keep up that well. But I have to say, the one in our room actually didn't do too bad as long as we kept the door shut. I would absolutely recommend At The Waves for it's location on the ocean, Ian's hospitality, and the fantastic grounds and apartment units.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at At The Waves for almost two weeks in early May 2013 and rented the lower 3bedroom and 2bedroom units with family and friends who came and went at different times, for my husband's 50th bday celebration. From the first day, ATW felt like home. With two kids under the age of three, we had plenty of space in our unit, the pool and surrounding area was great for swimming at the little ones' schedules, held impromptu yoga classes on the lawn overlooking the ocean, we washed clothes as needed on site and cooked and barbequed numerous nights. All this was easily accomplished thanks to the set up at ATW. We would love to stay here again next time we are in Vieques.

Room Tip: Units closer to the beach are much better at natural air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebnem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 5 day stay in Vieques and were incredible pleased with our accomodations. As soon as we arrived I placed a call to Sandra and was provided with directions and tips on the area. We arrived to a gorgeous property with pristine grounds, in ground pool, and the sound of the ocean just 30 feet away. Sandra sat down with us and pointed out all the best beaches on the big map provided to us. She let us know about restaurants in the area based on budget and our taste, and after trying all her recommendations she was right on, and were extremely pleased with our dining experience. Without her little tips and directions it would have been difficulty to navigate the gorgeous but relatively rural island. The 1 bed/1 bath we stayed in was a perfect size for my husband and I. There are windows everywhere and the breeze was always coasting through, and in the bedroom was a great AC if you want it a bit cooler. The pool are is beautiful with a full size grill, outdoor patio, and hammock. If you walk about 30 feet you are at a fence that seperates the yard from the beach and you are literally at the waves. This beach faces the Atlantic and is not great for swimming, but creates beautiful music during your stay and is a frequent travel area for the wild horses that habitate the island. Our room had a full kitchen with dishes, paper towels, utensils, and a full fridge/freezer. The bathroom had soap, beach towels, bath towels, a hair dryer and beautiful open shower. There is also a washer and dryer right on the property with soap and dryer sheets if you want to wash anything. There is nothing negative I can say about the property we were thrilled and would recommend staying at the waves anytime. Thanks again Sandra and Ian for all your help!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed on Vieques for 5 days at At The Waves in late March. We had the perfect vacation. We rented a car through Ron but due to a complication, he was unable to pick us up at the airport. Ian was kind enough to pick us up and transport us to the unit while we waited for our car. He even stopped along the way to let us pick up some drinks and snacks! At The Waves is the perfect location. Right on the beach and super quiet-perfect for relaxing. We stayed in the one bedroom unit and have no complaints. Wifi worked well when we needed it. The rooms were clean and decorated well. The shower is a bit tricky but there are "directions" in the information provided by Ian. It is vital to rent a car and adventure through the island. We loved all of the beaches-especially Caracas! When we return to Vieques, we will definitely be staying at At The Waves again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from Vieques and stayed at At the Waves for a week. It was a great place to stay on the island. Vieques is very laid back and Ian was a great host. We had problems with our US Flights and got there a day late. Jurgen from Acacia car rental was awesome and met us at the Ferry since we could not fly in since all the flights were booked. The accommodations are nice and we had the oceanfront suite which I would recommend. The wi-fi doesn't work in the unit but works fine by the pool and why stay in your room. Ian's book was a great resource to the Island and really helped us get around. We would love to come back soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
5.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.9 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Property: At the Waves
Address: hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing