We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice For Accommodations On Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Waves
parts unknown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Choice For Accommodations On Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed in the one bedroom apartment and must say it was a very relaxing and excellent place to stay. It was very clean and well maintained. We've traveled to many beach destinations and typically stay at these types of places (i.e. VRBO condo's, etc.) and this is one of the best values we've had for it's location, amenities, such as beach chairs, towels and the like. Like others have stated be aware that sitting out on the patio is not totally private however by no means did this interfere with us or bother us at all. Do make sure you understand the directions on how to get there though as it can be quite confusing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackbaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

this was our second time staying at the waves. We chose it again for its price, location, views, kitchen and washer dryer. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment. The patio is right between the two other apartments, so you get to talk with everybody as they go by. I mention this is case privacy is a concern. The kitchen is adequate for basic meal prep, but there is no oven. Nice pool with lounge chairs. Having a washer/dryer is great. We stayed for two weeks with only two back packs worth of clothing! We will stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuAnne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The short and sweet of it is that this is a great place to stay while visiting Vieques. Everything advertised and said in reviews holds true. Located at a dead end cul-de-sac in a residential neighborhood just outside of Isabel II, At The Waves (ATW) offers everything you would need from a large hotel, but provides much more with the roomy and comfortable apartments, and friendly service.

My wife and I stayed in the two bedroom downstairs unit closest to the beach in January 2013. A constant ocean breeze kept us most comfortable at any time of the day or night with just the ceiling fans. The air conditioning was not needed once. The well stocked kitchen was put to use for cooking our fresh lobster and fish purchased from the local pescaderia. While quite inviting, we did not use the pool - if outside, our preference was to take the twenty steps to the beach instead. If one were to stay at ATW only a couple of days and just wanted to "unplug" and relax, you could definitely enjoy the beach here. However, it is mostly sandy but with some rock, and at least during our stay, the waves were a little too rough for casual swimming or snorkeling. Sitting on the beach was still quite relaxing nevertheless.

Ian, the owner/manager of ATW, was quite helpful from first contact via email, and all of his recommendations were spot on. As others have said, the information book that he has in each unit is a bible of knowledge for what to do and where to go on the island.

As for Vieques in general, a car is an unfortunate necessity in order to go to the different beaches. However, you can walk to town, as we did several times. The most beautiful beaches with sand and less waves are on the other side of the island, located on Federal land where there aren't hotels or even private residences. Of course not having development is one of the reasons why the beaches are so pristine and beautiful! The snorkeling isn't as good as we've had at other places, but just being underwater for highlanders such as us is relaxing enough. We were not expecting much in regards to restaurants, but were pleasantly surprised, with our favorite being El Quenepo. We would definitely recommend doing the Bio Bay tour - a very unique experience.

We would definitely come back to Vieques and stay at ATW. We would also consider bringing our young children in a couple of years. While we were a couple visiting at a time when the other guests were couples as well, I would recommend bringing a family and not feeling like you would disrupt anyone else. Also, if all of the units were available simultaneously, ATW would make for an excellent group retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWallHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I spent six nights in the second floor, three-bedroom unit (obviously much more space than we needed but we planned our trip last minute). The unit was very clean and well-furnished. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable and the attached bathroom was huge with a large, beautifully-tiled shower. There are AC units in the bedrooms but we never used them, preferring the ceiling fans and ocean breeze. The kitchen had everything we needed and we ate all our breakfasts and several of our dinners there, enjoying the outdoor patio's ocean views. The unit also includes beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, and snorkeling gear. Ian was great- he even picked us up from the airport and stopped at the local grocery store so we could stock up for our first day. He also has a binder put together with information on local beaches, tours, restaurants, etc. that we found very helpful.

We definitely recommend staying here! It was wonderful to hear the sounds of the ocean at night and we loved being able to walk up to town- Isabel II is a fantastic little village with lots of charm. Do be advised that there are three dogs on the property, but they're very laid-back and weren't a problem for us at all. And yes, as other reviews have mentioned, there are some small rust stains on a couple walls but they're tiny and not at all indicative of the overall care Ian very obviously takes to maintain the property. If you're looking for a relaxing stay in Vieques close to the water, you can't beat At the Waves!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_Ohio_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Vieques was an unknown for our group and we wanted to make sure that we had a great home base. After reading all of the reviews on TripAdvisor and VRBO we settled on "At the Waves". It did not disappoint. This property is gorgeous. The grounds are meticulously kept. The unit we stayed in was great. The location is unbelievable.
As for Vieques, the island is fairly untouched and rustic which is great. There are some really good restaurants (we thought we would cook all week, but ate out every dinner). But the best part of Vieques are the BEACHES! Turquoise water, different color sand, remote, abundant sea life, quiet, are all terms you could use to describe Vieques beaches. There were many days that we were the only people on a beach and we went during the "High" season.
We are coming back and looking to rent for a month ... if not a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

If I could give this 10 stars I would! My husband and I got married in Vieques in August 2012. We brought down our immediate family and a few of our closest friends and we worked with Ian to rent out the entire "At the Waves". It was PERFECTION. The view from the property is amazing - to be right on the water was so relaxing and set an amazing ambiance. The pool and patio area around the pool was the perfect hang out spot for everyone. The water was so warm and was kept very clean. We used the grill every day! And the buildings/rooms were perfect. Very nicely redone and the right amount of space. Each one has a great outdoor deck or patio area to hang out, eat dinner, or what not. Plenty of parking. and in a quiet neighborhood which can be hard to find on Vieques. There are also coolers and beach chairs & umbrellas for every unit. And Ian was the most gracious host. After our ceremony we wanted to come back and have a mini reception with our family but by that time it would be dark, so when we mentioned this to Ian he went out and bought and installed lights in the patio area around the pool! We cannot recommend this place highly enough!! Thanks to Ian for hosting a wedding and weekend with our family we will never forget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I decided to take our family and our baby as a holiday present to Vieques. A freind had recommended us to stay At the Waves and we couldn't be more thankful. The place is beautiful, clean and it has everything you need. We love being able to hear the waves while we peacefully slept. We highly recommend this place to anyone who likes to have a relaxing and fun vacation. Ian at the Waves was very accomodating and pleasant to work with, he made sure we felt welcome and well attended. My family was inquiring for more information because they want to go back. The place is better than what you see in the photos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elithumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Property: At the Waves
Address: hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing