We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At the Waves
Nearby Hotels
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Coral Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Tortuga(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaGate Hotel(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Esperanza Inn(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$105
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Guest House(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vieques Guesthouse(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
181
20
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
20
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster bathroomnice beach chairsour home away from homebeach equipmentpuerto ricothe great reviewsshort driveunitaccommodationsoceanpropertyviequesislandgasdanacaribbeanprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 201 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom second-floor condo near the end of January. This was our second trip to Vieques, but the first staying at Ian's place. We would definitely come back to At the Waves. The location is perfect, and so is the condo.

Top features: oceanfront property, nice landscaping, a/c in bedrooms, luxurious master shower, helpful host

It's hard to find a reasonably priced oceanfront property in Vieques, especially one that is so well maintained. Ian takes a lot of care to make sure his landscaping is perfect and the units are well equipped. We loved walking along the beach in front of the property before or after our daily excursions to the many other beaches on the other side of the island. And the oceanfront pool was a welcome treat at the end of the day. Ian provides coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, umbrellas, sand toys, and snorkeling gear - nothing to bring! It was more than we could have expected.

Recommendations: Fly straight to Vieques after arriving in San Juan - don't waste any time there! Rent a car - it's the best way to see all of the island. Eat at Shaunaa's for lunch and Taverna for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I don't have anything new to add to the other comments - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Waves. There were seven of us and we stayed in the two bedroom by the ocean and the three bedroom upstairs. Both units were clean and well stocked. Ian was traveling so Sandra got us oriented - she had great advice and inside tips. Our girls loved the resident dogs (very well behaved!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

At the Waves is a place we will DEFINITELY return to! I read many reviews and was impressed with them, but they are no comparison to the actual experience.

My significant other and I went to At the Waves for 4 days (Dec. 15-19) and then to San Juan to stay at Condrad Hotel and Casino... and, like everyone has said in past reviews, we both agreed we should have stayed in Vieques for the other two nights... But having never been to Puerto Rico, we were happy to see San Juan, and Old San Juan too.

Ian was a great source of information, and again, as in other reviews, recommended Juergen for car rentals... GREAT people!!! The island is a gem in the Caribbean/Atlantic, and we look forward to returning, hopefully with more people to enjoy a relaxing, beautiful, memorable experience.

I have nothing bad to say about the entire trip! Everything was amazing!!!!! We even found a place to watch the Green Bay Packers play (Belly Buttons in Esperanza) - what a seat - at a bar, on the caribbean ocean, watching the Packers play in December. Best seat in the house! :-D

Room Tip: Just note, the drive to At the Waves from the airport can be a little confusing the first time, we did get in when it was dark out though, had it been during the day, it would not have been a problem. :-D
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeMC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend wanted some down time so we took a two week trip to Puerto Rico and spent 6 nights at At the Waves. Never having been to Vieques, I was challenged to pick a area for our visit. After some research I decided on the Isabel II area.... more facilities close by and the breezy Atlantic side.

At the Waves was the perfect location. It is right on the water and in a quiet Bravos Beach neighborhood.

We had the one bedroom apartment and while not directly facing the water, it was well situated. The apartment itself was perfect. Fully equipped with all the necessities and very clean.The bathroom with the walk-in shower was awesome.

Ian was very helpful with ideas and suggestions for our time on Vieques. He provides a small binder full of information which even though we had three guidebooks for PR, became our primary guide. We took it along with us each day.

Ian also provides access to a repository of full beach set up.... chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, mats, coolers and towels. Perfect for the fine beaches on Vieques

We spent many hours sitting in the chairs above the beach watching the waves and pelicans diving for fish.

Other reviewers reported issues with privacy etc. Only one other unit was occupied during our visit and we had no issues. I can see that if fully occupied there could be some issues with noise etc especially if there are families with children, although I think it would not be a major issue unless the children were completely out of control.

It was a great visit and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TahoeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

At the Waves has lost none of it's charm even after our third visit. The pictures totally represent the reality. Clean, quiet, relaxing, accommodating, and thoroughly worth the effort to get there.
Everything worked fine, the pool was clean, the grounds maintained properly and of course the dogs were friendly and entertaining. We stayed in the two bedroom unit that faced the ocean side and never tired of hearing the gentle roar of the surf. We could have just stayed on the property and relaxed our 9 days away but this island has some really nice beaches on it's south side. On our first two visits we had pretty much gained a working knowledge of where to go and what to do. So this time we didn't need to rely on Ian's knowledge of the Isle but he is one of the better hosts We've met.
We decided to add bloody Mary's to our routine and lo and behold horseradish is not available on Vieques. Ian gave us a bottle and some tomato juice to boot. He is very charming and runs his resort in a professional and friendly manner. We give him and his 2 thumbs up.
Hints: Rent a vehicle the best beaches are in the national wildlife resort which is about 11 miles from At the Waves and worth the drive. Pack a lunch. Juergen - abreezevieques@aol.com is an excellent choice for vehicle rental. Be careful driving can be hazardous. Stopping at stop signs and signaling for turns are usually optional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Searching_For_BluH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews