We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Honeymoon”
Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Waves
1 review
“Relaxing Honeymoon”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My wife and I recently took our Honeymoon At The Waves in vieques PR. The host Ian was very kind and gave us a much larger unit with 3bdrms and two bathrooms! The property was very beautiful and well maintained. This was the most relaxing vacation ever taken by us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
89
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was our Best Family Vacation ever, Ian was a wonderful host, and provide us with tons of information about the island, activities, rental cars and transportation to and from the island. The ocean view from the villa is spectacular and listening and watching the waves in the morning with a cup of coffee or in the evening with cocktail was so relaxing. The villas are wonderful, comfortable and equipped with all the comforts of home including beach chairs and beach towels. All we can say is we can't wait to go back! :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bludove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

At the Waves is right on the water. The views are amazing! We were there in late October and with the breeze off the water we didn't even turn the air on. We felt more like residents than tourists. We made some of our own meals and used the grill. Sleeping accomodations were very comfortable. The bathrooms are good size, too. We also made good use of the pool. We used the laundry facilities while we were there. We walked into Isabella Segunda a couple of times to a local lunch place Al Fogon. It's a short drive to the "touristy" side of the island at Esperanza and the beaches. We had a massage therapist come to us (Ingrid Bergman-great!) It was very relaxing. The owner was accessible if we needed him. It was the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had a great time at the waves. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. The kitchen had all the necesities for cooking! Owner provided a wealth of information of all the local resources. He was available at all times and he even picked us from the airport. He went out of his way to provide us whith special request like a large pot for a lobster cooking adventure. The facilities were clean, nice pool and wonderful ocean views. There is a bbq on site and came in handy to cook some of our meals. Beach is literally steps from the house, and found tons of shells, sea glass as well as sea life. Great walking beach. There was enough secure parking even when the all the units were full. We met some of the other tenents and the layout of the units facilitate interaction among renters. We definitive recommend staying at the waves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thank you, Ian, for your help, attention to detail, beautifully kept grounds, perfect pool and comfortable accommodations. We enjoyed every minute of our 10 days "At the Waves". Chris and I would love to return!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had a great time. We had everything we needed beautiful ocean view, really nice pool, and very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldpro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed in the one-bedroom suite for 5 nights in May. We wish we could have stayed much longer! The property is just beautiful and the suite was perfect for a couple. We spent each morning drinking coffee looking over the ocean in the lounge chairs under the palm trees. During the day we explored the island with our jeep and spent most evenings walking along the beach right out front collecting sea glass. There are beach chairs, sun umbrellas and coolers to take to the beach. The pool and BBQ area are wonderful. We would highly recommend Vieques and At the Waves and hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandTinLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Property: At the Waves
Address: hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing