We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's serenade”
Review of Rainforest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainforest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nature's serenade”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights, which was not long enough to completely absorb all the natural beauty this B&B had to offer! The setting was perfect! Out of the way and secluded, but yet just 4 miles from the main highway. The entire property was covered with either tropical flowers and trees, with the floral aroma in the air. One of the parts I enjoyed the most, was lying in bed with the windows open, listening to the sounds of the night, lulling us to sleep! Fantastic!! I don't where else we could have had such beautiful accomodations on the edge of the El Yunque Rainforest. Melanie made the most wonderful breakfasts and was a wealth of information about Puerto Rico. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The chalet is HUGE!! There is a room that overlooks the property, a kitchen, and a much smaller bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
204
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved every second of our short stay here! Everyone should visit this secluded paradise. If you appreciate a strong dose of wilderness with your luxury vacation, you should come here. Let the forest lull you to sleep and then wake up to a gourmet breakfast in the morning. No jungle lizard has ever been more sated on food, rum, hospitality, and lush ambience than these happy travelers. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onestarwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed upstairs in the chalet for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! Bill, Laurie, and the staff were very helpful and really made our stay great!
I talked to Bill a couple times on the phone while booking the trip and he also gave recommendations for places to stay and go for the remainder of our week trip in Puerto Rico. I slightly injured my knee one week before arriving so I was not able to do the hike on their property. However, Bill recommended a secret trail in the rain forest that I could handle with my knee, and it was amazing with a nice size waterfall and swimming area. Bill also guided us to an awesome private beach in Fajardo.
The breakfast was really fantastic and included fresh juice or fresh smoothies. The breakfast they provide is vegetarian, I am vegan and they prepared a special breakfast for me for no additional charge. I thought that was nice since they only prepare breakfast for 4-6 people. My wife is not vegan and she really enjoyed the breakfasts as well.
The chalet was really great for us because it included a full size stove in the kitchen. It is basically a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor with a three sided balcony. The Villa doesn't have a stove but it is larger and has a fireplace. I recommend you fully reviewing their website before you book. I was a little worried about the lack of air conditioning, but it was very comfortable and they have fans throughout which is sufficient when it’s warmer during the day. At night it is amazing to have the windows open and listen to the coqui frogs and critters of the rainforest. The property is beautiful and peaceful as well as secure.
I highly recommend the Rainforest Inn if you are planning a trip to Puerto Rico!

Room Tip: The chalet has a full size stove / oven in the kitchen and the villa only has the microwave. We prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsfl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Rainforest Inn for 3 days as a getaway after attending a huge, 3-day wedding in San Juan. This was (for the most part) the place to find the relaxation that we needed.

Pros: We stayed in the Humphrey Villa, and it was beautiful! There were two beds, one that looked out into the rainforest. The patio outside the Villa had great views of the rainforest and the ocean beyond. The bed was super comfortable. The Villa came with a couch, eating area, and a clawfoot tub in the bathroom. At night, we could hear the Coqui frogs all around us as well as all the other sounds of the rainforest. Even though there was no air conditioning, they had many fans in the room and we kept some windows open to let in the nice cool breeze. Also, breakfast in the morning was delicious! They give you something new each day, and they were able to accommodate our vegetarian diet perfectly. The owners are very nice, but, I should add, not always present.

Cons: Unfortunately, it rained for half the time we spent there so we did not get to experience the hike near their property as it tends to get very slippery. Instead, we hiked some of the trails out of El Portal (the entrance to El Yunque) which was very nice and about a 15-20 minute drive away. However, maybe because of the rain, we got a lot of visitors during the nights that we stayed. Some were expected and not too bothersome like a stink bug that we let out and a lizard on the wall that we just ignored since they're everywhere. However, on one night, we saw a cockroach in the bathroom and that we found unacceptable. We had just returned from a day at the beach and a night kayaking in the biobay, looking forward to a nice long shower, only to find a cockroach in the bathroom. We weren't able to get rid of it since it moved really fast and before we could, it went and hid itself under the wooden planks that cover the drain in the shower. So, that made a shower impossible, which was annoying to say the least, and made both my boyfriend and I very wary of entering the bathroom. While most other creatures are expected, cockroaches are harbingers of dirt so this definitely dampened our relaxed spirit. Also, on another note, the rooms were always tidy when we returned. However, we did use the clawfoot tub which I noted was not cleaned.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheAimlessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestinn, Owner at Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Cockroaches up here in the rainforest aren’t the ones you’re used to in the city. They are not the “American Cockroach” or “water bug”. They are the same size as the Florida “palmetto bug” and look very similar but don’t make an odor when disturbed. We are nature lovers at the rainforest inn and love all our creatures great and small but because we are a bed and breakfast we do have to occasionally fumigate the rooms – and we take pride in maintaining their pristine cleanliness (which you can see form the many other positive comments in other reviews about that). We don’t go in and clean rooms though when the guests are there as we respect our guest’s privacy even more, thus our sometimes not getting to clean a bathtub after it’s first use. We are also careful when fumigating to never allow those pesticides in the surrounding rainforest or in our organic gardens and koi pond. Because we respect the rainforest and don’t fog the grounds we are also one of the few places in all of Puerto Rico where there are no mosquitoes. The many coquis, anoles (a type of lizard), dragon flies, and bats eat them all before they have a chance to make it to anyone’s skin. So if you plan to stay at the rainforest inn we hope that you will appreciate all the rainforest critters as much as we do and not mind when an occasional coqui or lizard is enjoying your room too and by all means if you see a cockroach let us know and will bring out the coackroach-busting gear and banish them for you! Also our dog Maya patrols the property and has been keeping the boas and other larger creatures away (but you can still see them on our private trail).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Rainforest Inn's for 4 nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had rented the "Villa" which has a magnificent view over the rainforest and the cost below. The room was in excellent condition, clean and well presented, to the point that we instantly felt at home.

We were a bit worried initially because of the mixed reviews regarding the owners. In our case we had no problems and in fact found the owner (Bill) and the other staff to be very forthcoming. For a start, we accidentally arrived a day earlier than our reservation stated, but luckily the room was free and after a few deliberations, they offered us to either stay 3 nights and leave a day earlier than reserved or to stay a day longer, which we ended up doing. Bill gave us some excellent advice on lesser known hiking trails and told us about the "hidden" waterfall that's just a half hour hike away. They even helped us to get the outdoor grill working one evening, so I really have nothing to complain about.

Also, the breakfast is really a sight. I'm very much a breakfast person and was delighted by the inventive and freshly prepared varying delicacies they served up every morning. We ended up buying some of their home-made papaya-chilli-sauce because it was just so good!

We'd definitely come back here. Highly recommended and well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaGaMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were staying in one of the vacation rentals managed by Bill & Laurie nearby and they invited us to breakfast with them one morning. The food was delicious. Asparagus and Parmesan omelette, croissant with the most divine Guava butter I have ever tasted and mango mimosas. I am still dreaming of that Guava butter.

The company was delightful and the kids actually had a blast following one of the lovely volunteer girls around picking cherry tomatoes and helping water the garden.

While guests under 12 are not permitted at the rainforest inn I would attempt to find any excuse for a romantic getaway to the Rainforest Inn, it was just so special and tranquil. We loved the grounds and had a great wonder around looking at it. You can read more on my blog.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The photos you see in tripadvisor are a shadow of how beautiful the Rainforest Inn actually is. The Inn and host Bill & Laurie along with the staff are great! If you have the chance to stay anywhere in Puerto Rico, stay at the Rainforest Inn.... It is sure to be the highlight of your stay.

Room Tip: Check the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Yunque National Forest
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
19.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
456 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
#3 of 4 in Naguabo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Inn

Property: Rainforest Inn
Address: PR 186 KM 22. 1 | Rio Grande, PR, El Yunque National Forest 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the El Yunque rain forest of Puerto Rico. We have hikes to secluded swimming holes and mountainside waterfalls right out our background. We have no air conditioning, radios, or TV but we do offer quilts on the beds (it's cool up here in the mountains). If you are a nature lover you will love staying here. We have two bedroom chalet with baths and complete kitchen. There is a tremendous view from your window. Close to Luquillo Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hotel El Yunque National Forest
Rainforest Inn Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing