We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming back again soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainforest Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coming back again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Chalet the last three days of July and absolutly loved it. The rooms were always clean and the property was safe and secure. There was even a safe in the master bedroom. Bill and Laurie were wonderful. Laurie makes the best breakfast and Bill took the time to give us a tour of the grounds. Both were friendly and kind. Sometimes it's those little extra's that make a stay so memorable. I highly recomend staying here on your next visit to the island.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts and the beautiful grounds.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
87
195
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Rainforest Inn is a wonderful eco-lodge (meaning they want to protect the environment but they don’t drive you nuts with rules) on the literal edge of El Yunque. It’s away, but yet 30 minutes and less to all kinds of adventures and good food. For us, it was THE MARVELOUS quiet retreat we needed, plus quick access to rainforest hiking which made us feel virtuous and further rested our minds. The roomy villa where we stayed is equipped for snacking and reading. You sleep (in good beds) in the middle of a melodious symphony of the coqui and are awakened with Laurie’s beautiful feast she calls breakfast. Bill and Laurie are welcoming and informative and careful not to be intrusive hosts. It was the best part of Puerto Rico and we’ll carry the memories with us always.

  • Liked — A beautiful place to relax
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyColumbiaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

we spent 3 days up in the hills cooling out after 4 days down at the beaches and out in the water in hot august. our favorite moment was when the temp guage in the rental car went from 98 degrees when we departed the marina from our day sail/snorkle to 78 degrees when we drove up to bill/laurie's place during an afternoon rain shower. the chalet was a peaceful, perfect sleeping, lounging, and exploring point. looking out over the chalet balcony after our gourmet breakfast at the future site of a pool and yoga room, i made a mental note, i'll be back.

  • Liked — it was like a home
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

My husband and I spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon at the Rainforst Inn and we loved it. We stayed in the Villa which is beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. Hosts Bill and Laurie were not only friendly but had great ideas and suggestions about where to go and what to do in the area. A hearty, delicious breakfast was served to us every morning on the back patio (cooked by Laurie-especially loved the ginger pancakes!). We highly recommend this place and will defintely be back!!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owego, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

We just had a wonderful stay at the rainforest inn. We were two families and took over the whole place! The accomodations are wonderful and the breakfasts were lovely. We had just come from Rincon where the crashing of the waves put us to sleep each night, at the rainforest inn the coquis and other night creatures seranade you. If you are visiting PR, I definately recommend that you take at least three days to enjoy the rainforest and stay at the Inn. It is a good 20-25 minute commute to the rainforest welcome center from the Inn but to stay in such a nice place it is well worth it.

  • Liked — location and quality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pairadice_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

We had a great experience at the Rainforest Inn, we booked The Chalet for 3 days as a honeymoon and it was worth every penny. The rooms were clean, homey, nicely decorated with fresh floral arrangements that looked quite artistic and expensive but came right form the B&B's yard. Bill and Laurie were friendly and Lauries breakfasts were lovely artistic creations. My favorite was the asparagus omlette sourdough toast with fresh fruit and fresh squeezed OJ. My only disappointment was that there was a $70.00 charge for a guided hike for 2 to the private waterfall and pool that was on the 5 acre gronds, I felt that it was rather like charging to swim in a hotel pool, that it should be complimentary. Sadly we didnt go because we were unwilling to pay quite that much. Overall our stay was very relaxing, the nights were peaceful and cool and the buzz of the Coquis was meditative and calming. I cant wait to go to again.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaiamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was such an amazing place to stay! I have been home for about a week, and i am already wishing that i was back at the Rainforest Inn. I thought the pictures on the website didn't do it justice, the accomadations were beautiful! Being able to sleep with the windows open was great, I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the rain forest, and the breeze was amazing. I slept so soundly. Also, one of the best parts was waking up to find a delicious breakfast wating for you. I enjoyed eating outside on the patio, the views were breathtaking. I will definitely have to say that the coolest thing was getting tips from Bill on what to do in Puerto Rico. We learned of the best restaurants, hikes, waterfalls, etc. We couldn't beleive how full our days were! We just wanted to keep exploring. I cannot wait to return to the Inn, and since we've been home i have been non-stop recommending it to people! If you are looking for a "non touristy" vacation where you can actually experience nature and the beauty of the rain forest........this is the place for you!!!!
You will return home having truly experienced a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jne326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Yunque National Forest
7.0 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
12.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Inn

Property: Rainforest Inn
Address: PR 186 KM 22. 1 | Rio Grande, PR, El Yunque National Forest 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the El Yunque rain forest of Puerto Rico. We have hikes to secluded swimming holes and mountainside waterfalls right out our background. We have no air conditioning, radios, or TV but we do offer quilts on the beds (it's cool up here in the mountains). If you are a nature lover you will love staying here. We have two bedroom chalet with baths and complete kitchen. There is a tremendous view from your window. Close to Luquillo Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hotel El Yunque National Forest
Rainforest Inn Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing