We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic stay in paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Puerto Rico for the first time this past week. Having never traveled to this country, we were excited to stay in a guesthouse owned by a native Puerto Rican, Nilda. Nilda treated us like family, opening her home and traditions to us. She was easy to contact via cell phone, and even met us in town the first night to direct us to the property (it's up a windy road, but is easily navigable once you've driven it a couple of times). The guesthouse is by no means a hotel or resort, but that is the beauty of it. Sure, the decor is outdated, but it's exactly what you'd expect if you were staying with an aunt or grandma. Our room was equipped with a little counter and sink, mini fridge, microwave, futon sofa, king-size bed, and bathroom. Everything was very modest and simple. Thank goodness for the air conditioning since it was so humid! The views of the ocean on one side and the rainforest on the other are truly remarkable. Nilda takes time to make recommendations to make your stay full and enjoyable. She makes breakfast every morning and takes care of anything you need. To be honest, we just enjoyed relaxing in the clean, beautiful pool, taking it all in. There is no website for this place, so it is best to contact Nilda directly via cell phone. If you are looking for an authentic, personal experience, I recommend staying here. It was a truly lovely experience, and we have Nilda and her family to thank.

Room Tip: Room number 4 in front of the pool is roomy with a beautiful view just steps from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Puerto Rico on 14th March, and we were booked at La Paloma for 15th and 16th March. We found the place very secluded and set in a picturesque background of rolling hills and green trees overlooking the blue ocean and its surrounding islands like Vieques. The view was amazing. The room by the pool side was very neat and the sleeping arrangements were adequate. You will probably take some time to get adjusted to the continuous sound of coquis made day and night. The best thing about our stay was Nilda, our host. We have seldom come across such a heart warming lady who treated us as family the whole time we stayed with her. She cooked us home cooked food which gave us a taste of typical Puerto Rican cuisine, told us about amazing secret beaches which only the locals know. If you think seven seas beach is amazing , then you have not seen enough. :) Ask her about Playa Azul, and trust us it will blow your mind. She made us awesome brunches and delightful dinners at night. We remember one night she showed us her taino indian rituals and made us appreciate life under the stars, it was a very different experience, her love of life, openly affectionate gestures and spontaneity will leave its mark even when you leave. We found Puerto Rican people particularly warm but Nilda is still a standout. She even caught a coqui for us and offered us a handson experience with this tiny but Puerto Rican precious frog!
Having said that you should be aware that this is not a five star resort. The amenities are not A class and if you are looking for such a place then La Paloma will disappoint you. Also this is not exactly in El Yunque, it's in Cieba. But since it's a small place, the distance from El Yunque is only around 12-15 miles, hence just a 20 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

With trips to Puerto Rico or any other country one has to watch out for scams, or dangerous locals blah blah blah... We stayed at La Paloma Guest House with our host Nilda... and we will stay with her every time we come back.

Upfront- This isn't a ritz carlton or other fancy hotel by any means, This is private home with guest house on the property separated by a pool. its living like a true Puerto Rican!

My girlfriend and I's personal opinion on the stay- From the second we arrived at the guest house we were family! Nilda is the most caring, cute, sweet Taino/Puerto Rican lady/host I have come across. Its a truly unique experience being able to wake up and look outside to see mountains. She took her time to tell us about her Taino (native Puerto Rican Indian) heritage as well as different things about Puerto Rico, even catching us some Coqui's! The breakfast was scrambled ham and eggs on top of a delicious coconut style bread. Her kids were even nice enough to bring us down to a local river, nothing big but its nice to see the whole family pitches in. Even one of the two dogs Duke was a sweet heart and if you ask him, he would jump up to your stomach and hug you (our hearts melted) the other was nice just shy.

I would recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Puerto Rico and wanting to get off the Beaten path. I can go on for a lot longer, but you should experience it yourself! We will miss our Temporary family we had with Nilda! ~~~ Javier T. and Jessica M.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaviT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Unbeatable view, nice pool, VERY kind and accommodating people. Clean rooms and comfy beds. Slightly on the rustic side which is fun, and overall I'd say it was lovely and is totally a worthwhile place to stay. I'd definitely go back.
Bella B

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We also came from Culebra, also a penta of 5. Two teens, and the experience we had with Nilda was beyond words. She took us in as one of her family and we all preformed a Moon Ritual with her and her family in her circle of stones one clear evening. Drumming, making wishes around a fire her Grandson Danny built. Tiana her daughter on a drum, with her daughter Tiffany and Son Joey. She showed us her Tiano artifacts and petricliffs and where to walk a more remote trail with the Guide Robin Phillips. We all had an amazing spiritual time we will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only had one night to stay here. we came over from Culebra on the Ferry after 8 nights and wanted to visit the rain Forrest the next day. there were 5 of us including 3 adult girls ages 21,19, and 18. Nilda was awesome. we all regretted having to leave the next morning. Had we known what a wonderful hostess Nilda and her family were and the things they could have shown us, we would have planned differently. Oh well.. next year well get them to take us to see the Monkeys! :)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nilda is great, and the guest house truly is in a stunning location, although rather remote. It’s on the edge of the rainforest, but don’t let that fool you into thinking this is a convenient location for a visit to El Yunque – it takes almost an hour to drive back around to the park entrance; you’d be just as close staying in San Juan! Nilda will rent out her extended family members to drive you around if you don’t have a car, though they’ll charge quite a bit for this “service” (it’s still cheaper than a taxi though). I didn’t go in the swimming pool but it looked nice enough. Beware the mosquitos at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Address: (787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range: $65 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Hotel El Yunque National Forest
La Paloma Guest House Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing