We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
53
19
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
19
5
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 81 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Puerto Rico on 14th March, and we were booked at La Paloma for 15th and 16th March. We found the place very secluded and set in a picturesque background of rolling hills and green trees overlooking the blue ocean and its surrounding islands like Vieques. The view was amazing. The room by the pool side was very neat and the sleeping arrangements were adequate. You will probably take some time to get adjusted to the continuous sound of coquis made day and night. The best thing about our stay was Nilda, our host. We have seldom come across such a heart warming lady who treated us as family the whole time we stayed with her. She cooked us home cooked food which gave us a taste of typical Puerto Rican cuisine, told us about amazing secret beaches which only the locals know. If you think seven seas beach is amazing , then you have not seen enough. :) Ask her about Playa Azul, and trust us it will blow your mind. She made us awesome brunches and delightful dinners at night. We remember one night she showed us her taino indian rituals and made us appreciate life under the stars, it was a very different experience, her love of life, openly affectionate gestures and spontaneity will leave its mark even when you leave. We found Puerto Rican people particularly warm but Nilda is still a standout. She even caught a coqui for us and offered us a handson experience with this tiny but Puerto Rican precious frog!
Having said that you should be aware that this is not a five star resort. The amenities are not A class and if you are looking for such a place then La Paloma will disappoint you. Also this is not exactly in El Yunque, it's in Cieba. But since it's a small place, the distance from El Yunque is only around 12-15 miles, hence just a 20 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

With trips to Puerto Rico or any other country one has to watch out for scams, or dangerous locals blah blah blah... We stayed at La Paloma Guest House with our host Nilda... and we will stay with her every time we come back.

Upfront- This isn't a ritz carlton or other fancy hotel by any means, This is private home with guest house on the property separated by a pool. its living like a true Puerto Rican!

My girlfriend and I's personal opinion on the stay- From the second we arrived at the guest house we were family! Nilda is the most caring, cute, sweet Taino/Puerto Rican lady/host I have come across. Its a truly unique experience being able to wake up and look outside to see mountains. She took her time to tell us about her Taino (native Puerto Rican Indian) heritage as well as different things about Puerto Rico, even catching us some Coqui's! The breakfast was scrambled ham and eggs on top of a delicious coconut style bread. Her kids were even nice enough to bring us down to a local river, nothing big but its nice to see the whole family pitches in. Even one of the two dogs Duke was a sweet heart and if you ask him, he would jump up to your stomach and hug you (our hearts melted) the other was nice just shy.

I would recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Puerto Rico and wanting to get off the Beaten path. I can go on for a lot longer, but you should experience it yourself! We will miss our Temporary family we had with Nilda! ~~~ Javier T. and Jessica M.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaviT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Unbeatable view, nice pool, VERY kind and accommodating people. Clean rooms and comfy beds. Slightly on the rustic side which is fun, and overall I'd say it was lovely and is totally a worthwhile place to stay. I'd definitely go back.
Bella B

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We also came from Culebra, also a penta of 5. Two teens, and the experience we had with Nilda was beyond words. She took us in as one of her family and we all preformed a Moon Ritual with her and her family in her circle of stones one clear evening. Drumming, making wishes around a fire her Grandson Danny built. Tiana her daughter on a drum, with her daughter Tiffany and Son Joey. She showed us her Tiano artifacts and petricliffs and where to walk a more remote trail with the Guide Robin Phillips. We all had an amazing spiritual time we will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only had one night to stay here. we came over from Culebra on the Ferry after 8 nights and wanted to visit the rain Forrest the next day. there were 5 of us including 3 adult girls ages 21,19, and 18. Nilda was awesome. we all regretted having to leave the next morning. Had we known what a wonderful hostess Nilda and her family were and the things they could have shown us, we would have planned differently. Oh well.. next year well get them to take us to see the Monkeys! :)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews