We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit with a Tiano Shaman Mother Earth Grandmother.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We also came from Culebra, also a penta of 5. Two teens, and the experience we had with Nilda was beyond words. She took us in as one of her family and we all preformed a Moon Ritual with her and her family in her circle of stones one clear evening. Drumming, making wishes around a fire her Grandson Danny built. Tiana her daughter on a drum, with her daughter Tiffany and Son Joey. She showed us her Tiano artifacts and petricliffs and where to walk a more remote trail with the Guide Robin Phillips. We all had an amazing spiritual time we will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for La Paloma Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only had one night to stay here. we came over from Culebra on the Ferry after 8 nights and wanted to visit the rain Forrest the next day. there were 5 of us including 3 adult girls ages 21,19, and 18. Nilda was awesome. we all regretted having to leave the next morning. Had we known what a wonderful hostess Nilda and her family were and the things they could have shown us, we would have planned differently. Oh well.. next year well get them to take us to see the Monkeys! :)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nilda is great, and the guest house truly is in a stunning location, although rather remote. It’s on the edge of the rainforest, but don’t let that fool you into thinking this is a convenient location for a visit to El Yunque – it takes almost an hour to drive back around to the park entrance; you’d be just as close staying in San Juan! Nilda will rent out her extended family members to drive you around if you don’t have a car, though they’ll charge quite a bit for this “service” (it’s still cheaper than a taxi though). I didn’t go in the swimming pool but it looked nice enough. Beware the mosquitos at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I felt privileged to spend a few days at La Paloma Guest House near Ceiba, Puerto Rico this week. Nilda, the owner, was a welcoming and attentive hostess. I was traveling alone, and I felt like she adopted me for the week. On the first night, she took me to a stone ritual circle on the hill behind the house, where we watched the rising moon and took in the incredible view of the rain forest. I learned about the Taino culture, Puerto Rico in general and the rain forest just to name a few of the many topics Nilda was willing to share about. The coquis sang me to sleep every night and it could not have been more relaxing. The family was terrific, respectful of space, yet always seemed to be right there when you needed them - sometimes a difficult balance for some B&B owners find.

This place is rustic, just want I wanted, but be aware of that if it's not for you. For $65 a night I got breakfast, a couple of dinners even, the view and a some new friends. I strongly encourage you to get yourself to La Paloma is you are visiting Puerto Rico and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of San Juan.

Room Tip: I had the room next to the pool and loved it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJRiverFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

everything was wonderful!!! very down to earth friendly helpful family !!!they will inform you on many awesome places to see in p.r place was fine with great views of the sea and country !!
highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akabobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I will always cherish my time at the guest house, by far the highlight of my trip to Puerto Rico--and I love Puerto Rico. The family atrmosphere, breathtaking views, spacious welcoming accomadations...and the most generous hosts family with their smiles, and genuine love of people were heartfelt. Michael, Nilda, Laura, Tiffany, Joey--all were wonderful I feel they are family. I will return to Puerto Rico and I will stay at the guest house again.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sganady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My friend and I wanted to stay a few days on the east coast of Puerto to visit the beaches and rainforest, so we stayed at La Paloma. Nilda's grandson or daughter, Laura, drove us wherever we needed to go, and all we had to do was pay for the gas. Laura also made us breakfast every morning and a few other meals also, some authentic Puerto Rican food and some other more standard things, like breakfast sandwiches. The food was delicious! She's a fantastic cook.

Nilda is also the sweetest, most spiritual woman I've probably ever met. Even though my friend and I aren't the "hippie" types, we had an amazing time with her, just talking about her Taino culture, stargazing, and learning about nature. She caught a coqui frog for us to look at, and she drummed for us. She also helped us book plane tickets to Culebra when our ferry tickets didn't come through, and gave us recommendations for places and things to eat. She really went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and having a good time. She also took us to La Conquistador to play the slots and visit the pools.

On the actual property itself, the view is INSANE. The place is literally in the rainforest, and the view is gorgeous. We woke up every morning and gawked at it for 10 minutes. The pool is also really nice and clean. The place is not fancy by any means, but it is extremely comfortable and cozy. If you're looking for a place that spotless and resort-y, this isn't it. Come here for an authentic experience with genuinely kind and generous people who are willing to show you around.

I would not hesitate to go back and stay with them again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyC935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Yunque National Forest
7.2 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
997 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
8.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
9.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
11.8 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 1 in Canovanas
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Address: (787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range: $65 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Hotel El Yunque National Forest
La Paloma Guest House Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing