We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!”

The El Yunque Rain Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Covering 28,000 acres, and receiving more than 200 inches of rain per year, El Yunque National Forest is the only tropical rain forest in the US Forest System. Noted for its biodiversity, the forest is home to more than 400 different plant species. It has more than a dozen maintained trails for hiking, picnic pavilions, stone towers, rivers, waterfalls, and an interpretive visitors' center.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wixom, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Really cool experience. Free if you don't stop by the tourist center to get a map. Just drive up and stop off where you want. Several beautiful waterfalls, though one is a very long hike and if like me, you are a smoker, a bit rough. There are a couple of little restaurants/souvenier shops along the way, the first on on the left, right before the falls, has terrific tacos made with potatoes. T-shirts in the gift shop are 3 for $10, for those budget conscious people who promised to bring back souvenirs.
Keep going up to the canopy and look down over the landscape. You will see the ocean in the distance. Great photo opportunities along the way. Well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,682
    1,177
    307
    54
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty drive!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a car so we drove the north side of 191 through the rain forest. Lots of places to take wonderful pictures and to get out and walk around. We didn't see any monkeys or macaws but still it was the rain forest!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great trails, even with little ones!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently went with a large group and hiked La Mina falls trail to the falls (not from the first trailhead, but second one). It was so much fun, even with carrying a toddler. Don't mess with a stroller, there are lots of steps. The falls were so great, and just walking along the water was enjoyable with the little guy. A backpack carrier would be helpful, but I just carried him on my back or in my arms. It's about a half hour each way, so not too strenuous. We enjoyed a nice picnic lunch afterwards. The forest is an easy drive from San Juan down the interstate and toll road, and we didn't find it necessary to pay for any guide or visitor center. Our only wish is that we brought some charcoal to grill out there at the provided grills! It did rain on us but we were prepared and it wasn't a hassle at all. One of the highlights of our month long stay in Puerto Rico!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jaxtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get there early...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very beautiful, if you want to get away from the people visit the top, you can see the whole island, and beautiful water falls. The best way to get there is by a rental, you will not be disappointed if you do not take the guided tours. If you have a rental vehicle be ready for tight roads. Also get ready for a hike and bring plenty of water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Castillo San Cristobal”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a fort with beautiful views. Don't miss the dungeon and the soldiers quarters. It's a walking distance from the Castillo El Morrow. Pay just $5 and see both. Also take a look at one of the most pristinely kept cemetery between the two forts. It seems strange to have a cemetery so close to the ocean but that's what makes it intriguing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lightpacker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The El Yunque Rain Forest also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The El Yunque Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing