We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carole's Rainforest Villas
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

At the risk of sounding totally corny, this place is magical! My boyfriend and I only spent 1 night at Carole's but it was the highlight of our PR trip. Her place is right before the entrance to the El Yunque National Park. You're basically in the rainforest here.

Carole was friendly and accommodating. She chatted with us for a while and made us some delicious banana smoothies. After she retired for the night, my boyfriend & I had the outdoor kitchen area to ourselves. We sipped wine, watched the sunset and listened to the sounds of the rainforest. The sunset was AMAZING and the coqui, birds & bugs sang to us all night.

The room was comfortable and clean. The more nights you book, the better your nightly rate. Carole requires payment by personal check which may seem odd but it's legit; don't worry that you're being scammed or anything.

We traveled as a couple July 2014. If you want an overnight rainforest experience without having to camp in El Yunque, Carole's is your spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We experienced a tropical treasure staying at Carole's. Her outdoor kitchen has a wonderful view of trees, flowers, and the ocean in the distance. Our room was colorful with unique decorations & attention to detail. Carole was a gracious host providing us with information about the area & made us delicious banana smoothies & provided snacks for us. We hiked down to the waterfall past the closed El Yunque Forest entrance near the villa. We were the only people at the beautiful falls. It was a challenging but rewarding hike since we did accidently go off trail & it was slippery. Wear hiking boots or sturdy shoes if you hike here or on El Yunque trail in the park which we did the next day. At night we ate by candle light in her kitchen with food we purchased at El Verde BBQ. We slept to the sound of singing coqui frogs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debluvsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My only hesitation in writing about the wonderful Carole's Rainforest Villas is that the secret will be out and we won't be able to get another reservation. Truly a magical place hosted by a very special lady! The room and location were PERFECT! Amazing views! The cocqui sing you to sleep!
The outdoor kitchen is a wonderful--the sights and sounds of the rainforest are not to be missed. If you stay in a hotel/motel you are cheating yourself out of experiencing a little bit of the rainforest. I am NOT a camper and you will NOT be 'roughing it' in any manner by staying at Carole's. But it will be an unique expereince that you will treasure!
Thank you, Carole! We will be back!!!









and Carole could not be more helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I just had the best time at Carole's villa ! It's so laid back & the view is amazing . I'm 22 & as the typical 22 year old would like to be in Rincon hitting happy hour , I found that Carole's villa was just as awesome & it was hard for me to leave . If one is coming to PR & thinking about making Carole's villa just a part of the vacation I recommend going the first part of the trip . It allows you to truly relax before heading elsewhere . I read guest's comments about the Villa before visiting & everyone talked about her smoothies , so I tried one & it's amazing ! Puerto Rican visitors , you HAVE to make Carole's Villa a part of your stay !! -also hiking on the other side of the mountain was a view/experience I'll never forget .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laracarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The most fantasic place! The location, view, surroundings, beautifully decorated and comfortable room, and wonderful host, Carole, and her happy puppy, Tiki, and gorgeous kitty, Goochie! The outdoor kitchen is a dream come true! My husband picked banana leaves and with Carole's assistance, grilled fish in them...delicious! What a great place to sit and relax after a day of hiking in El Yunque Rainforest, swimming, and eating at Kioskos in Luquillo or El Verde BBQ. Our 3rd time to Carole's and we have plans to return. Until then, dreaming of the coquis singing us to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

There are no words that can even begin to touch how phonomenal our experience was at Carole's. This is PR's best kept secret. The bedroom was colorful and cozy with pretty music playing when we arrived. There were even white fluffy towels in the shower :)

Pictures cannot do justice to how amazing the kitchen is. I could have easily spent an entire day curled up in a chair with a good book and sipping on Carole's Yummy Coffee (she makes the BEST coffee). The only element of our stay more charming than the setting is Carole herself. She's a firecracker (yayayay!) and was amazing company and morning conversation. She was knowledgeable about the area and was so accommodating with anything we needed. Her Chocolate lab puppy was cute to boot.

I cannot wait to get back there. Perfect location, for sure one of THE highlights of our entire trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Shhh, don't tell anyone else about this place, OK? I might want to go back and I want to make sure it's available since it's just one bungalow. We spent three blissful nights in this hideaway. Carole is a charming and accommodating hostess. The outdoor kitchen is amazing. I'm sure it rains, but didn't the four days that we stayed there (during Hurricane season I might add.) The weather made the outside-in-feel of the inn perfect. Also, we're from Florida so Puerto Rico seemed positively arid by comparison and we loved not having to deal with A/C. The inn is not for the squeamish. You are in the rainforest. If you have trouble falling asleep with what sounds like an old Tarzan movie playing in the background, don't stay here. If you don't like puppies, (Tequila is part Lab so she'll be puppyish for about five years) don't stay here. If you are persnickety especially where frogs and lizards are concerned, don't stay here. But if you want to escape and look over the rainforest to the sea, hike for miles without ever encountering another soul, follow the river rock path to private swimming holes surrounded by prehistoric-looking ferns, and rest comfortably in a cottage plunked down in the middle of paradise, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FMWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Yunque National Forest
2.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
20.7 mi away
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
#3 of 4 in Naguabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
24.2 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Rainforest Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Rainforest Villas

Property: Carole's Rainforest Villas
Address: Route 966, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole's Rainforest Villas offers unique & private Caribbean Style Rainforest Lodging for 1-4 people. 1 & 2 Bedroom Villa & House Rental with a remote location bordering the NE entrance of the El Yunque Rain Forest in Puerto Rico. The jungle is your neighbor! (a.k.a. Carole’s Rainforest Villas – with 100% excellent reviews from TripAdvisors since 2008) Enjoy peaceful lodging with an incredible view of the jungle and distant ocean below. Private waterfalls are a short 1/4 mile walk.Cook in an amazing outdoor kitchen or bathe in an outdoor shower. Features: King-sized beds, colorful tiles, French style doors and tons of outdoor Caribbean character.You won't want to leave our little piece of paradise in the rainforest of El Yunque! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carole`s Rainforest Villas Hotel Rio Grande
Carole's Rainforest Villas Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing