We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not sure if same place, La Casa del Chef is where I went”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa Del Chef

La Casa Del Chef
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Puerto Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,272 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“not sure if same place, La Casa del Chef is where I went”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great service from Kevin. Stuffed halibut stuff - did not see much of the mentioned lobster , but several large shrimp. Vegs were cold. Apps - good empanadlas, interesting chorizio in wine, skip the lobster croquets (fried balls) for money the corn sticks were better (also fried). Sweet platains nice. Desserts enjoyed

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    59
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Casita del Chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Food was allright. The portions were a bit small for what you paid for. Service was great, staff was very courteous.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard to find in the Dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Service was beyond excellent. the food a delight to the senses
the atmosphere very interesting would go back over and over again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious Puerto Rican Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The fried, whole snapper was fresh and flaky. The crisp skin and soft mild fish were perfectly prepared. It was accompanied with traditional rice and beans full of flavor. I also ordered a side of fried sweet plantains; crispy on the edges and soft sweet center. The service was surprisingly attentive. The restaurant had a very trendy atmosphere with drawn shades that made it more of a romantic atmosphere at night. Nonetheless, this place is great for solo experience, date night, or a business meeting.
It is located on the far end parking lot of a strip mall. I had no issues finding it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service... Great Fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were three couples, two from New York, and one local couple who recommended this place; we all really enjoyed our meals. The fish was great, the mixed appetizers, were delicious, and the flans at the end of the meal were superb! The wait staff was great, comparable to New York service in every way. We were lucky to have friends with local knowledge of this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Del Chef also viewed

Ponce, Puerto Rico
 
Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Casa Del Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing