We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/31
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$140
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belgica(Ponce)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/30
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/31
$125
$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveler rating
325
205
131
52
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
205
131
52
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskcolonial roomlola restaurantwalking distancesmall poolparking garagejunior suitestayed one nightsmall hotelhotel is beautifulhotel staffmain buildingpuerto ricoparque de bombasramadalolascarlos
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 772 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

No coffee maker in room, no refrigerator, beds were pretty comfortable, quiet for the most part unless there are noisy guests in the hall. Clean. Location was good. Nice view depending on what side you are on. One elevator pool is very small. Staff at restaurant, somewhat rude. Would I stay again, it would not be my first choice, but overall, it was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirose10302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director de Recepción at Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for expressing your stay at our Hotel. We are doing some improvement in our facilities to satisfy our guest. It was a pleasure tos erve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I called hotel b4 booking in Feb 2013 and was assured construction would be finished b4 March stay. The concrete and beams across from room under construction was plenty loud and not close to finished. Ramada misrepresented this and apologized when I checked in giving me their apology Aug 20, 2012 letter. Only room amenities were tv hair dryer iron board, had to ask for bath towels, only bed cover had holes. Need to be honest on website!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director de Recepción at Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We sincerely apologize for the substandard of, Housekeeping. At Ramada, we take great pride in our high standards. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. The construction will be finishing in April 2013. Unfortunately, the noise is near the Hotel and they start at 7am. We are finishing the Parking lot for our Guest and our clients. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Ramada Inn has one of the best locations in Ponce...right across the street from the main square. The front part of the hotel is actually a renovated historical building, and they've kept the balconies, the high ceilings, etc. Back of this building, there's a large three (or is it four?) storey building with more rooms. Between the two parts is an outdoor pool and an outdoor restaurant. Continental breakfast (not complimentary!) is served in a small shop next to the lobby. The rooms in the historical part are quite large and come equipped with black and white tile flooring, king-size beds, flatscreen TVs and centrally controlled A/C (you have to call the front desk to have it turned on). Parking is available next to the hotel for a reasonable nightly fee. The only problem with this hotel is the construction noise from the casino next door...which begins quite early in the morning and goes on all day. Yet, for the reasonable rates the hotel charges, this is a pretty good deal!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the historical part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director de Recepción at Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por indicarnos que su estadia fue placentera. Para finales del mes de Abril los trabajos de construccion estaran terminados y tendremos estacionamiento para todos nuestros clientes. Aqui en Ramada Ponce nos preocupamos por nuestros clientes. Esperamos verlo pronto nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Accidentally, I booked this room during Carnival. It was kind of a nightmare getting to the hotel with many streets closed and not knowing the area well but at least the street to the hotel was open. (I stayed in Viejo San Juan once during La Fiesta de La Calle de San Sebastian & had to WALK to my hotel because all the roads were closed! But that is another review..). When we got finally got to the hotel their was a screw up with our room but it turned out in our favor because they ended up giving us one of their beautiful rooms in the old part of the hotel with a balcony where we could see all the action in the Parque de Bombas. Yes it was loud and noisy most of the evenings but what do you expect during Carnival. We were just lucky to be there in the midst of everything. The hotel itself is gorgeous and has it's own restaurant and coffee shop. We tried both and the food at Lola's was delicious and the coffee at Melao was great. The hotel staff was also friendly and really went out of their way to correct our original booking fiasco. I personally love the architecture of Ponce so really enjoyed staying in such a wonderfully restored location and to walk around the city is breathtaking. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the older rooms in the original building. it was small but beautiful and had a balcony where we could see the action in the square.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cogata34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director de Recepción at Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013
Google Translation

Mucahs gracias por expresar que su estadia fue muy placentera y que Ramada Ponce cumplio con sus expectativas. Esperamos verlos pronto en nuestars facilidades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a good hotel for the price. The rating varies from a 2.5 - 3, depending on who you receive service from. I am originally from Ponce and now live in Texas. Took my family to visit my parents.
The good -
Location- No other hotel will get you close to all the stuff Ponce has to offer. Right across the street from the beautiful town square (plaza) & across the street from a great family run restaurant (Chefs Creations aka el fogon de jorge).
Price- Decent / functional rooms, safe, secure, gated valet parking.
Rooms- clean, decent, functional, safe - european utilitarian.
Staff - Valet staff, housekeeping, grounds maintenance, waiters in the restaurants - lovely people who will do anything to help. The young man (no name tag) works the front desk after midnight - helpful, courteous, friendly, quick with a smile- I hope they move you to day time where you are needed.
Restaurant - Lola's in the hotel - great puerto rican fare at a decent price.
Casino & Bar - newly opened March 1st 2013. Definitely a happening place. Great people watching.
Parking- brand spanking new, 4 story parking connected to and protected by the hotel security.

Got to give great credit to the owner of this hotel who has the vision to make the town plaza in Ponce a happening, hopping place once again. The idea to have a safe parking area next to the hotel, in the middle of a historical caribbean city is genius. Add to that a good restaurant, a decent bar and a clean, simple, fun casino. This owner has serious political and entrepreneurial chops to pull this off.
Once again I am proud to say I am from Ponce, Puerto Rico.

The Bad-
Front Desk - Two young ladies, fake blonde hair, no name tags, with their ear permanently attached to the front desk phone talking to their friends. They worked the 8AM to 11PM shifts- these 2 ladies do not belong in a customer service industry. Anything other that giving you your room key is an affront to their sensitivities. Rude, uncaring, unfriendly. They give a bad name to the other employees that bend over backwards to give excellent service.
Noise - from other venues near the hotel- Puerto Rican people in Puerto Rico never do anything at less than 1,000 decibels. A bar about 500 feet away from the hotel can blast the night away, even if you are in one of the newer back building rooms. The church located right above the bar will crank until about 10PM, then hand over the festivities to the bar.
Shower- water will leak out of the shower on to the bathroom floor. Unfortunately in the building process, the floor drain was placed about 3 millimeters higher than the floor.
Room keys - the room key coding machine was busted during our stay. Unfortunately we were never informed of this until I complained for the 10th time. We had to ask the front desk to call someone to open our rooms with a master key. Of course asking Cruella De Ville or the Wicked Witch of the West for help resulted in eye rolling, sighing and having to hang up the phone with their friends to actually call someone.
Restaurant & Bar- can be slow with service - offset by being so very friendly- surprisingly they did not offer the "national" drink of Puerto Rico, the Pina Colada.
Manager- never seemed to be on site despite requests to communicate with them - but then again Cruella & WWotW were manning the desk...

Room Tip: Back building as far back away from the square.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director de Recepción at Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your letter expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Ramada of Ponce, Puerto Rico. We sincerely apologize for the problem with Front desk Staff .At Ramada, we take great pride in our high standards. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. Thanks Again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews