We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK fast food while waiting for trolley”
Review of Pizzalato Cafe - CLOSED

Pizzalato Cafe
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“OK fast food while waiting for trolley”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pizza and ice cream place on the main square. The pizza was OK but a little doughy, the service fast and friendly (and by "service" I mean order at the counter and they will deliver to your table), and the bathrooms were indeed clean.

The gelato was the shining star.

Would recommend if you want a quick, inexpensive bite, but it's certainly not a destination.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrme17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable with Variety”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was visiting Ponce for the day with some friends and happen to stumble across this place.

Firstly the waitress, Enid, was able to speak some English. That is always a plus for foreigners who don't speak Spanish.

The place was clean, and so were the toilets. And interestingly enough, there is a $1 fee for those who wish to use the facilities but who aren't patrons.

There were plenty of seats available, and without being squashed into any small places to eat.

The food was good, and simple, but very nice portions. Personally, the small pizza was the largest I have seen anywhere else. And the condiments available included salt, pepper, chilli flakes, garlic powder, Parmesan cheese, olive oil and Tabasco sauce.

My friend ordered a coffee, and she was asked to chose what sugar she wanted from white, brown and Splendid, as well as how much sugar she wanted. And it was nice to be asked if the whipped cream should be excluded.

Our order of a personal veggie veggie pizza, a veggie veggie calzone and a frozen cappuccino came to $16.40, which was very reasonable for good portions of food. And the coffee was excellent.

Definitely will visit again if I am in Ponce.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“amazing little place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we were in ponce waiting for the trolley tour to start and decided to go inside and split something. the daily special that day was a calzone and a drink for about $6. couldnt beat that! so we sat down and waited on our calzone. when it came out, it was HUGE! and so fresh and delicious! i was greatly impressed as well as my husband. after we finished our calzone, we both had the gelato that they offered. we were both very pleased with the food and dessert. i would gladly go back anytime that im in ponce!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lncooper529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were a group of 11. I think all of us were happy with the food. They're basically italian. Pizza, pasta, stromboli, calzone, and gelattos. Our food was excelent. They were fast. They serve the correct orders. It's not luxurius, it'is simple but excellent. And the prices were excellent too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetteCarrasquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzalato Cafe also viewed

 
Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing