We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee tour!”
Review of Hacienda Pomarrosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Pomarrosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was probably the best part of my trip to PR. Kurt and Sebastian were wonderful hosts! We stayed in one of the cottages which was clean. However, it was inevitable that some bugs flew in when the door was opened to bring our luggage inside. The sound of coquis was absolutely musical to fall asleep to. The only complaint was that there were roosters on the farm that keep making calling to each other all night.
In the morning, Sebastian cooked us a breakfast and unlimited coffee and cappuccinos made from the coffee beans grown on their plantation. Absolutely delicious! After the breakfast, Kurt gave us an interesting history lesson about coffee. Then Sebastian gave us a tour of the plantation which was very informative and gave us a good insight into the process of coffee harvesting and making. My significant other and I were the only ones on the tour which made for a very private and attentive. (We stayed Sunday night and had the tour Monday morning in early December).

Make sure you follow the instructions that Kurt will email to you after confirming the reservation. DO NOT listen to your GPS as our GPS guided us to very small unmaintained mountain roads that were very dangerous to drive through, especially at night.

I highly recommended this trip for anyone visiting PR!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FaWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Originally just planned to come for the day and take the coffee tour, but since we didn't want to chance getting lost decided to stay two nights. That was a great decision. This ended up being the nicest place we stayed on the island. The casita was very cozy and comfortable. I felt like I was staying in someones home instead of an impersonal hotel. The seperate casita's make it feel like you have your own private rainforest get away.
The hosts, Kurt and Sebastian, are lovely people and fix a wonderful spread for breakfast. And you won't get a better cup of coffee/espresso anywhere else since it's grown right there on their three acre plantation. They were also very helpful when we came unprepared and hungry our first night.
Would be a great home base if you are travelling in the Ponce area. Will definetely try to come back again. Or if you an only make it for the day, the coffee tour is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spend a wonderful family time at the Hacienda, Kurt and Sebastian are great hosts and the place is beautiful and special. Cofee trees were in harvesting season and the whole processing stages were shown and explained. The coffee is excellent.

Don't be scare about the driving, just leave early enjoy the trip or stay at the hacienda because the cabins are charming and well equiped.

Try to go during the harvesting or during the cofee bloom. (call). But really any time will be a great experience, specially if you are a café and nature lover.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiocaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked one night and loved it so much that we decided to stay for a second. The facilities are beautiful; you fall asleep to the sound of the coqui frogs and to a great view of the starry sky. Kurt and Sebastian are very knowledgeable and great hosts. Definitely a great bargain. We had trouble with the website, so I would recommend calling - they are very responsive.

Room Tip: The road is dark and curvy, so I suggest arriving early if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank estela1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our stay here. Kurt was a most hospitable host, an excellent cook and a most informative guide. We arrived in the rain but the beauty of this delightful coffee estate immediately took our breath away. We stayed in the smaller cottage which was furnished beautifully, had a lovely balcony, good bathroom and was exceptionally clean. We would thoroughly recommend eating dinner here as the food was good and wholesome. We brought our own wine as we had been advised by Kurt so to do.
The next morning, after a lovely breakfast, Kurt took us on a tour of the coffee estate and explained the whole process of coffee growing. We just wished that we had been able to spend longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

4 of us made the adventurous drive up to the pomarossa plantation. We were very impressed by kurt's intimate and personable world historical speach on the origins up to current day coffee industry situation in puerto rico. He spent at least 4 hours speaking and walking his farm. You'll find this very captivating learning much about coffee you didn't previously know and you'll walk away with an appreciation for what's involved with your cup of coffee. You must visit for your own experience.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank maddog2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Kurt, Eva and Sebastian were the consummate hosts.
The Hacienda was immaculate. The food was gourmet,
fresh, local and delicious. Kurt adjusted to my vegetarian
diet and made the most delicious tofu burgers I have
ever had.

The coffee tour was fascinating and informative. I
have a whole new appreciation for all the work and
energy that goes in to the beans needed for every
cup of coffee I drink.

We can not recommend this special restful mountain
retreat enough. Simple, elegant and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
8.2 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
30.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
10.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
10.0 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
12.9 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pomarrosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pomarrosa

Address: Carr. 511 Esq. Carr. 143 | Barrio Anon Sector Hogares Seguros, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ponce
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Hacienda Pomarrosa and stay in one of our two "casitas." During your stay, you will be able to admire a very well preserved, cozy, and relaxing "hacienda" in the midst of dazzling surroundings, with the breeze of the fresh mountain air. Also, you will learn interesting facts about the history of coffee in Puerto Rico, as well as all of the aspects that involve growing, roasting and processing coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing