We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice coffee tour”
Review of Hacienda Pomarrosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Pomarrosa
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very nice coffee tour”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we were late for the tour due to traffic but Kurt and other people in the group were all very nice and waited for us. Kurt started the tour by telling us history of coffee, he is a very good story teller and makes us all laugh through out the session and it's very educating. After the stories, he took us to the coffee plantation and show us how the coffee is made. There's coffee tasting with homemade dessert after the tour. Overall, the tour is well worth the $15 fee. Highly recommend the tour especially if you're a coffee lover. The road to the cafe is quite steep, drive safely. There's a restaurant called "Al Sur" in Ponce which was recommended by Kurt, it was indeed very good!! If you plan to stop by Ponce after the coffee tour, this would be a lovely dinner choice. It's inside the art museum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWang0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is not just a bed and breakfast: it's also a coffee plantation! My mom and i secured a visit last minute because by chance i found reviews online and the owner sent me instructions on how to get to his Hacienda which were very helpful as we came up the mountain.

You will be told it takes two hours from San Juan to here (and i drive fast) but the reality is more like 3 hours when you are not sure and you hesitate, etc. I was worried about this so we left early and luckily, were the first to arrive. No one arrived on time except us.

This is the only "bad" part: Although the tour takes two hours, this is from start to end and does not include 1) waiting for the late comers to start the tour and 2) waiting for everyone who has arrived to use the one restroom 3) paying for visit/buying coffee; the larger the group the longer it takes. Therefore, you want to be smart, and allocate yourself one day to do this visit. We arrived at 11 am and left at 2:30.. After that, you have to drive down the mountain and by that time, you are hungry! So.. it's not a "bad" part if you were smart and planned well and assumed it would take almost all day.. I was not and therefore missed out on my afternoon activity because after the lunch we had it was almost 4:30 and then we had to head back towards Ponce.. which is another 45 minutes.

*The owner will indicate a good address for you to have lunch at the bottom of the mountain! LISTEN to him! It's a great place with a great view. Some of the people in the group said they would go but did not.. and they missed out. Get good directions though because your GPS will not find it. Its easy though; once you descend the mountain, you take a right towards Adjuntas on route 10 (not left towards Ponce) and you drive a little under ten minutes and on the right hand side; you will see the restaurant on top of a hill.*

Going back to the coffee visit: time was my only regret: i had expected the tour to be 2 hours in and out, and therefore that at the end of the tour i would descend down the mountain and do another visit i had planned, but this was not the case at all. it's partially my fault because in order to enjoy this place: you can't be in a rush anyway.. so i just had to say goodbye to my afternoon plan.

As far as the visit itself and the coffee plantation: it's in a really gorgeous setting. We were greeted very warmly by a German man whom has been living in PR for 42 years and whom is passionate about coffee! He treated us to a special house brew (so good) in his cool outdoor kitchen with tiles imported from Mexico and as guests arrived, we mingled with people from everywhere which was quite fun and makes the experience cooler. Once everyone had arrived, we started the tour.

The tour is composed in two parts: 1) information on the history of coffee 2) visit of the plantation and the process by which coffee is grown.

In the end, we were treated to espresso and were able to pay for the tour ($15 pp) and buy coffee if we wanted -which of course everyone should do because 1) its good and 2) it helps the owner.

The owner is a kind man whom has lived an interesting life, taken a risk and followed his passion! I highly recommend checking this place out when you are in PR for more than a couple days. It's definitely another world up in the lush mountains!

:)

Room Tip: add more time for the drive up (and down) and add more time for the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraSelavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pomarrosa Hacienda was a delightful experience. Kurt was a very gracious host and provided us a great deal of information about the coffee growing process. The coffee and banana bread were excellent. The views are gorgeous. I would love to spend a night or two in one of the casitas which were charming and immaculate. highly recommend. a little diffecult to find, allow extra time.

Room Tip: stay here if you want some very quiet down time in nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabetharrabito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a nice time, Kurt and Eva are very nice people. Loved the tour, Kurt is very knowledgeable and gives an entertaining history of coffee in Puerto Rico. The Casita was nice, loved the hammock on the porch. I will say the bed is a little hard, though. Everything is very pretty, nice, Kurt makes a good breakfast too! Wow that fresh-squeezed orange juice is one of a kind! Wish we could have seen the coffee actually being processed but that wasn't in the cards for our March trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleypokey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best value experience of our vacation. We enjoyed some fantastic coffee to start and finish the tour. Kurt talked us through the history of the farm which was very entertaining, Sebastian then showed us around the farm and explained the production system.

The location is out of this world and Kurt has created a wonderful farm. The tour at $15 is incredible value. We would have happily paid double. Thanks so much for the education and experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pomarrosa Hacienda was the best! About 2 years ago, my husband and I drove from San Juan to Ponce and immensely enjoyed our tour of Kurt's coffee plantation. It was one of the highlights of our second trip to Puerto Rico. Kurt was a perfect host and his delicious coffee and banana bread was extremely satisfying! Make sure you have good directions, especially from the San Juan area as the roads to Pomarrosa are very curvy and narrow. We needed to call Kurt when we were close because we couldn't find it and thought we had taken a wrong turn. Kurt's son met us at the bottom of their driveway with an umbrella to take us to a tented area where we drank fresh-brewed coffee. The rain cleared just in time for our tour, which was perfect, thanks to Kurt!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjs0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a beautiful drive through rainforest mountains, driving along the curvy roads so like ours in West Virginia, we spent a leisurely afternoon at Kurt's Hacienda learning about coffee, soaking up Kurt's passion for growing high quality coffee in Puerto Rico, drinking the generous amounts of coffee he shared with us, and enjoying the vista, cool breezes, and amazingly diverse plant life. Kurt's son, Sebastian, gave us the tour, allowing us to taste the green coffee fruit/beans, and making us expertly brewed espresso and lattes. And all of this for $15/person?! We will be returning...and staying at one of the little bungalows they offer as an overnight stay. We have nothing but amazing things to say about our time at Hacienda Pomarrosa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erzsibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
7.2 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
10.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
10.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
457 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pomarrosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pomarrosa

Property: Hacienda Pomarrosa
Address: Carr. 511 Esq. Carr. 143 | Barrio Anon Sector Hogares Seguros, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Hacienda Pomarrosa and stay in one of our two "casitas." During your stay, you will be able to admire a very well preserved, cozy, and relaxing "hacienda" in the midst of dazzling surroundings, with the breeze of the fresh mountain air. Also, you will learn interesting facts about the history of coffee in Puerto Rico, as well as all of the aspects that involve growing, roasting and processing coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing