We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Pomarrosa
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belgica(Ponce)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (133)
    Filter reviews
    133 results
    Traveler rating
    132
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    132
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscoffee plantationcoffee tourbanana breadpuerto ricohis directionsbed and breakfastruta panoramicahistorical informationfabulous coffeehour coffeeexcellent hostsbeautiful farmargentinian restaurantcoqui frogsinformative guidevisiting prplay dominos
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    102 - 107 of 133 reviews
    Reviewed January 26, 2013

    After a beautiful drive through rainforest mountains, driving along the curvy roads so like ours in West Virginia, we spent a leisurely afternoon at Kurt's Hacienda learning about coffee, soaking up Kurt's passion for growing high quality coffee in Puerto Rico, drinking the generous amounts of coffee he shared with us, and enjoying the vista, cool breezes, and amazingly diverse plant life. Kurt's son, Sebastian, gave us the tour, allowing us to taste the green coffee fruit/beans, and making us expertly brewed espresso and lattes. And all of this for $15/person?! We will be returning...and staying at one of the little bungalows they offer as an overnight stay. We have nothing but amazing things to say about our time at Hacienda Pomarrosa!

    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank erzsibet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2013

    During our recent Christmas 2012 vacation in Puerto Rico, a relative of ours, Architect Raphael J. Osuna Segarra, resident of Bayamon, invited 4 of us to tour a very special near the town of Ponce on the foothill of Cerro Punta--the Hacienda Pomarrosa--a coffee plantation located on Rt 511 & Rt 143. Upon arrival at the Hacienda we received a friendly welcoming from the owner, and their son who later gave us a tour of the hacienda. We were pleased to learn so much about the history of coffee in PR; as well as the process involve on growing, processing coffee beans, to the sample taste of the wonderful Hacienda Pomarrosa Cafe. Additionally, we found out that the owners have facilities for weekend accommodations—there are two immaculate and tastefully furnished casitas for reservations. The casitas have all the basic conveniences for a carefree weekend. A plus for any guest is to wake up the next day and have breakfast cooked by the owner at no additional cost. A tour to the Hacienda Pomarrosa is a must see and worth an overnight stay to truly enjoy firsthand the relaxing surroundings of this cozy coffee hacienda. A reservation in advance is a must.
    Illinois Residents

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Magdalena J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 13, 2012

    We spent two fabulous nights at the Hacienda Pomarrosa north of Ponce,off the beaten path. This is a beautiful coffee plantation in the Puerto Rico's tropical mountains. The coffee trees grow, randomly allocated,in the shade of tropical trees. We found here more flowers and rare plants then in Botanical Garden of San Juan that we visited two days earlier. We slept in a small house,which was very clean,comfortable, and cozy,with a hammock on the porch. Every morning,the owner, Kurt, served us a delightful breakfast,full of tropical flavors. For a small fee,he even cooked for us a dinner that we enjoyed very much-under tropical trees,listening to the chirping sound of coqui frogs. A 2-hours coffee plantation tour was included. Kurt is very knowledgeable about both the history of coffee plantation,and the production process. He will tell you amazing stories about this topics. His focus is on growing high quality of coffee in an environmentally friendly way. He will show you all the steps involved in the productions-from picking the right beans till roasting and packaging. In fact the best part of this tour,beside the fabulous views from the top of the plantation,was the coffee cupping-tasting of the freshly roasted coffee (he owns a sophisticated espresso and coffee makers). We truly enjoyed the stay at Hacienda Pomarrosa. You will enjoy this place even if you are not a coffee lover.
    Thank you Kurt,we had a very good time staying in your lovely place.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank agachicago
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 4, 2012

    For years I've wanted to tour a coffee farm, as I have been in the coffee business for six years now. Kurt and Eva were outstanding hosts. What an experience to see the natural eco-environment that the coffee plants grow in. If you're driving from San Juan, give yourself about 2.5 hours to get there. If you follow Kurt's directions you'll have no problem arriving, but don't count on your GPS. Visit this farm and you will get a little history of coffee and gain an understanding of what "specialty" coffee really is.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Service
    2  Thank BJG9342
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 6, 2012

    Visiting Hacienda Pomarrosa ended up being one of the highlights of our trip to PR. We didn't really plan it ahead of time, we called last minute on a whim and a tour was not available but since we were in Ponce we decided to drive up (45 minutes) just to see the hacienda. We ended up reaching at the same time as other visitors, of which half their party didn't make the trip, so we joined their tour!

    As others have said, Google Maps shows the wrong location (they are working on that) in Ponce, and GPS and Google directions (when you get the right intersection in there) take you on a route that is supposedly shorter distance-wise but involves much more twists and a bridge that may not be open. The drive is an adventure on its own, but we found the directions on the website were perfect. Just be careful on those blind corners!

    The tour itself was great. I personally don't (or didn't i should say) like coffee but my wife does, and I was interested in the process and to get high in the mountains. Kurt has made a coffee drinker out of me, though he's also spoiled me. I usually drown my coffee in milk and sugar on the rare occasion i drank it, but decided to try it straight as its intended. Pomarrosa was perfectly smooth, no bitterness and great flavor. I didn't even need sugar, but with just a bit I kicked up the sweetness without masking the flavor.

    As others have details, Kurt is very passionate and has done a lot of research - he provides a great history in an amazing setting. The grounds are beautiful, and every aspect of the tour was amazing. We will definitely be going back and planning an over night stay on our next trip to PR.

    We bought a few pounds of coffee directly from Pomarossa, now time to attempt to brew it at home to the perfection it deserves.

    Room Tip: email ahead to arrange details of your trip
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank skwatra
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews