We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good. TV control not woking right. Not enough...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    195
    146
    71
    51
See reviews for
275
115
38
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had driven to Ponce without making reservations.....our first mistake. None of the other hotels had a vacancy, so we really didn't have a choice. It was good to see so many families using the Hotel, and that and the friendly staff are it's redeeming factor. The room was dirty, as in not vacuumed, the bathroom was sort of clean, but chrome had not been wiped well.......forgotten dust etc. in the corners....that sort of thing......

Room Tip: This hotel was very family friendly, but the condition of the room was really a let down! I would o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a pretty standard, somewhat dated Howard Johnson's, but for a one night stay before an early morning flight it was fine. Staff were polite, the pool area was nice (but would not want to spend more than one day there), and the restaurant was surprisingly good: basic but well prepared food and excellent service at a fair price. Wake up call did not happen, but fortunately I had set an alarm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElianetteOrtiz, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank You for taking the time from your busy schedule to submit this review. Your suggestions was appreciated and we will make sure our wake up service it monitored closer to assure the calls are completed on time.

Please try us again through your travels at the Howard Johnson in Ponce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean enough room with 2 beds and a standard Bath Room. If you are used to Howard Johnson in the mainland USA then this will not be much different.

There was a Bar and Restaurant in the Hotel but we did not try them out. Neither did we try out the Pool or Fitness Area.

The Wifi was adequate.

The only two things that where blah and not necessarily the Hotel were:
1. Ponce is super boring for Tourists, I didn't have a good time there.
2. The Restaurant recommended to us by the Front Office was pretty crappy, it should have been a hint when said 'She never been there, but heard it was good'. FAIL

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krautdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Service was great, breakfast was awful. Sandwich ham for breakfast, GROSS. The eggs and potatoes were good. What the HE-- were you thinking when you placed that on your menu. It was not not free , it was in the price of the room. Internet worked great also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on business. The "Gym" was an absolute joke. EVERYTHING was broken. I went to the front desk and asked about the condition and they told me that "everything electronic was broken", which included everything but the rusty free weights. Nice to have a place to excecise for 10 days! With the free "high speed" WiFi you get what you pay for!!! It was about as good as the dial up connections from the stone age. INCREADIBLE SLOW and frequently disconnected. Great when I was there on business and needed access. When I had issues I would clall the front desk, but the phone usually went unanswered. One time I just let it ring, walked to the front desk after about 5 minutes and asked someone if they were going to answer the phone. They looked shocked that it was ringing! Food at the restaurant was OK, but the wait staff was always missing. Waited 30 minutes one night and finally left and went to the front desk. Continental breakfast....well it was free... boxed cereal with warm milk, etc. Yummy! You would think in Ouerto Rico you might have a chnace at getting fresh fruit. Room was relatively clean. Had to actually leave notes to get more shampoo or soap when needed. Bottom line spend more money and go to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Best advice I can give for getting a good room is go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922RogerM922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElianetteOrtiz, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your perception during you stay. Our Team appreciates your oppinion and work hard to improve and maintain a high level of services and Guest Satisfaction.

Our gym count with 600 square feets, with free lance weight, elliptic bicycle, abs roller and stepper. All the equipmentis functional. Guest can acces the gym with the room key.

The internet services was up-graded on February 8, 2013, now with 22 MG, Deep Blue offer 24 hour customer services support.

On property, La Perla Restaurant & Bar open Sunday to Friday for breakfast fom 6:00AM - 10:30AM and Dinner from 6:00PM-10:00PM Saturday open from 6:00AM-10:30AM Lunch and Dinner from 11:00AM - 10:00PM. During the Breakfast we offerd A La Carta Menu and a Buffet alternative (Hot cereal, scramble eggs, ham, bread, potatoes, variaty of two fruits, variety of juice (Apple, Fruits and Orange), Coffee, and Milk. Breakfast is included in some package rates. Breakfast prices from $7.00 plus tax. Room services also available.

We look foward to serve you in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ponce hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
2.5 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
2.4 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#4 of 7 in Ponce
366 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
14.6 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Address: 103 El Tuque Industrial Park | Mercedita, Ponce 00728-2803, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ponce Pr Hotel Ponce
Ponce Howard Johnson
Ponce Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing